Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,527 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,587 reviews
on May 19, 2017
I am a member of our county electoral board -- a rural Virginia county. We use laptops with our pollbook installed to check in voters. That is, the laptop contains a database with search capability to lists all our registered voters.

At each election, we have a small problem -- 4,5,6, 7 voters out of 4,500 -- with the wrong voter being checked in as a result of poll worker error. Most of our poll workers are older folks, not comfortable with computers.

We ordered these scanners because, according to the software vendor, could simply plug it into the laptop and scan a voter's driver's license or voter ID card and the database will look up the voter, thereby eliminating operator error.

WORKS PERFECTLY. Plugged in the scanner, no setup, started scanning. Our poll book errors are zero. We have six polls, two laptops per poll, 12 scanners plus two for training and spares.

Not a problem and the poll workers love them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon May 12, 2016
I use this to scan UPC barcodes for Amazon FBA shipments. It works on everything from books to toys. I have been using it for a couple of days and have scanned about 300 items without any issues.

It worked on the color background UPC as well.

I am running windows 10 and it recognized it and worked within about 10 seconds.

Bottom Line: Instant recognition with Windows10, super easy to use, and works with colored background UPCs

Please feel free to ask any questions about my review in the comment section and I will try to quickly respond. I hope my review has been supportive, enlightening, or most importantly helpful to you. My goal is to continue to be helpful to other Amazon shoppers in making informed purchasing decisions in the sea of choices available.

Thank you for taking the time and reading my review!
review image review image review image review image review image review image
1212 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
As noted in other review, the "instructions" are not helpful. I needed to to ISBN#s but to no avail, had to buy another scanner that would do them. I have thousands of books to catalog so I had no choice but to get another scanner for ISBNs.

However, if all you are looking to do us scan bar codes or UPC, this is your scanner. Fast, accurate, great little scanner for that!

UPDATE: Totally pleased with this scanner. It is as advertised - PLUG and PLAY. Nothing else to do, just use it. I have 3,000 books to catalog and some only have ISBN bar codes which I couldn't get this one to read (though I think it does do them if you can understand the instructions - I could not!) Be aware if you are looking for something that will scan ISBN #'s, you will have to be specific for that. If you are, then you will get one that you just plug and play for ISBN's too. But be aware, it only scans ISBN #'s IF they are in bar code language.

Great buy and I am giving it a real workout. No problems whatsoever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
I ordered this scanner with stand specifically because the photo makes it look like you can put it in the provided stand and the scanner will be free standing. The thought here was I could set up the scanner and then swipe a cd/book or whatever under the scanner. Unfortunately, the stand that was included in no way works. The bracket does not fit the scanner as shown in the photos. I didn't bother trying the scanner out since the stand and compatible scanner is what I need. Sending it back to Amazon. I see in the latest reviews other people are having the same problem.
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
I purchased this item in January 2017. It came with no manual and just a sheet of random bar codes. I have never used a bar code scanner before and just wanted to scan some books in my house to create a libib. Since there was no manual and other reviews say to just "plug and play," I plugged the USB into my computer and nothing happened. Nothing at all. I am on a Mac. I said, okay, maybe Macs are the problem. I moved to a PC. Still nothing happened. The device was recognized but nothing popped up, such as installing any programs that might be needed to use the scanner. I press the yellow button and the laser light does not turn on; it won't scan anything. I have no idea what I'm supposed to do with this waste of a hunk of plastic. I guess I'll give it to my kids to play with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2017
I would not purchase this item. It's listed as a generic barcode scanner and from other reviews it appears to be a mixed bag as far as what you will receive. I purchased 10 and I had them as inventory until I tried using them 3 months later. They will not work on my Raspberry Pi's. They work fine on a PC but when you plug them into a PI they sound distorted and wonky. They only partial return what was scanned to the computer. Again I know I should have checked what I purchased before I did but with the other reviews I wanted to add my 2 cents.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2016
I like this Barcode reader. I have had it for a day and am pleased with the unit. It should meet my needs very well. The unit is well build and appears durable. The stand that came with the unit is much nicer than the stand shown in the illustration, It has a flexible metal neck extension which very robust and I like the construction very much. I ordered this USB Automatic Barcode Scanner thinking the "automatic" meant the scanner would a) sense a object, b)turn on the laser, c)read the code, d)enter the number in a spreadsheet, and e)increment cursor to the next line. This scanner does not sense objects but can simulate that mode by having the laser on continuously (that is one option). It was simple to get to work: open a spreadsheet, place the cursor in a cell, plug the scanner in a usb port, place a barcode under the scanner, and pull the trigger. The scanner beeps when a code is read. I have Windows 10 and the scanner worked great, no issues. If you want automatic sensing, be sure that "automatic sensing" is in the scanner description.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not a bad little scanner. I honestly needed it for work, but I find myself using it to enter bar-codes off of products when registering them. I cannot read these little serial numbers anymore! I have come across one bar code that it would not read (the s/n off of my Acer laptop) but it read a different bar-code of the same label. Like most of these imported items very little instructions but clear enough. It does come configured to automatically turn on and stay on as soon as it is plugged in which seems backwards to me, but easy enough to change. DON'T lose the sheet of setup codes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
I have searched the over 300 questions and answers with no luck on how to fix this thing. It worked for literally 1 day and I have not been able to get it do anything but give me these weird letters/characters in the Amazon product search box. Since I was just getting started with FBA I figured I would give it some time and do some searching to see if I missed something. Got busy, missed the return period and now I'm stuck with this thing. :(

See attached screenshot of what pops up when I attempt to scan an item. It give the wrong item and odd looking characters. I downloaded manual ,which is useless as it provides no instructions...just a page full of bar codes. The seller assumes we are all bar code wizards. Sure wish this would have worked for me.
review image
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2013
Well it did work right out of the box. It was very easy to set up. It worked first scan on about 80% of bar codes, 10% required a second scan, and 10% required multiple scans before it would finally read them (this was not a big problem because I do not expect the same performance from a $26 reader as I would from a $150 reader).

So far 4-stars, but after a month it simply stopped scanning. I could see the laser inside the unit lighting up but no beam was coming out the front. Clearly the scanning optics failed. Luckily I was 2 days inside Amazon's return period so I returned it for a refund. I'm not going to replace this scanner with an identical unit.

Pro:
- it's cheap
- it's easy to set up
- it reads most bar codes easily

Con:
- it has a fairly high failure rate at scanning small-sized codes (needs many scans on some bar codes)
- it's too cheap and as a result it's unreliable (failed in 28 days)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse