Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on February 10, 2014
Clear and convincing discussion of the battle in our country between the free enterprise system and growing our economy (supported by 70 of the population) and statism/big government policies (supported by 30%). Mr. Brooks discusses with logic supported by abundant data that capitalism contributes to solid economic growth, wealth creation, and true human happiness. European socialism, dependency, and government control and policies has failed throughout western europe, and when tried here is destroying the American dream, creating more dependency and poverty, reducing happiness, lowering employment, and a host of economic ills. Would highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2010
I agree with Dick Cheney: this is the playbook for the conservative renaissance --- or at least one of them.

Brooks' main point is that we should stop harping on the economics and the money, and make our stand on principles: Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness. Every increase in the size of government, every tax hike, and every new regulation impinges on the freedom of free American citizens. We have even reached the point where the nanny-mayor of New York is forbidding his fellow citizens to eat stuff that he doesn't like!

The only quibble I have, at this point, is that during the elections of 2010 (coming right up) it would be idiotic to completely ignore the economic mess created by Team Obama. That's the number one issue for most voters, and we need to be very clear that conservative, Constitution-based government will not only increase all of our hopes for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness --- it will also end the Endless Recession caused by the idiots in the White House. (Imagine being "anti-business" when business signs your bleeping paycheck! Yes, they are just as dumb as that, and even dumber.)

So, read this book, and avoid being sent to one of Sibelius's "re-education camps." You might even avoid the "death panels," too! :-)
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2010
President Obama wants to make the coming 2010 elections - and 2012 - elections, an election of policies of the past (Bush) against the policies of the future (Obama). The Battle shows why this is the wrong argument to have during these elections.

The right argument is the battle of socialism (Obama) vs free market capitlalism (anyone opposed to Obama). This is how the election must be defined.

The Battle logicaly and clearly lays out how Obama is on a mission to make the USA a socialist country like Greece and France, 2 failed economies. While Obama insists he is not a socialist, he persues socialist policies, appoints socialists to key positions in government, and sets up program after program to redistribute wealth from producers to non-producers and The Battle sheds light on all these actions.

The Battle clearly lays out the arguments why Obama's socialist policies MUST be defeted and how to defeat them. This is a must read for anyonce concerned about the future of our great country.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2012
If Nature's law is: "Pay attention of die!" we are on the right track with The Battle. To operate with an integrity of purpose that assumes responsibility for self and others is to exercise our greatest gift: the freedom of choice. Brooks makes a formidable case for our commitment to free enterprise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 18, 2011
Good book. It does a good job of explaining how the 30% minority which wants Cradle to grave government assistance and an ever increasing government presence in everyone's lives is consistently fighting to increase government involvement in EVERYONE's Life. This is must reading for those people who get up every morning go to work, pay their taxes, raise their kids and don't expect someone else to provide for them. The vocal LIBERAL elites who are constantly looking to take more money from those who earn it in order to give it to those who don't want to work, or be productive members of society is disheartening. The leaders of the 30% use buzz words like, everyone should pay there fair share, (READ TAX THE PRODUCERS TO REDISTRIBUTE TO THEIR CLIENTELE ). or WE NEED MORE INVESTMENTS ( code for more government spending ). And they won't call themselves LIBERAL they like PROGRESSIVE because it sounds better to those who aren't paying close attention. Who doesn't want progress. Except the only progress they want is a PROGRESSIVE increase in the amount of money they take from the producers, so that they can give it to the OXYGEN stealers who in many cases provide NOTHING of benefit to society but are constantly looking for more and more government assistance. Hopefully the people who make this country go every day are finally standing up and saying ENOUGH. You cannot continue to spend OUR money and OUR kids money on an endless array of useless projects. If your one of these people you need to read this book, so you can have the ammunition to fight the 30% who want an ever increasing percentage of your hard work being redirected to many who don't want to work. I'm all for helping those who can't help themselves. But we are tired of supporting those who refuse to help themselves and want someone else to support them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2013
Everyone who votes shd be required to read this as well as the Rational Optimist.
What has happened to the strength of our citizens?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2015
Too many stats for me to retain but eye opening
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 26, 2012
For anyone not sure of what is going on right before our eyes in this political debate, read this book. A quick, easy and very understandable perspective of what excessive entitlements can lead to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2010
Arthur C. Brooks' new book "The Battle" is a compelling and compact book about the social dynamics of America's current struggle between the culture of free enterprise and the culture of big government.

Brooks' premise is that America is a 70/30 nation: a clear majority of Americans belive that the role of government is more about ensuring equal opportunity to pursue happiness than it is about government ensuring equal economic outcomes. However, it is the elites and their followers who occupy the positions of political power and who are furthering the bi-partisan rise and rise of goverment power, bureaucracy, taxation, spending, regulation and entitlements.

Brooks fleshes out the makeup and outlook of the 70/30 nation, and along the way elaborates on the idea of "earned success." Meaning and control over one's life are critical to one's sense of satisfaction with work and to one's overall happiness. By itself, money does not guarantee happiness; it is only an indicator of "earned success." In fact, Brooks insightfully describes how it is the big government/welfare statist mentality that is thoroughly materialistic, misguidedly aiming for expanded government spending programs to "spread the wealth" and thereby create a more "just" society.

Free enterprise is a core component of human liberty. But that kind of freedom is incompatible with the kind of social democracy advocated by the "30" segment. In the book, Brooks deftly describes the welfare statists strategies' for expanding their base to ensure permanent expansion of government's role in the economy.

"The Battle" is not an overtly political or partisan book. It is not "anti-Obama." The book makes clear that Republican Congresses and the Bush Administration were responsible for the significantly expanding bureaucracy and welfare entitlements, and the TARP program and GM bailouts began under the prior administration. Rather, the book speaks to larger themes about free enterprise and goverment power and calls on Americans to recognize the urgent need to defend the free market as the best means to ensuring human flourishing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2015
Awesome book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here