Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 137 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 144 reviews
on August 16, 2014
I liked this one. I like the dark, brooding hero, so sexy, especially when he falls. I wanted more reason to believe that an oil company would send a woman for this job. Has this author been to Texas? Does she know many oilmen? There are women in the oil fields, but there is generally a reason why they're there, why there're accepted. Throw me a bone. I'll take it. But really there is nothing about this character's personality that makes me see her as a fit for this alpha male dominated field. It doesn't fit and it's a problem. However, good read. Marginal sex. (This author marks this series as her 'hot' one and has an alternate sweet edition. Perhaps in the sweet edition, the characters only talk on the cell phone or text kisses to one another, because although there is some sex here, it's marginal and we wait a long time for it.
Marita
http://www.amazon.com/Marita-Baxter/e/B00L1CZOS4
Read my stuff, too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2011
Ok, I bought this book for the price and it was totally worth 99 cents. I've read books that cost way more than this and aren't half as good.

This is not an erotic romance; there are none of the explicit words you'd expect. It's just a very nice, sexy romance with a hot cowboy. Dallas and Gillian don't have sex until about 75% thru the book, but it's more the sexual tension and build-up that got me.

Dallas is that hero I love most- gruff, rude, short on words, even contemptuous and hostile to Gillian. She works for the drilling company that he wants off his ranch. Dallas looks big and mean and it shows on his face; he definitely doesn't want to be attracted to her but he can't stop wanting her. He wants her bad from the moment he first lays eyes on her. And of course, with the different vibes he's giving off, hostile one moment and then scorching her with lustful glances the next, she tries to avoid him around town. But it's a small town, and they keep bumping into each other, literally.

I really liked this story; only thing I would have wanted was if Gillian had made him grovel just a bit more at the end (when he surrenders [goes back to the title] to being in love). Dallas was a very hard and stubborn man but he was one sexy cowboy.

This is book 2 in a series so far (The Diamondback Ranch Series).
Book 1 The Doctor Wears A Stetson (about Dallas's brother Cameron)
Book 3 A Match Made In Texas (about Austin)
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
Dallas McCade, part owner of the Diamondback Ranch is furious with his sister in law for selling the mineral rights to the the ranch without asking him. Now Copper River Oil Company is on his land, destroying it. Dallas is hoping the company doesn’t find anything and leaves. Gillian Bankston is being sent to Texas to oversee the drilling operation after the previous supervisor had a heart attack. When her car breaks down, she is unprepared to meet the cantankerous Dallas McCade. She’s also not prepared for the immediate attraction she feels for him. Once Gillian gets to the site she is informed that someone is sabotaging the equipment and she is really hoping it’s not the surly owner. Will Gillian and Dallas put their differences aside and act on their attraction to each other? Who is sabotaging the drill site on the ranch?
I started reading this series a long time ago and apparently I forgot about it. As part of the #forgottenbookchallenge, I have been digging into my Kindle and found the second book in this series. The book was downloaded in March 2013 (yes that is how bad my one click addiction is). If you are interested in the challenge, look the group up on Facebook and join us.
This is a sweet and sexy western romance. The tension between Dallas and Gillian really builds up to a fever pitch before they act on it. Both are fighting demons from previous ex’s and Dallas really doesn’t want to be involved with anyone he sees as destroying his ranch.
The story line has the added bonus of suspense as well. Dallas makes no secret that he is ticked off at Copper River Oil Company and that he wants them gone. Gillian doesn’t want to believe that Dallas is behind the sabotage and is constantly arguing with her second in command about that. When Novak finally revealed who it was, I was actually surprised.
The Cowboys Surrender is the second book in the Diamondback Ranch series. It can be read as a stand alone but I would recommend starting at the beginning. This book is a great read for anyone who enjoys western romances with a hint of suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
This storyline is loaded with tension and mysterious intrigue. The main character is a rancher who is struggling with many different emotions. Not only in his personal life and feelings towards women but also with a drilling company mining on his ranch site. The tension between him and the woman representative from the mining company are the whole story. Makes for a very entertaining read throughout the book as they both struggle with each other and finally come to the end for a happy ever after ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
Dallas McKade might own the Diamondback Ranch, but his new sister-in-law who's married to his brother Cameron, owns the mineral rights to the land. Right now he's not too happy about that at all. It's all her fault that this Copper Oil Company has descended upon his land in the first place. Since they've shown up a few months ago, they've done nothing but reek total havoc on his land. He is so furious, he doesn't want anything to do with the oil company or any of their employees. The only hope he has is that they come up empty, and leave his ranch as fast as they came. Hopefully they'll leave his land the way they found it, or else someone will end up paying the piper.

To add insult to injury, they've sent a woman to oversee the operation and she is one hot mama. Hot or not, he doesn't want anything to do with her, after all Dallas has good reason to distrust women. As soon as he sets eyes on Gillian Bankston, he's mad as hell because she quickly sets his sexual libido into over drive. When he finds her on the side of the road with a flat tire in the hottest part of the day, he wants to ignore her and keep heading down the road. But he wasn't raised that way, and if his mama ever found out he'd done something like that, she'd have his hide for sure.

Gillian has never met a man quite like Dallas. He's tall, dark, and more handsome then any man she's ever met before, but he's also as prickly as a porcupine that's just been threatened. She has no idea why he's acting this way towards her, until she finds out that he's the one that owns the Diamondback Ranch, where they are now drilling. She was warned about him, even before she'd left California. She vows to do the job she's been hired to do, and steer clear of Dallas altogether. She's been burned herself and she wants nothing to do with any man, especially after what her deceased husband put her through for years. No man was worth that kind of agony ever again.... not one!

But we all know how fate likes to play dirty little tricks on us all now and then. Fate can be so cruel at times. Add that along with a few well meaning but meddling family members, and a woman named Suzy, a matchmaker who works at the local diner, and they don't stand a chance in hell!

I have to say...I love the scene where the two of them are stuck delivering Jesse baby in the middle of nowhere. Between their shear panic and their bickering at one another, they just cracked me up. I have to say, they both gave back just as much as they got. Gillian might be a tiny thing, but Dallas quickly found out that she was no push over by any means. And let's not forget his little niece, what a little schemer she is. LOL!

Would I recommend this book? Heck yes I would, there's not a dull moment anywhere in this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
This was the second of three books I've read by this author. I've also read 'The Doctor Wears a Stetson' and 'A Match Made in Texas'-- all feature different brothers in the same family. They were different and I liked each one on its own merits.

The writing is good, and the plot and pacing are good, too. The hero in this is very gruff and rude in places, but it works out and he has his reasons. As with the other two, the early encounters between the MCs seem a little too steamy to be real--esp. the one with the doctor (I'd have preferred those to be more in their heads and less physical), but all in all the romances are good and the books have been enjoyable. If you are looking for a fast, fun read with some definite sizzle, and you don't mind sex out of wedlock (a minus for me personally) these are for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Dallas finally found the love he always wanted Gillian at first he had wanted nothing to do with her because she was working on his land drilling for for oil companies she worked for.But things got contemplated and he wanted her but wouldn't face the feeling he had for her and she was the same with him.But she started to have feelings for him but at the same time he couldn't let her in his life.But at the festival carnival he talked to her and ask her if they could call it a truce and she said yes.This love story is amazing and it has its up and downs and I love reading this book.From Ruby Miller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Dallas has reason not to trust women, but watching him fight his attraction for Gillian was priceless! What a heart stopping cowboy he is, whew (can we say HOT). I read the first book, The Doctor Wears A Stetson, and fell in love with all the characters, so needless to say I was anxious to read the next book about the older brother, Dallas. I was not disappointed.
If you're looking for the raunchy exotica type book, this is not it. It's more about the romance, the building of a relationship while overcoming past hurts, and learning to trust in love again. What a great book. I definitely recommend it to anyone who truly enjoys a great love story. Build a fire, grab a class of wine, curl up, and enjoy. You're going to be there awhile.
I gave it four stars because I felt Gillian should have held out longer and not been so quick to forgive the way Dallas treated her. I understand sexual attraction, but come on, sometimes a lady needs to demand more respect. That's my only beef! Other than that, WOW!

P.S. Never judge a book by it's price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2013
THE COWBOY'S SURRENDER by Anne Marie Novark.

There's some good lust. I have no complaints.

Dallas is a cattle rancher (the cowboy). His relative sold rights for drilling on the family land to an oil company. Dallas hates having the oil company on his land. When he first meets Gillian he dislikes her because she works for the oil company. He is rude and insulting. Someone is sabotaging the oil project and Gillian suspects Dallas may be behind it. In spite of their distrust and dislike, they are having a hard time controlling their lust for each other. Lust eventually wins. Both characters were hurt from past relationships which adds to their reluctance.

DATA:
Narrative mode: 3rd person. Kindle count length: 6,660 (438 KB). Swearing language: mild. Sexual language: mild to none. Number of sex scenes: 2 ½. Setting: current day Texas with a little California. Copyright: 2010. Genre: contemporary romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2013
Dallas McCade is frustrated and angry because the Copper River Oil Co. is drilling for oil on his ranch. He had his hands tied though because he didn't own mineral rights on that part of the land, so he just watched and raged from a distance. The oil company sent out a new representative from California, Gillian Bankston, which further irritated Dallas. They meet when Gillian's car gets a flat tire and Dallas grudgingly helps her change the tire. Dallas continues his surveillance of the site and finds himself looking for Gillian. He would like to deny the fact that there is an attraction there. Meanwhile, Gillian is dealing with someone who is attempting to sabotage the well site, of course Dallas's name comes up since there is no secret of how he feels about the well. Another steamy, sensual, erotic story by A.N.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse