Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 439 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 567 reviews
on June 23, 2017
This book is essential and it's a crime this isn't a required before applying for a job. If you want to make sure you're smart, you will read this book. If you want to make sure you're employees are smart and on the same page as you, you will enforce them to read this book. No exceptions
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
The short concise sections were great. I'm mid-career professional in business without formal business education and this filled in a lot gaps. Also a good book for a budding entrepreneur. The book is a great segue into deciding what to learn about next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
This book is a well thought-out and thoroughly researched work on most of the major business practices needed to run a successful business. It is well worth the lengthy read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2017
Only 1/3 of the way through so far and have taken tons of notes and had several ah-ha moments. Super condensed, readable, relatable, great info!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
Hands down the best non-fiction book I've read in a long time (I finish about one every two weeks). Concise, actionable and most of the time very easy to read. Some parts are more self-help-ish, but I didn't mind because even those concepts were better summarized than in any other book. Quite happy with the ROI.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Really like this book, but it's so much to take in at once. As other reviewers have said it's basically like two hundred blog posts pulled together for one book. But the author does a good job of connecting sections and chapters so that they're somewhat cohesive. The only downside was that he basically just throws a bunch of things at you. It might have been useful if he started with a story of a business and used that to illustrate all the principles as he goes through them.

But right now, all he really does is explain about 200 different business terms.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2016
This book has no doubt changed my life already. I'm about 3/4 of the way through it, and I can't wait to finish it to go back and reference all of the sections that I highlighted and circled.

He really explains a lot of complex topics as simply and concisely as anyone possible could. The short sections make the book in general less daunting and much more digestible. I love the advice he has to offer, and I can tell already that it's affected my business and habits heavily.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
Pros: good overview of MBA principles, and a good read for anyone prior to an MBA (to help you understand what you are getting into, and inform your career recruiting decisions)

Cons: none. Pretty good.

Overall: I would buy it again. I don't know that it is a stand-out over the other handful of highly rated MBA books, but it is still a solid overview. You won't go wrong buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
This book gives a clear, straight forward and easy understanding of what business is all about. Invaluable !
I would recommend it to anyone as it contains the essence of what human endeavour means and how the world is functioning.
This is the best book I ever red on business as it covers the full spectrum of topics involved and makes these accessible to whoever is willing to learn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
The best thing about The Personal MBA is Josh Kaufman does NOT assume that you already know what businesses are, what they do, and how they work.

Kaufman says "I had to rebuild my understanding of business from the ground up" - and what you and I get is the high quality end result of him weeding out the fluff from the good stuff.

Since Kaufman read like thousands of books to learn all this stuff, there's a ton of good quotes like this gem from Scott Berkun: "There is a difference between (a) what an MBA does to help you prove your abilities to others and (B) what getting an MBA actually does to improve your abilities. They are two different things."

That's the essence of The Personal MBA, that you and I can improve our knowledge and abilities in value creation, marketing, sales, value delivery, finance, the human mind, working with ourselves/others, and understanding/analyzing/improving systems WITHOUT spending $100,000 on business school.

I say this without an ounce of exaggeration...The Personal MBA is one of the (if not the) best business books I've ever read. Thanks, Josh Kaufman. You just saved me $100,000.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse