Oil month Automotive World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on May 17, 2017
I have only read Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett; a book I enjoyed for it's pace and historical interest.
A Place Called Freedom didn't 'do' it for me. A rather tame historical romance with an improbable plot and poorly defined characters I would pass on this one if you are a mature reader who likes a bit of depth to your stories.
There is a big market for such as this so I'm sure Follett didn't lose in the market place but it just wasn't for me!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 5, 2017
Ken Follett never ceases to surprise me! I've read so many books about "freedom" and they end up being about slavery in America, African American slavery. I had no idea this book was about a different type of slavery altogether. It's still slavery, and horrific details, etc, but I was pleasantly surprised by his characters, plot twists, etc. When I finish one of his books (usually at 2 or 3 am because I can't put them down!) I always wish the characters were real people! I would love to meet these characters in real life. Thank you!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2017
This book serves its purpose, fulfilling a search for historical adventure in Scotland, England and Colonial America. Along the way some detail is provided on coal mining, the coal distribution system, tobacco growing, and importantly, slavery -- among white people in Europe and America, and black people in America. All of this surrounds the story of an exceptional man who yearns for freedom from all the constraints and restrictions he was born into, and his pursuit of a woman he has known since childhood. It is an event-filled, adventuresome life, and a story well-told, and well worth reading by those who enjoy history and adventure.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2017
Ken Follett's historical fiction novels never disappoint! This book was fascinating and educational. His books are always well-researched and perfectly paced. It's rare to find an author that consistently writes books without any boring parts! I blew though this book just like I did with all his other books I've read! If you are already a Ken Follett fan, definitely give it a whirl! It's not as long and epic as his Kingsbridge novels or the Century Trilogy, but it was perfect to tide me over until Column of Fire was released!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2017
Ken Follett is a masterful storyteller and A Place Called Freedom is no exception. The novel is fast paced and a real page turner with multidimensional characters and their stories blending with colorful history. My only complaint (and the reason for taking off one star) is the ending. I don't want to spoil this for those of you who are thinking about reading Freedom - I highly recommend you do - but the ending left me hanging and dying for more. There is so much more story worth telling here! My hope is that the author has done this purposefully because he has a sequel planned. I'll be watching and waiting . . .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 23, 2015
This is a piece of historical fiction about a poor Scottish coal miner and a young aristocratic woman. They are true opposites but their lives manage to constantly intersect because they are both tenacious and will fight for what's right.

The friendship between Mack McAsh and Lizzie Hallim begins in the Scottish coal mines, moves to London and eventually ends in Virginia. Through the intersections of their lives, their friendship grows and changes, eventually transforming into love.

This novel is heavily plotted and the story is engaging. There is little sophistication about the way the book is written but it is entertaining and keeps your interest throughout.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 2, 2016
I really enjoyed this book! I thought it was a bit of a departure for Ken Follet. I love large saga types of historical fiction and while this was not necessarily of that genre, there was some great historical portions to meet my requirements. I also love reading about the South especially as it concerns the Civial War period and, again, while this was not the time frame of this novel, it had enough of the early South to satisfy me. It was a quick read - maybe 2 or 2-1/2 days - at most for a 600 page book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 16, 2014
Ken Follett almost seemed to not realize how meaningful and important his "Freedom" book would evolve. Start with the First Amendment and build from there. Place Called Freedom contains, explains and thrusts a major human message to the reader. To this very time, thousands of people with myriad backgrounds, economic stations and religious beliefs struggle to attain one thing. And, that unique achievement is simply "the freedom to simply live ones life in your own way". To do so requires a deeply personal
devotion to becoming a human being. Not a personal possession, not a cog in a wheel, and not a slave...mentally and physically to satanic and driven "owners" to imprison and ultimately destroy the life of fellow men due to greed and ugly ideology. Ken Follet began his career with the wisdom and humanity lines he wrote in this book. He never looked back!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 10, 2017
Love Ken Follett books and he has been a favorite author of mine for many years. What can I say, he is just a good story teller and has good character development. Always a lot of historical information. This one may have been a little more predictable , but I still enjoyed the book and would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2017
From the Old World to the New, never a dull moment. Not a typical FOLLETT novel, this is historical reality from a different time and place. Plenty of excitement mingled with the tragic facts of bondage and class separation. Sex, love, hate, cruelty and dynamic characters keep the reader interested from start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse