Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

  • Customer Reviews



on May 29, 2016
Buying this has been a disappointing experience. I have just put it into our tub. I struggled to figure out dimensions and how it would fit with our Jacuzzi jets. A question about modifying it on Amazon got an answer was a liability lawyer "Don't do it." not whether it was feasible, from the manufacturer. I wanted to look at one, but no shop I could find in either Boise, ID, Idaho Falls, ID, or Jackson WY had one or seemed ever to have sold one. Given astronomical list prices, I didn't want to impose on them, so I told them they would have to compete with Amazon on price.

Design. There is a structure at the back of the base that keeps the seat base about 6 inches from the back of the tub. The base is 22 inches from front to back [The mysterious 22 inches listed as seat length] so the front of the seat is 20 inches from the front of the tub bottom. I should have bought the Aquajoy line. The rigid-back one, which wouldn't work for us, has more legroom; hard to tell about the reclining back model. Drive doesn't have a picture that shows that one down in the tub.

Drive Medical could do a better job for people who may be limited in their capabilities or may be caregivers without a lot of time to go beyond what Drive gives them to find out what they need to know. They can't even list the phone numbers of their "dealers". This is a potentially very useful product for a small but needing group of customers. Drive should bet their marketing act together, although poor design and marketing seems to be endemic in the health care product business, except for the deep-pocket-targeted scooter business for example.

In use, it is great for one who hates showers and likes to soak in a Jacuzzi. She was able get in even though the wings don't rest on the tub edge, to slide down off the sea when it's down, which is not too high and immerse herself. The front is tapered enough to make that OK, although a firm apron there would make that easier. This compensates for the length the chair takes up in the tub.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2016
Heart lifting device for me! I have spinal stenosis which prevents me from being able to get in and out of a tub without assistance. This device has allowed me to raise and lower myself with ease into my small 4 ft 6 inch tub. It is correct in other reviews that the knees cannot be straigtened out, but it does allow me to have the warmth of a tub bath above my lumbar area where I have my pain. My only negative is that the padded removable covers for the back as well as the seat slip and slide out of position with just the slightest movement. It is a minor complaint and should not be considered a major issue.The suction cups are easy to install once you raise the seat first. If you don't do that, then it is very difficult to put them on. I had no problems with suction on the textured tub design that my Kohler bathtub has. The remote control is waterproof with rechargeable lithium battery. Charges within 4 hours when empty and comes with an ac adapter. All in all the product is worth it's investment for me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2013
My tub is an oval shaped fiberglass unit with jets. The chair takes up half of the inside space, leaving little room for your legs. The bottom of the tub is textured and I could not get a good connection with the suction cups. The unit itself looks very well built. I hope the seller refines his listing to include a warning about using this unit with such a tub as mine. I am still in need of something to help me get out of the tub.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2013
The shipper, Improving Lifestyles had the product to me in less than 3 days. But it is the manufacturer, Drive Medical I wish to comment on. As a former employee of Home Depot in the glory days of Bernie Marcus when customer service was king, I know what good customer service is!! This company reminds me of the old Bernie philosophy. I had a couple problems with the equipment but Drive Medical's Platinum customer service treated me like I was their only customer. They sent me replacements parts without hesitation. These days, this is almost unheard of!!
The other thing about this lift I want to express is its diverse nature. My mother is 85 years old with Dementia. She has had a couple of falls, (unfortunately), and thank God she wasn't hurt but this chair lift saved the day! I was able to set the chair next to her and have her scoot over onto it and used it as a lift to raise her up to safety. She weighs 185 lbs and there was no way I could have done this by myself...or call 911...but the lift did the trick!! This is a great product with multiple uses!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I was so excited to finally get my bath lifter, I had been trying to get it covered by Medicare for 2 years... and finally broke down and paid for it myself.... but sadly, this piece of equipment is horribly uncomfortable... it does get me into the water, but not as far as it claims, and the chair itself is very hard and uncomfortable. A sad waste of money for the minute pleasure of feeling warm water on my skin again. It needs some serious padding, as in upholstery, to make it a genuine comfort for the broken, disabled people who are forced to seek such demeaning apparatuses to do something so basic as bathe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2015
I don't use it in the bath. I use it to get from floor to wheelchair since I often cannot do it the way I used to. I charge it once a month whether I've used it or not since the battery can lose charge over time, but not unreasonably If you can lift yourself 2" you can do independent floor to chair transfers, though the makers don't say that's an intended use. It's better than calling the fire department, no matter how gracious they are.

That said, the instructions are a disaster, more confusing than helpful. It's really easy to assemble. You just slide and mesh two parts together. The directions make it seem like building a rocket with an IKEA manual, obscure names for unidentifiable parts, backward pictures and directions written in some other language and poorly translated. I still don't know what the actuator is and the only definition of chinch I could find was a "plant eating bug." But take heart, it's easy to assemble.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 23, 2012
We purchased this for someone in our home weighing 230 pounds and were amazed at how flawlessly it works! There was no unusual noise or hesitation in the bath lifter as it lowered and raised the person from the bath. We had wondered if weight would be an issue with using this, but it was not. It was very easy to put together and carry for the woman who had to put it together and into the tub. The remote control charged very quickly, 2 or 3 hours. The bath lifter works best for a short person -- 5'4" or under if you are using it in a regular tub that does not have any extra length. For someone who is short, the legs will be able to stretch out all the way. If you are over 5'4" or so, you might prefer a longer tub. A deeper tub would be nice as well, but ours is standard and filling it about 2/3 to 3/4 full worked pretty well. I would not hesitate to recommend its purchase for those who need it. It also works well for taking a shower. It can be raised to its highest position, a little over 18 inches, and it works well with a handheld shower. We put a hook on the tub wall for hanging the remote. That was easier than reaching behind the chair to grab the remote.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2011
Unless you have a very long tub, this will not work well. We own a soaking tub and a conventional tract-home guest bathroom tub, and tried it in both. In both cases, because of the design, we lost 6" (six inches) in length, which forced our knees to be almost in our chests. The Bath Lifter is built very strong but would only work well if you're a short woman.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 12, 2014
After using the Auto Bath Lifter for several months I wanted to share that it does a good job of lifting a person off the floor of the tub. However, the lift will tilt if a person shifts their weight to one side or the other, so care must be used when bathing someone who cannot comprehend their actions may make the lift shift to the side. The suction cups on the feet of the lift do not adhere to my lightly textured tub. The screw drive is slow, but in my case just getting the person 6-7 inches off the tub is enough to allow them to get to their feet and out of the tub-no need to go all the way up. I use a hand held shower head to rinse the lift after use because there are many channels where bathwater can accumulate. I wonder why they didn't make the legs solid to avoid this hygienic issue? I give the product 4 stars because of this issue and also because they should be able to figure out a way to get the lift to adhere to all tub surfaces. But I am very grateful for the product as it allows me to continue to care for my loved one in my home.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2013
My shower is in the basement bathroom, and I can't currently do stairs - waiting for a knee replacement, so getting in or out of the bathtub is impossible. The Bathtub Lift is wonderful - returns my independence - and since I live alone, this is wonderful. Able to put a regular bath bench next to the tub, and with the transfer arms, slide onto the chair and lower it into the water. I did have to move the chair as far back as it would go in order to have room to stretch my legs out but that wasn't an issue. Wish I had had this chair while caring for my disabled husband years ago -
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse