Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 390 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 434 reviews
on December 23, 2013
So rating this was hard to give an accurate star-rating. It came in the original packaging (like the light, cardboard package the guitar was in) and nothing more! I was shocked that the thing wasn't damaged in shipping considering there was NO protection for it at all. The company literally slapped the shipping label over the original box. Very weird!
The neck is made of that cheap, compressed sawdust (sorry don't know the technical term...) The tuning keys are loose and there is no way to realistically tighten them into the neck so as to tune the strings. The neck paint job had minor cracks in it. The nut had completely come unglued and was hanging literally by the strings (this was easily reglued). However, the strings are actually real (as in, not plastic.) Overall, THIS IS MOST DEFINITELY A TOY!! And a cheap, borderline damaged one at that.
I would have given this a single star except for the fact that I only pain $6 for it. It's worth that, but not a cent more. It was purchased as a toy for my toddler who is in absolute love with it. So it was worth the money, but as I say, I would have immediately wanted a refund if I had even paid $10. Guess I got lucky??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
Do not buy this ......its not worth the money.....it suck and it came late!!! Work job was really bad in making this product!!!...it's not worth as a toy either...will be returning back and I'll just get a real one on my trip to Mexico ...:) I would give it a no star at all...
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
My 20 month old son loves guitars. We bought a super cute Hape ukulele for him that he loved strumming and singing out loud, but we found out it had loose screw that would not stay in, so we had to return it. Gave this 6-strings toy guitar a try, thinking for a 20 month old he just enjoys "playing" with it, we were not expecting him to learn to play guitar on this. So that's our expectations.
The instrument arrived in a flimsier box (than the Hape), and the finish is far from the shiny, glossy paint job on the Hape. But hey, he is only 20 months old and he enjoys the sounds he makes when he hits the strings. It takes a lot of beating, being dragged around the house, brought to an outdoor concert so he could play watching the band playing live, being sit on, tripped over on.....two months out, the strings hold, and he plays with it every single day. The instrument is poorly constructed as a "musical instrument", a couple reviewers actually did some impressive work to make theirs good enough to play music. I did nothing but tuning it the best I could (it does not hold the tunes very well), it sounds decent enough, just can't really play chords with the frets so oddly spaced. Overall it serves as a toy for our little boy to make his own music, that is good enough. When he gets older we will look into another Hape or Hohner for a change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
Great little guitar for any little boy or girl. It really is a nice guitar. My son was able to tune it correctly for his little sister. She loves this guitar. She got it for a birthday gift. High quality item because usually you can not tune them correctly and this one you can.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
I AM AN EXPERIENCE GUITAR PLAYER --- THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS GUITAR

-do NOT buy this guitar if you are even a little serious about playing or learning guitar.
-I only would give this to a very little kid to just throw around and pretend they are playing........even then you can spend a little more and get something more "decent"

-do NOT waist your money.

-Even if you have the experience to do a setup on this guitar youself, its a waist of time and energy.
its junk.
.......please don't waist your time and money...I'm just trying to tell you the 100% truth.

-WHAT ABOUT THE POSITIVE VIDEO REVIEW ON THE MAIN PAGE????
-He put some work into it and made it a little better......I"m sorry but its still worse than a junk guitar.
the heads do not hold.......yes I've tightened, messed with them...ect...it NEEDS new heads........thats another $30.......which you could have just bought a MUCH better guitar now if you spend that money on heads.
the fretboard is one of the worst I have seen....and some with the bridge.
it really fails on the bridge.......and VERY unreliable system.
this adds up to everything you DON'T want in a guitar...this one has it.
-You're better off buying a $40 lanikai ukulele.....quality is farrr better than this.

EXPERIENCE: Worked at a guitar store ----played guitar for 10 Years - ----- Owned 15 guitars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
UPDATE TO ORIGINAL ONE STAR: WE were sent a 2nd guitar to replace the one that broke and our younger son actually broke it, BUT that was completely his fault. we attached a bracket to the back of the one that had broken and used some wood glue to fix it and it has held up wonderfully. We can tighten the strings and its fine. Our 4 year old plays this guitar every single day and loves it :) We appreciate the good customer service to make up for what happened and it is still a very "cheap" wood but its also inexpensive SO plan to strengthen that neck a bit and you should love this like we do!!! :)

ORIGINAL POST:
SO UPSET.... I wanted to love this guitar, it was SO cute, the strings were better quality than expected, my son was over the roof excited.... after tuning the guitar (as instructions said and not too tight), the neck started to crack and broke from the little bit of tension from the strings. We are headed to the toy store to buy a new guitar asap because my 2 year old LOVED this and is so upset that it is broken. I am super bummed. It's absolutely adorable but even for the $22, the quality wasn't worth it, more like something I would pay $5 for in Mexico.... :(
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
I bought this guitar for my daughter's upcoming second birthday. We have not given it to her yet but I have no doubt she will be thrilled as she's been asking for a pink guitar for months.
When I first found this guitar it was listed for almost $30. I checked the listing a few times a day and eventually the price dropped dramatically. I got it for $17 including shipping and I think that was a fair price. It arrived within the time frame amazon said it would also.
The guitar itself is tiny (23") but for a two year old it's perfect. It is VERY pink, but in this case that's a good thing. It arrived safely in it's box free of any damage. The strings are all there and work alright. It is not in tune, though you could attempt to tune it, but that's not terribly important to me. It's just a toy until she's older.
My only complaint is the smell. I had read other reviews before purchasing so I was aware this might be a problem, but when it arrived it stunk to high heaven of spray paint. I just took it out of the box to air it out and that seems to have helped. Just be forewarned, this toy needs to off-gas.
If your toddler is already shredding like she's in a metal band, this is not the guitar for you. But for a cute toy this one is pretty adorable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
The only reason this got 1 star is because it arrived on time. This is so cheaply made. The outer covering started peeling at the neck. The neck is still attached but is hanging onto the stripped off part. My son was not rough with it at all. In fact, he babied it because he wanted one for so long. Of course, we missed the return date because we purchased it as a present and hid it for 3 weeks. Total piece of junk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
Well, for $20, I thought this was a good deal. It has real steel strings and comes with an oversized pick (for small fingers) and an extra replacement string. This extra string was used the first day, as a string broke when I tightened the tuning knob. I advise against tightening the knobs more than a touch!

Other than that, the finish is good-looking and I know my 2 year-old nephew will love it because it looks just like mine which he wants to play all the time (but is too expensive to let him play, tho)!! Of course, after playing with his own guitar, he wanted to switch and play mine again. I told him that's why I bought him a guitar. He seemed happy with it and carried the guitar around with him all evening and even brought the pick with him to the dinner table.

A major problem, as others have mentioned, is that the knobs to tighten the string won't stay in place (they're not tightly set in the hole) when you try to tune it. Don't tighten too much! I think there's a sticker on there that warns against trying to tighten the knobs much, so follow those instructions! Of course, it makes the chords printed on the back of the box odd because you couldn't really play chords on this toy anyway. I might actually use it for my own playing, tho, because it lists the chords in different keys. However, it suits our purposes and he gets to strum on something no matter what notes it's playing; he can even beat it up if he likes or pound it without me tearing my hair out. So, we're both happy!

It's really pretty, too, in my opinion. And, I got the color and style noted in the ad, versus what some other sellers are sending out: "color varies." Nah, I'm too picky for that. I read all the reviews and compared similar products and sellers and got exactly what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
I don't ever leave reviews, but this is so bad I feel there should be some buyer beware. This is a VERY cheaply made guitar. A deal to good is too good to be true. Don't buy this unless it's only for display purposes. I bought this for my 6 year old daughter & even she can hear the lack of sound quality. The strings are flimsy & one snapped as soon as I went to tune it. The others cannot hold tension to maintain proper tune. It's absolute garbage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse