Customer Reviews: Disney World Tips and Secrets
Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Subscribe & Save Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon bajillions bajillions bajillions  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Cycling on Amazon Save on select ClickTight convertible car seats

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 15, 2012
I did not give this book 5 stars because I found the first parts to be boring in terms of staying in a Disney owned hotel and using the transportation. Chances are you have gone over the WDW site or visited your travel agent and are on your way to making reservations if you have not done so first. Either way, this is not a terrible book to have if you're heading to WDW. Claire gives you a lot of tips about the hotels and ways to save money (mailing your snacks beforehand to save money rather than buy them in the park).

What is worth the cash for this book is the tips for the parks. For example, in the Kodak Shop in Town Square in the back of the store are those silly cut outs you can stick your head through and take pictures. I did not know this. She also tells you the best places to meet characters in each park and where the character breakfasts are the best value and also to make reservations in advance. Disney offers this for a reason and it fills up fast. Her park tips, while some a little obvious, were excellent. I made several notes in my trip notebook about things she says.

I recommend you buy this book and either take it with you or make notes to take with you (I bought mine on Kindle and I am not willing to risk losing it in the park) but if you are traveling with families and especially small children, her tips will make your visit much more enjoyable. If you know nothing of the hotels and are starting with this book, she makes a lot of good points as well. I just point out that if you know what you're doing it may be a little redundant. Read that part anyway, you will learn things there also. Her park tips are golden. I should point out some tips may be out of date, such as the part about waking up Tinker Bell, as I read from another reliable reviewer that this is no longer an opportunity.

I have read several books already and this one is quite good for tidbits going to Disney World. I definitely recommend it.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
4 stars because there were a lot of tips that were blank, not sure what that was about. Another reason for 4 stars is that for a book with a 2012 title, there are old names to places, such as tip# 191, mentions cut outs for pics at Town Square Exposition Hall. For a first timer, they will have a very hard time finding Exposition Hall, the name has changed to Town Square Theatre. Also, on #196 about the new Haunted Mansion walk through, more interactive than before.
So there are some old information in this 2012 book. I did like the height restrictions, not to miss foods, and eats.
Originally I was going to give 3 stars, but all in all great tips.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
I don't know...I have been to Disney World sooooo many times that I had figured out all these secrets and tips through the years. This would be better for a Walt Disney World first timer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Simply a list with no true insight. The same tips are repeated throughout. Save your money and get a true guidebook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2012
This short guide is a jumble of random thoughts. It is riddled with spelling errors, dropped words, or the wrong word that spell check probably inserted for something that was typed wrong (kids, this is why you can't rely on spell check; you must proofread!).

The Kindle conversion, as another reviewer said, dropped off numbers on lists. That makes for a very confusing read in some parts.

Pretty much everything in here is available on all the major Disney unofficial websites. I'm glad this was a free loaner from the Kindle library or I'd be asking for my money back.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2012
I've done a TON of reading for our upcoming trip, but this book had, hands-down, the most in the way of little-known tips. If you're planning a Disney World trip, this book will definitely help you make the most of your time. Contains everything from ride tips, to dining suggestions, to hints for little-known experiences that can make your vacation extra special! Well done!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2012
The information in this book is outdated. There are other books that are much better written. Out of all the WDW books I have read, I would not recommend this to a friend that is planning a trip.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
While this book would be good for a newcomer to Disney, someone that has been there a few times will see some problems with some of the advice. For one thing, knowing where it is best to sit for Honey I Shrunk the Audience will do you no good whatsoever since this has been gone since 2010. Considering this book claims it is tips for 2012, it is surprising Ms. Swindlehurst missed this on her editing since she obviously is a big fan and does know a lot about the parks.

Also if you are arriving late, telling people to stay outside the park is not always the best advice either. Unless you are already renting a car, that cheap hotel outside the park will cost as much as transportation to get to that cheap hotel, costing you the transportation fee and hotel cost, so you can just about double the cost of the hotel room. Disney's Magical Express will take you to the onsite hotels for free. So while staying outside the park may be a good financial move for some first night late arrivals, it is not always the best solution. Maybe a Disney Value Resort the first night is a better choice for some.

There are some formatting issues that really need to be addressed for the Kindle version...there are a lot of numbered tips that are just numbers with no tip.

For newcomers it is very nice to have an explanation of Fast Pass (it is amazing how many do not take advantage of it as they don't know what it is or do not understand it is free) and what attractions accept it.

All in all, even with the problems, this is a nice little book of tips for people traveling to the World for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
Loads of great tips for your first or next trip. I've been there many times yet am always looking that that one idea that may be new to me or just forgotten. Plus I love reading anything Disney!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here