Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on November 7, 2009
I can't think of anything negative to say about this product. I did a lot of research on Oral-B's products as compared to Sonicare before buying this unit, and I'm happy as heck with the choice I made. It's easy to use, easy to keep clean, very well constructed and is a very effective oral hygiene tool. Also, since my bathroom is small, I really appreciate the small footprint of the recharging base.

When I was making the decision to buy this model, I went back and forth as to whether to go with the SmartSeries 5000 with its separate "Smart Guide," (as opposed to the only slightly-cheaper 4000) but I'm glad I opted to pay the extra money for this additional gizmo. Aside from the fact that it doubles as an unobtrusive bathroom clock, I actually find that the visual guidance on brushing times, brushing mode, and brushing pressure help me to use this product to its full potential. Also, in case you were wondering, the cheaper AA-powered brushes you can get for a tenth of the price of this product simply DO NOT COMPARE.

UPDATE as of September 16, 2014: I am still using this product, and have had absolutely no problem with it.

UPDATE as of December 8, 2015: The poor thing finally gave up the ghost. Still, it had a good run. I'm buying a more current model.
1313 comments| 716 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2015
Buyer beware.

I should preface this by noting that I actually really like the brush. Teeth feel great, easy to use, very handy timer. There are 5 modes, though truthfully I keep it on the default first mode. I should also note that when I purchased the brush Nov. 6, 2014, the box said oral B professional but the actual toothbrush body is labeled triumph. Other reviewers mention this as well. I kept the brush despite this because, whatever. It's probably essentially the same brush.

Back to the buyer beware part. A year after purchasing and continual use, my brush seems to hold a charge for roughly 4-5 days of regular use and not the 10-12 days it started with. I have no problem with this as that's to be expected of any battery. What IS an issue, however, is that roughly 9 months after initial use my brush started to randomly slow down to nearly stopped, then speed up to crazy fast, then die. My brushing routine became A)turn on brush, B) brush for ~15 sec, C) brush dies, D) hit power, get no response X4, E) go to step A, X number of times. Exhausting. Fast forward to just past a year of ownership and the brush no longer vibrates. It turns on and battery shows full charge, but the brush won't move. Lazy brush.

So beware. When it works it's great, don't get me wrong, but for $100 I expect you to last for more than a year. Waste of money, and certainly not what I expected from oral b.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2013
I do a lot of research before buying electronics. I like having the best electric shaver and best electric toothbrush that is out at the moment. As for electric shaver i am very happy with BRAUN series 7 and this is also made by BRAUN. I actually did not know that when i purchased this. To be fair to other brands, i have tried Philips Sonicare HX9110/02 before purchasing this. Based on the review the new sonicare diamon clean is not that great either.
My research for the perfect toothbrush was done online and i have gotten suggestions from two dentists.

The sonicare is a very good toothbrush, this is just a little better. So if you already have the sonicare, then there is no reason to upgrade unless you want something a little better. But if you are a new buyer, then i would suggest to get this, not to mention it is cheaper and the brush heads costs less.

I enjoyed the sonicare but the oral b proves better results. The power of both brush is similar and the difference is the brush heads. The oral b brush heads are better becasue they clean better. I love the floss action one, it helps a lot. The sonicare brush head made my gums bleed every once in a while but the oral b is much more gentler on my gums while cleaning better. The battery life does not matter to me but they both have great battery life. This is currenlty the best model of oral b and it works great. I also love the wireless screen that it comes with, it actually motivates you to brush for a longer period of time. Also oral b has much more choices in brush heads.

Braun products are made in germany and they are built to last, i had a braun shaver that lasted me 4 years and it still works but it was time to upgrade. This is a great toothbrush that simply works and keeps my teeth clean.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon November 1, 2016
This is similar to what Oral-B had been making for years. It works well and might have been worthy of an extra star, except it's supposed to be designed for travel. It comes with a travel case and a charger, but the charger is no longer designed for universal voltage or use outside of the US.

Although it's a step down from older models, it's a step up from newer models since it still has an external display. Newer ones allow you to sync the device with a single smart phone. Aside from the fact that I'd find it objectionable that I'd have to take the phone to the bathroom with me, it's designed with interchangeable brush heads, with room for four of them. This model will continue to have a useful display, while the newer one will work for only one of the users. Of course, you could always buy one of the newer ones and then agree to lend/borrow somebody's phone when it comes time to brush teeth.

The bottom line is that if you have no plans to travel, this is the one to get. Avoid the newer model.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2017
I bought this in 2011 and was (and still is) my first and only electronic tooth brush. Immediately after first using it, the sensation is a bit strange on your teeth/gums but your teeth will feel cleaner than a standard tooth brush. There have been times I've taken just the brush w/out the base charger on a week long + trip and the battery finally dies down, and have had to resort to manual brushing. I immediately then miss the cleaning action of the brush when it is charged and look forward to having it charged again. For a six year investment and still using it, I would say it has been great. I've used all the brush heads that Oral-B makes, and the 'floss action' is my favorite. It offers a good mix of brush stiffness (vs being too soft or hard) and leaves my teeth polished and clean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on October 3, 2015
Replaced my old 5000 with a new one, expecting it to be the same or better. But apparently Braun decided to remove the auto-ranging power supply, so I couldn't charge it while I was in Europe for 10 days like I used to.

If you never travel internationally, it's a 5-star product. But if you do, beware, you'll be brushing your teeth manually when the battery runs out.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2014
I've only had the Oral-b electric toothbrush for a little over a week, but I can tell right away that it cleans my teeth better than the Philips Sonicare. I've used the Philips for about three years and although it did a pretty good job, I've always noticed some plaque buildup at the gum line. My Phillips is still going strong but I thought it was time to try the Oral B with its rotary brushing action. After two sessions with the Oral-B, the noticeable buildup were gone.
A couple of minor gripes compared to the Phillips:
- the brush itself and the heads are noticeable bulkier and it is a challenge to reach into tight spaces.
-Noise- It is a good 30% noisier.
-Battery charging. This is my biggest concern at the moment. The manual states that it might take 24 hours to fully charge.
I didn't think it would really take that long, but after letting it drain down, it really did take a full 24 hours to charge.
It also does not last between charges quite that long either.
My guess is that the connectivity to the external display might drain the battery a bit faster than the Phillips.
I hope the battery life would last a few years, as my Philips.
Overall, the toothbrush seems to excel at what its primary purpose is- clean teeth, and it is now my primary choice for brushing.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2015
I was not sure about the "floss" ability, but it really feels like I just walked out from my dental cleaning.

The charger combines with a container for brushes which gives the combination a nice look and makes it stable enough to be placed on the vanity.
Its wireless control display takes two AAA batteries and shows the current brush-program as well as the time elapsed while brushing or just the time
when not in use. The display can be mounted on a flat surface if one wants the display installed vertically on a wall or mirror (it can easily be removed if you plan on traveling with it or for battery replacement).
The travel container (in blue) is nothing fancy but houses the "handheld" and two brushes nicely.

%
Initially after putting it on the charger nothing happened, no lights came on.
No reason to worry, it will take up to 15 minutes to show "charging". The initial charge really took the indicated 24 hours.
The manual is not too extensive but one can figure things out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2015
This was the first electric toothbrush that I tried, and it has remained my favorite. Five thumbs up.

There are a lot of features on these product pages, but at the end of the day here's what ended up mattering for me:

Realistic Daily Operation: Once it is all set up (not much to the setup), all you have to do is pick it up off the charger stand, apply toothpaste, PUT THE TOOTHBRUSH IN YOUR MOUTH BEFORE TURNING IT ON, turn it on, and rub it against your teeth. I usually look at the little wireless LED screen while I brush, it will make a frowny face if you brush with too much pressure, it also shows a timer and beeps at you when it's time to move to the next section of your teeth. After I've finished brushing my teeth, I usually just move straight to brushing my tongue. Afterwards my teeth/tongue feel a lot cleaner than the ever did with manual brushing. Rinse off the toothbrush in the sink, put it back on the charger, and gaze at your sparkling teeth in the mirror.

There are a pile of other features available too, I just never really find myself using them. (eg: a gentle mode, a mode specialized for brushing your tongue, etc)

This toothbrush helped me realize that I apparently wasn't very good at manual brushing. After using this the first couple times I noticed that my teeth felt weird smooth (kind of like the day after getting your braces off). This makes me think that I had apparently gotten used to having a layer of gunk on my teeth all the time! I much prefer my new smooth and clean teeth. ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2016
I got this toothbrush upon the recommendation of my dentist, and after using it a couple of months, I *highly* recommend the Oral-B line of "pro" toothbrushes for everyone. The brushing action on these electric toothbrushes makes my teeth feel like they were just polished at the dentist, and does a far better job cleaning plaque than I ever did with a regular toothbrush.

For this model (Precision 5000), however, I'm not sure the extra features are worth the extra money over the more basic Pro 1000 model which I got for my wife. Basically, the extra features seem to be: a larger handle (probably with a larger battery) with nicer rubber grips, a button to select between 5 modes (polish, gum massage, etc.), a holder for 4 brushheads which attaches to your recharging stand, a bluetooth-connected clock/timer, a red light when you press too hard, and a plastic carrying case. I really haven't found much use for the additional modes, and I only use one brushhead at a time so the holder doesn't help me. The clock/timer is a nice bonus but it really isn't worth an extra $50 since the regular model also pauses every 30 seconds. The regular model will also notify you when you press too hard, just not with a cool red light. Honestly, the most helpful extra feature is the carrying case, which holds the brush handle and two brushheads, and that's a cheap (but nice and functional) piece of plastic. The extra-large battery may or may not be that useful to you; I've found I can go over a week on one full charge, which seems excessive but if you're going on a short trip that can be useful so you don't have to bring the charging base.

So in summary, I highly recommend their cheaper Pro1000 electric toothbrush; I got it for $35 here on Amazon. If you have extra money to burn and want some nice but not all-that-valuable extra features, this is great product too, but it's going to cost more than double. I got it for $75 with a Black Friday coupon, but it looks like it's going for $99 now.

My one real gripe with this product is the battery: it's a NiCd rechargeable, but they've made it so you can't easily replace it, and in fact they claim that the act of removing the battery (which they demand you do when you dispose of the product, so you don't put hazardous waste in the landfill) will destroy the device. However, there is a cottage industry of small websites selling replacement batteries for rechargeable toothbrushes, so it's quite likely someone has or will figure out how to replace these batteries when they get worn out so you don't have to buy a new toothbrush.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse