Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,444 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,500 reviews
TOP 500 REVIEWERon May 12, 2016
I use this to scan UPC barcodes for Amazon FBA shipments. It works on everything from books to toys. I have been using it for a couple of days and have scanned about 300 items without any issues.

It worked on the color background UPC as well.

I am running windows 10 and it recognized it and worked within about 10 seconds.

Bottom Line: Instant recognition with Windows10, super easy to use, and works with colored background UPCs

Please feel free to ask any questions about my review in the comment section and I will try to quickly respond. I hope my review has been supportive, enlightening, or most importantly helpful to you. My goal is to continue to be helpful to other Amazon shoppers in making informed purchasing decisions in the sea of choices available.

Thank you for taking the time and reading my review!
review image review image review image review image review image review image
1313 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2016
A few months ago, I order 4 of these and the came in as described and looked exactly like the picture. They scanned when they detected movement and that was great. Then I order 2 more and they are a different version. They look different and they do not auto scan when movement is detected. You have to press the trigger to scan something, so, I returned them.
I order 2 more in hopes that it was just the vendor. Nope. I get two of the same thing, they look different and dont auto scan. Now I have to do a second return.
Why does this listing show a different product that what is being sent??? Please send me the correct scanners as shown in the picture! Those ones work!!

To be clear, with the version that I got, there is an option to scan a barcode that puts this scanner into "Continuous Mode" where it is constantly scanning, as if the trigger was depressed indefinitely. I dont want the scanner to keep scanning because that will wear out the scanner or at least reduce the life of the scanner. The scanner shown in the picture has an auto sensing feature where it detects movement and then scans briefly. It then stops scanning. That is the feature that is desired but it doesnt come with the version that I received.
33 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2011
I bought 4 of these scanners for data entry purposes. I've used them for about a week now, scanning approximately 2000 items daily for each scanner. So far i've had only a few instances where the scanner wouldn't read the barcode the first or the second time (automatic scanning), but pulling the trigger over the barcode a few times did the trick.

The scanner comes with a handsfree stand (as described) that needs minor assembly. It has a little piece of metal that screws to the bottom of the stand, making it bottom-heavy, so it's pretty sturdy when mounted on the stand. I took the scanner right out the box and plugged it into my laptop and started scanning right away, so it really is plug and play.

For the price, I am very satisfied and would definitely purchase more if the need arises.
1212 comments| 121 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
First, the stand the base that came with it is not the same as the one in the picture. At all. Also the part that is supposed to attach into the base has nothing that would make it attach into the base. It came with a strange spiral tube with a metal thing in it that falls out. Also, there are no instructions at all. Just a specification page. Sending it right back.
review image
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
I previously left a review for this scanner a few weeks ago and somehow it was removed. I am not sure hows this was able to occur since my review was accurate and in no way inappropriate. The scanner did not work well from the start it wasn't really picking up the bar codes and I had to program it to constantly scan so that it work work decently. After a few hours of frustration it completely stopped working. I know that my review made it to the company because I received a message from them in broken English stating that "I am so sorry for this, and i wil replacement, can you withdraw the feedback? Thank you." I have yet to receive a replacement not that I wanted one anyway, nor did I remove my feedback. The next day they sent another message "Warm tips: please be sure to insert the usb cable with your devices interface well when using the scanner.Thank you!I reflect your problem to technical staff, they think may be you do not interface well. " They then went on to tell me how to properly interface. I am shocked by their customer service, the person handling customer feedback should be able to properly write in the language that is used. Second of all, I know how to properly interface, its not my fault that this is a crappy scanner. I recommend spending a little more money for a more quality product. I do not understand how they got my original review removed, hopefully this one stays.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The scanner works well. I've had no problems with it. I plugged it in and it worked right out of the box, with no need for setup.

This is a good thing, because the "instructions" are terrible. When you open the box, it's full of parts. A closer examination will show that the scanner itself is already all one piece; however the stand comes in parts and there are NO instructions for assembling it. There are also no instructions for using the scanner, so if for some reason you CAN'T just plug it in and have it work, tough luck.

I only knew what to expect it to do (or not do) based on reviews and Q&A here and on other scanners: it acts as a "keyboard" - like a number pad, so it doesn't "do" anything by itself. You have to be in an appropriate form field, and scan your bar code. At that point it will "translate" the bar code and enter the numbers. It will also add a carriage entry by default (to run the search, go to the next field, or whatever it is a carriage entry does in your program - like hitting "enter"). If you need it to do something different, I understand this can be changed but I have no idea how, because...there are no instructions.

There is a little booklet of bar codes. These are for settings, like which type of bar code you're scanning in and that sort of thing. You set the scanner up (if it's not working the way you need it to out of the box) by scanning these codes, so it's probably pretty important not to lose this fairly small piece of paper.

I've been using the scanner to enter books in LibraryThing, and it works great.
review image
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
The picture on the website is not the product that was sent. I have ordered the product pictured multiple times in the past, and they have always done what we need. The one that was sent does not. We love the "instant-on" or "auto-sense" feature of our previously-purchased scanners. This feature allows the laser to stay off until it senses a barcode, then turns on just long enough to scan. It's a great feature that is missing from the scanners they are sending out now. With the scanners they are sending now, the only automatic scanning option leaves the laser on constantly. Then it sits there all day and randomly beeps from time to time. Usually just annoying, but at times it has inserted random symbols into important form fields. Not good. This one is going back and I won't be ordering again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
I am a member of our county electoral board -- a rural Virginia county. We use laptops with our pollbook installed to check in voters. That is, the laptop contains a database with search capability to lists all our registered voters.

At each election, we have a small problem -- 4,5,6, 7 voters out of 4,500 -- with the wrong voter being checked in as a result of poll worker error. Most of our poll workers are older folks, not comfortable with computers.

We ordered these scanners because, according to the software vendor, could simply plug it into the laptop and scan a voter's driver's license or voter ID card and the database will look up the voter, thereby eliminating operator error.

WORKS PERFECTLY. Plugged in the scanner, no setup, started scanning. Our poll book errors are zero. We have six polls, two laptops per poll, 12 scanners plus two for training and spares.

Not a problem and the poll workers love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
I ordered this scanner with stand specifically because the photo makes it look like you can put it in the provided stand and the scanner will be free standing. The thought here was I could set up the scanner and then swipe a cd/book or whatever under the scanner. Unfortunately, the stand that was included in no way works. The bracket does not fit the scanner as shown in the photos. I didn't bother trying the scanner out since the stand and compatible scanner is what I need. Sending it back to Amazon. I see in the latest reviews other people are having the same problem.
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
I ordered this product to use to scan my items into my Amazon Seller account.

Packaging: right size for the product and in good shape when it arrived to me

Quality of item: good. It's not obnoxiously thick or decked out with unnecessary accessories. It's light-weight with very little fuss.

Instructions: Borderline clear. This is the only part of the product where I feel needs improvement. The instructions are on a half of a page with one picture of the product ( in parts) and 4 listed steps. The listed steps were not detailed enough to understand how to put it together. I relied on the picture and was able to put it together in about 10-15 mins. If you're someone who is used to manually assembling products then this is doable with some intuition. If you have a difficult time assembling products based on one picture alone then I'd say get someone to help or ask the seller to include a step-by-step video (hint hint).

Other than that, I'd say this is a great product for the money. Even the extra time spent assembling it is worth functionality and time saved from manually entering upc's.

Does it work? Yes. At least, for me it does. I am using it on my 2010 Macbook Pro with updated El Capitan OS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse