Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on May 30, 2016
How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. Self-Publishing Ebooks, The Absolute Beginner’s Step-by-Step Guide, by Stephanie Zia with Mark Binner, took me “one bite at a time” through the scary and unfamiliar process of publishing my first digital book. Everything that I as a novice author needed to know from how to best use Microsoft Word to using free websites for conversion of my Word manuscript to MOBI or EPUB formats is covered in this extremely helpful and easy to read book. I strongly recommend this book to everyone who wants to publish digitally but does not know where to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2012
..in it that anyone thinking about publishing would need or want to know.

I know I have spent hours going from Amazon KDP to Smashwords to Mobi, and reading everything I could and still not understanding REMOTELY how to get started. With this book, there is no need to scour Google or websites or "how to" articles. It is ALL right here.. and I mean every single bit of it.

Now, I thought I'd read everything - because I have a dozen "how to publish" books on my Kindle. But mostly, those have covered the larger picture on Promotion, Agents or no-agents, pricing, etc. Nothing that says here.. sit down and let me walk you through this, step by step.

There is nothing left to misinterpret; nothing left to ask; nothing left to be confused about. It walks you from the draft, to the edit, to the formatting, through the publishing. It discusses Smashwords v. Amazon KDP, pros and cons, how to do your master draft for ALL formats.. it answers questions I didn't even know to ask.

And if you still can't do it yourself, it gives you places to go for help. Some people, who are technified and really publishing savvy may not need this much help; although I cannot imagine anyone who publishes not being able to find something they "didn't know" in this amazing book.

Truly a Must Have - at least for this formerly discouraged amateur. Thank you so much for this indispensable reference guide !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 29, 2012
I really appreciated this author's emphasis on copy editing and proofreading, including a warning not to rely only on software's grammar and spelling checkers. In my copy, there were a surprising number of mistakes, ranging from formatting issues to multiple repeats of paragraphs (cut-pasted to make proposed corrections and probably forgot to delete the original paragraph). Ironically, she herself did an excellent job of expressing my feelings on this issue.

"You haven't taken care to present your work to them properly, so why should they go on believing what they're reading? You're entering a fragile contract of trust with your reader. Early mistakes will not be tolerated - subconsciously, if not consciously."

I survived the mistakes and ended up really liking the book but they did bother me. Excellent resource list.

Finally, I want to add a thank you to the author since I gained a much deeper appreciation for how hard it can be to actually produce a high-quality, well-formatted, nicely proofread ebook.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2012
After deciding to publish an eBook I looked for information on how to just that publish the eBook. The information I did find was not very detailed. Then I found How to Publish an eBook on a Budget and I got the information I needed. The author takes you through the process of first publishing a PDF eBook that you can sale on your own website. Second how to publish via Smashwords (an agitator that puts your eBook in the major eBook stores with the exception of Amazon). Third how to publish on Amazon. It's all there How to find a picture or artwork for your cover, how to create a cover, front matter, back matter, how to format headings and text, how to put pictures in your eBook.

I would encourage you to get this eBook if you plan on publishing an eBook, read it all the way through and then refer to it throughout the process. I refer to this work as my Bible of eBook publishing, because it tells me what I need to know.

Also if you get stuck along the way you can eMail the author and she will respond.

Thanks Stephanie for a great guide.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 20, 2011
As a professional published writer and advertising copywriter, I can tell you that mistakes in editing and the failure to tweak and edit flawlessly is the biggest mistake a writer or publisher can make.

While the writer may select a great subject that has a natural audience, readers want fast, easy-to-understand reading material. They want sentences that flow and ideas that make sense.

I can also tell you that most of the refunds that people ask for when they've purchased an ebook is due to either poor formatting or poor quality reading. That often comes above the actual content because it's so obvious and keeps the reader from enjoying the book.

Now that more and more people are self-publishing in the form of ebooks for ereaders, including the popular Kindle, a new set of rules must be learned and old ones relearned. Unkind reviews are the result of a poorly written and edited ebook --- just like any other book or form of communication.

This book offers the basics of preparing your book for publication as an ebook. It covers a lot, including the importance of editing as I've described above.

The book also goes into formatting and even printing on demand. Fact is, if you think you might want to write an ebook and really make a success of it, you need to get this book now.

It pretty much offers all you need to get started and to, at the very least, understand what you're going to need to do and who is available to assist you if you need professional help.

Highly recommended.

-- Susanna K. Hutcheson
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2012
I'll keep this short as I see this book already has plenty of glowing reviews. I was fortunate enough to download this as a freebie, but I didn't hold out much hope for it because I've come across quite a few books on self publishing that were less than helpful. So often they just recycle information that is available to anyone who bothers to seek it out, while offering very little real help.

This book is different. It's loaded with practical information from an author who has actually put it into practice. There's something here for just about everyone, and some great links to boot. While it mostly deals with the mechanics of publishing, it also contains a very useful section on copyright. It's all very well-organized and delivered with good humor -- in my view well worth the regular purchase price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2016
Wonderful book, explaining even minor details. Large number of pages, but they explain different platforms and several publishing sites. I confined reading only those that interests me now, leaving other pages for later when I am ready for them. So, it is wonderful tat he gives all details. The screen images are very tiny and hard to read. I wish he had given them as larger pictures to see better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 21, 2011
Quite honestly, I downloaded this book to my Kindle because it was either free or quite inexpensive, and I'm so glad that I did! It's filled with interesting, informative, and up-to-date material, and the author somehow conveys the feeling to the reader that "You can do it!" If this had been a hard copy book, I would have underlined passages and turned back pages to keep track of all of the helpful data. Since it's on the Kindle, however, I made some notes, and when I go through it again, I'll highlight the sections that were especially helpful. And yes, I do plan to go through it again and again. It's like a how-to reference book that you can't comprehend and remember in one reading.

That said, here are a few of the neat things I learned, the most important being the knowledge that I can publish an ebook too, especially since there are pioneers who have gone before and are sharing their lessons with the greenies like me. I also learned about smashwords.com (love that site), how to make the copyright symbol, the difference between copy editing and proofreading, how to format work for different mediums (?) like Kindle and iPad, the importance of getting permission to use quotes and photographs, and much, much more. For instance, I learned that photographs need to be low resolution for this type of publishing. They don't take as long to load, so consequently your reader won't get impatient and move on to another book.

If you're entertaining the idea of epublishing, this book is definitely worth reading. Stephanie Zia has done her homework, and she has the voice of experience to back her up. Whether you need information about formatting, pricing, or uploading, you'll find it in How to Publish an EBook on a Budget.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2012
I'm a mainstream published author and just spent the last year researching the ever-changing world of e-books, from Kindle versions to the new enhanced books created by Stephen Fry, Nick Cave, Rob Brydon, The Beatles. I recently gave a workshop on e-publishing and trawled through so many websites and blogs on self-publishing. Stephanie's book was easily the best. So simple. So straightforward. Why can't all geeks write like her? I'm giving it five stars and good luck with your career as an indie writer! Jessica Adams.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2016
I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here