Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Shawn Colvin All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only $29.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on December 20, 2014
Changing my review from a 4 to a 1

New Review
The next time I went to use this coffee maker, the plug got fairly hot, not just warm. I called RoadPro, and they told me that the unit should not heat up and must be defective. They advised me to return it. That was after I called at least a half dozen times at various times throughout the day and received a recorded message. Once I finally did get to speak to someone, she was courteous and seemed to know the product.

The only reason I'm not returning it is because I like the 16 oz metal carafe. and it works well with my home coffee maker.

Old Review
I purchased this coffee maker for my 5th wheel camper, which is equipped with two beefy two deep-cycle batteries. I haven't taken any specific readings, but have noted that the battery meter hasn't taken a big dip when comparing the before and after. The plug does get warm but seems okay. I turn the unit off as soon as it's done brewing anyway.

As other reviewers have indicated, it takes about 15-20 minutes to brew coffee, and it's very warm but not hot. Good enough for me. What do you really expect from a 12v coffee maker?

If you're planning to use this with anything but a large truck or deep-cycle battery, you'll probably blow fuses and be disappointed. The manufacturer should do a better job of advising the requirements and set expectations.

I personally don't like the built-in filter. It may be handy for some, but I much prefer using the small brown paper filters from the grocery store.

The mounting bracket is fairly useless, so get out a small philips screwdriver and remove it as soon as you take it out of the box. The mounting bracket causes the unit to be lopsided and is only valuable if you're going to permanently mount the unit.

This is the only 12v coffee maker that doesn't have a glass carafe. Why oh why would any manufacturer include a glass carafe with a 12v coffee maker??? As a result, this is the only real option for a 12v coffee maker.

All in all, it's good but not great. I worry a bit about how hot the plug gets, so I wouldn't leave the coffee maker unattended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2017
Bought this so i could have coffee and heat water for instant oatmeal on those mornings I'm stuck in the middle of nowhere waiting to deliver. Waste of money. Used it maybe a hand full of times and the plug melted down. In the pic I uploaded you cannot pull that fuse out because it's melted into place.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2016
It's working fine for me the first 4 times , after that it damage my car auxiliary power outlets and cigarette lighter ...even though I have a large car gmc savana van .. the dealer charge me a lot to change and repair the damage .. it is not a fuse issue ... it milted the whole thing inside the car wires
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 10, 2017
This broke a few weeks after we bought it. It fried the cigarette lighter plug. Don't buy it's not worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2015
Heres the deal. Its kinda a piece of crap. The cover where the water goes in broke immediately, the stop drip feature doesnt work, good luck getting your coffee filter clean and the cup/pot it comes with will fit in no cup holder ever. You will probably overfill it the first time and make a mess. It does not sit level as it is designed to be wall mounted. Oh and the plug will get so hot you will burn your self if not careful. That being said... it does make hot delicious coffee on the road. It is by no means perfect but does fulfill its primary function. I dont know that this is the best option but im gonna use it till it dies which i hope will be many months down the road. 3 for now 2 if it does not last atleast 6 months.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2014
Disappointed with this product. First of all, the cup leaks as you try to use it. I wore almost as much coffee as I drank. Also the plug isnt strong enough to support the appliance. The first time I plugged it into my truck, I noticed a funny smell. The second time, I saw the plug smoking. I will be sending this one back
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2017
This was so easy to use and small so it didn't take up much room really made my mornings so much better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2016
Total crap, the coffee maker works but the plug attached for the power point socket overheats and melts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2017
I'm a trucker. I like coffee. This seemed like a simple and great choice. Two dead cigarette lighters later I'm both highly annoyed and don't have coffee. Save your money, buy another product (probably from another company cause this is a joke!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2014
I don't know why some of the reviewers said that the coffee took a long time to brew, this was actually a lot faster than I was expecting. I also didn't have problems with it not being hot enough. I don't know about everyone else but I'd rather not drink coffee that's going to burn my lips off anyway and this brewed it perfect and just the way I like it. We used it in our car during our vacation and will use it again next time!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here