Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 143 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 162 reviews
on December 20, 2014
Changing my review from a 4 to a 1

New Review
The next time I went to use this coffee maker, the plug got fairly hot, not just warm. I called RoadPro, and they told me that the unit should not heat up and must be defective. They advised me to return it. That was after I called at least a half dozen times at various times throughout the day and received a recorded message. Once I finally did get to speak to someone, she was courteous and seemed to know the product.

The only reason I'm not returning it is because I like the 16 oz metal carafe. and it works well with my home coffee maker.

Old Review
I purchased this coffee maker for my 5th wheel camper, which is equipped with two beefy two deep-cycle batteries. I haven't taken any specific readings, but have noted that the battery meter hasn't taken a big dip when comparing the before and after. The plug does get warm but seems okay. I turn the unit off as soon as it's done brewing anyway.

As other reviewers have indicated, it takes about 15-20 minutes to brew coffee, and it's very warm but not hot. Good enough for me. What do you really expect from a 12v coffee maker?

If you're planning to use this with anything but a large truck or deep-cycle battery, you'll probably blow fuses and be disappointed. The manufacturer should do a better job of advising the requirements and set expectations.

I personally don't like the built-in filter. It may be handy for some, but I much prefer using the small brown paper filters from the grocery store.

The mounting bracket is fairly useless, so get out a small philips screwdriver and remove it as soon as you take it out of the box. The mounting bracket causes the unit to be lopsided and is only valuable if you're going to permanently mount the unit.

This is the only 12v coffee maker that doesn't have a glass carafe. Why oh why would any manufacturer include a glass carafe with a 12v coffee maker??? As a result, this is the only real option for a 12v coffee maker.

All in all, it's good but not great. I worry a bit about how hot the plug gets, so I wouldn't leave the coffee maker unattended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
I recently purchased this for my DH for he missed his coffee in the afternoon or when he spent overnights away from a truckstop. As a reviewer down-thread noted, patience is needed for this product, but the product is quite serviceable and welcome for what it does. One must remember that this is a 12-volt system, and does not have the power of your home coffeemaker. Still, it makes a decent cup of coffee.

DH says it takes about 20 minutes to brew a full mug, and then he lets the mug set on the warmer plate for another 10-15 minutes to heat the coffee through. When he wakes up he plugs it in while he dresses, showers, completes his pre-trip, or whatever he needs to do. Once he's done getting ready for the day, his coffee is ready for him. He stated that the coffee is not as hot as truckstop coffee, but it is hot enough for him. He has saved a lot of money, and he gets to drink his favorite brand of coffee, to boot.

So, for DH this product is a welcome addition to his truck. He recommends for those with the patience to wait a bit for their cuppa.

==========================================

UPDATE 4-14-14: This product gave up the ghost last week. DH only got a couple months of use out of it, but he says it was well worth the money, for he saved a lot of cash not buying truck stop coffee, and he was able to have coffee whenever, wherever he wanted it. So, be advised that the product may have a short shelf life if you plan on using it daily.

========================================
Update 12-30-14: The second coffee maker is still going strong as of this date.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
It's working fine for me the first 4 times , after that it damage my car auxiliary power outlets and cigarette lighter ...even though I have a large car gmc savana van .. the dealer charge me a lot to change and repair the damage .. it is not a fuse issue ... it milted the whole thing inside the car wires
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
I was very very very excited to be getting this product. Often car camp for my sons mountain bike races and I need coffee cannot make a fire. Needless to say my hope soon turned to sadness. This coffeepot took 20 minutes to make what it calls a cup of coffee. The coffee was lukewarm at best and because the water does not get very hot it doesn't make actual coffee. The water that came out of the coffee cup was barely slightly brown. More like a very weak cup of iced tea
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
Do not order this product, it could be a fire hazard. I connected it to my car to test before I used it in my motor home, it almost melted the cigarette lighter receptacle and did melt the connector on the coffee pot cord to the extent that the fuse nut melted the plastic threads holding in the fuse. It heated water just fine, and almost the entire garage! was to some extent slow as others have described. Not worth burning up a vehicle or other property to get a cup of coffee.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
Bought this product back in June. Finally got to use it on an outing last week the end of October. Brewed one cup of coffee which took over 20 minutes. Went to brew a second and blew the fuse in my truck. Tried it in my boat blew the fuses in my boat also. This product is not good. Seller is telling me I'm over my 30 day. And have to deal with the manufacture what a bunch of crap do not recommend this product
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
The first time used in the work van caused the old plugs to break and the company had to pay to have the socket fuses replaced. Also, the water doesn't get very hot!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Disappointed with this product. First of all, the cup leaks as you try to use it. I wore almost as much coffee as I drank. Also the plug isnt strong enough to support the appliance. The first time I plugged it into my truck, I noticed a funny smell. The second time, I saw the plug smoking. I will be sending this one back
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
This broke a few weeks after we bought it. It fried the cigarette lighter plug. Don't buy it's not worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2016
Total crap, the coffee maker works but the plug attached for the power point socket overheats and melts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here