Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 400 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 432 reviews
on January 9, 2011
For such a ridiculously low price, I was pleasantly surprised, when I received this Mala. The color is a very dark, moss green, appearing almost black, in low-light settings. It is very well strung and I love the deep chocolate colored, tie-off, at the guru bead. It has good stretch, that would fit wrists of most sizes.

I was hoping the bead carving would be more distinctive, but you will need to look closely to see the details. It is still a nice addition to the piece.

It is important to remind the shopper that this Mala contains only 15, Sandalwood beads, and the beads are of a large size, so it will not fit closely to the wrist. Therefore, it will take some abuse, banging on counters, tables, etc. Since I've just received it, I can't attest to how well it will hold up to frequent use. But, again, at this price...

If you are a Mala purist, you know that the traditional wrist Mala will have 19, to 27 beads. Generally, the smaller beads are more comfortable if you intend to wear your Mala often, plus, you will have more beads for mantra counting and reflection. But, this is a minor consideration, particularly for a beginner, as the use can be modified.

When performing mantras, the type of bead used has some significance. Sandalwood beads have been recommended for performing magnetizing mantras. This is particularly useful for the, 'earth mantras,' whereby you connect with earth energy, focusing on building a positive energy circle around yourself, while discharging the negative.

Whether you purchase this Mala simply for 'Dharma jewelry,' or to actually bring it into your meditative practice, you won't be dissatisfied. It's well constructed and the price can't be beat.
22 comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
Gorgeous, and they come in a lovely little bag-- would be a nice gift. The beads are somewhat heavy, larger than most Tibetan wood bead bracelets I've seen. Nice color and smell.
**Update: Just two days later, the beads have gotten much greener! I tried to capture the color in a photograph, but it just doesn't come through. It's almost as if the wood has been dyed, but each bead has a slightly different shade, and individual beads have different shades throughout, too, varying from a mossy olive green to deep, bluish forest green. From what I've read, you will get more green color if you are out in the light; I was fortunate enough to have an hour to sit under a tree on a bright sunny day yesterday, so I think that's what really kicked in the green color on mine. I love the dynamic nature of them; quite Buddhist that the color changes over time-- an exercise not to get attached to the beautiful shades they are today...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
Mostly it was the tiny Chinese luck cat that got me, I had to have him & so he is hanging in my bathroom... I was aware that these beads would be bulky - and they ARE, so it's a matter of preference. They also have a lovely wood smell and are great for playing or praying with if you ever get antsy like me.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
This mala is great. It arrived on time ( I really expected it to take a month or so, but it only took a couple of weeks), and it was more than great-especially for the price! The beads are beautiful, solid, and big, the fragrant is delightful, and the carvings on the beads is a very beautiful detail indeed. The finishing varnish rubs off with rubbing alcohol, but the wood underneath is smooth and has a very appealing natural tone, so that was not such a problem really. It feels comfortable to wear and the little charm that came with it is adorable.

I definitely do not regret it, and especially for a starter mala, it is great. I was expecting something more flimsy for that money, but I was pleasantly surprised.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
For the price, I wasn't expecting that much, but these beads blew me away! They have a deep, spicy aroma that is lovely. The scent is a bit more spicy than what one might expect from sandalwood, but I really enjoy it. The beads are large and have lovely carvings on them. They fit neatly, perhaps a bit loosely, on my wrist, but as the band is elastic, I am sure they would stretch out to fit most people's wrists. If you are a fan of sandalwood, I cannot recommend these enough. Also, the seller got them to me almost an entire month before they were to arrive. Mine are a chestnut brown with a green twinge on some of the beads. I have heard they grow more green with use. I think green or brown, they are beautiful. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
It's a great Buddhist bracelet, especially for the price! The beads are quite big, and at first I was a little shocked, but my other bracelets have smaller beads so it's different and I like that (I'm not a very picky person when it comes to this stuff). As one reviewer already mentioned, they're big because this bracelet does not contain all of the beads it normally would (i.e. from Tibet) - so less beads, with same area = bigger sized beads to fit it.

The smell of it is definitely intoxicating! I can't get enough! It's not powerful though, so don't be alarmed. I can only smell them when the bracelet close to my nose, or just purposely smell it. The engravings are very well done and look nice. String is very stretchy and quiet sturdy in my opinion. The bow at the end that keeps it all together is in an awesome design as well. Mine did come with the pendulant. Not much to mention about it it's nice though.

When I ordered it, it shipped the same day and I received it in 17 days (and if you're wondering, I live in California).

Overall, a pleasant and well crafted bracelet - sure big beads, but you'll come around and enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
My boyfriend LOVES this bracelet! I've bough him others but this is his fav. He loved the size and style of the beads. It had a smell that he loved that faded over time, but took almost a year to go away. The fancy knot unraveled and the beads fell everywhere, but he made sure to find every single one of them and tie it again. This was after he wore it every day for 8+ months. I just bought him another one (exact same kind) because these things don't last forever. I may buy a few more and store them somewhere, then pull one out in a few years after the next one breaks like "Here ya go!"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
Just got it today and it is absolutely beautiful .
review image review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
Very nice for the money. Takes a while to get here but then it's coming from Singapore :)
Great packaging and nice beads. The charm is ceramic and cute as well.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
The bracelets came and were nice enough. They are sandalwood scented, but not sure if they are really sandalwood or not. I did not receive any of the cat pendants - I ordered 13 bracelets for a zen babyshower I'm throwing. They are favors and I was disappointed that the cats were not included.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse