Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 596 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 654 reviews
on December 31, 2011
The title of my review pretty much sums it up. The story was not the best I've read, but it wasn't bad either. I would give it four stars based on the story alone. However, the other reviewer who mentioned that it is full of errors was not kidding. I wanted to get lost in the author's words, but I couldn't do so because of the numerous spelling and grammar errors and word omissions. I'm pretty forgiving of such errors when I read text on the Web, but when I settle down with a book to be entertained, I want to be immersed in the story and not be distracted by poor grammar or sloppy editing. That's why I'm docking one star from the four I would give it otherwise.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
I really liked 44. Jools Sinclair has a nice writing style. I am in my 40s, so I found the book a bit lacking in maturity. But since it is a YA novel, I will forgive that. It wasn't meant for my age group.

Abby has an accident, and lost some memories. The doctors tell her they will come back. She has lost her friends, her sister is worried about her, and her best friend, Jesse, seems to be keeping his distance. Abby notices things like Jesse cutting class, not caring about basketball anymore, and his father not talking to him.
One night Abby has a nightmare. She sees someone drowning. In the morning, the paper tells of a drowning. This happens a few times before Abby realizes she is connected to the murderer somehow.
There are a lot of twists to this story. All of them unexpected.

No matter what your age is, this is a fun and rewarding read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
I really liked this book. I have read some of the reviews and wonder if we read the same book. By the way, I am NOT a friend of the author, and I have never read anything written by this author before. If you've read some of the critical reviews then you know what other people don't like about it. Here's what I do like about it. It's different. I have never read anything like this before and I completed it in one afternoon. I liked an older sister who looked after her sibling and even listened to her and tried to help her. Contrary to all the brainiacs who knew how it would end from page one, I had no idea how it would end. The comment that one critic wrote -- that the injured girl should go over and talk to Amanda -- is ridiculous. I was involved in an accident nearly two years ago and it is disquieting to realize how fragile I have become as a result. I was contentious before, but now I run from trouble. And Amanda would have been trouble. I certainly would another book by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
This turned out to be a different psychological story dealing with a young girls dealing with her death - or better stated near-death experience after 44 minutes of being medically dead - and adjusting to the changes this experience caused within her former circle of friends. The young characters are well developed and are very credible as young people, dealing with all of the drama and conflicts of teen-aged years, but with an underlying and powerful story of how one deals with the near-death experience. Added to this mix is a revelation that the near-death experience opens up and new dimension into seeing visions. Her development of her character as she comes to grips with her experience and with her visions is very well done. Her boy friend is crucial in her healing process, which makes the conclusion of the story more powerful and bittersweet. There is an interesting question as to how she truly was revived and what the future consequences will be for her future. There are a number of threads left undeveloped, supporting the need to read the next story in the series to finish filing in the blanks so you can satisfy your curiosity about how the characters continue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2015
I started this book uncertain if I had read it already. It begins in prologue, then leads into a first person narrative that kind of catches you up. Much was familiar--the main character witnessed a murder, and she herself had experienced trauma. As I continued to read, I realized that it was the first time, as there were some unique elements. After coming back from the dead, Abby had no color vision, but gained some psychic powers. She was able to dream about events as they happened. Overall, not a bad plot, but it got dragged down by her relationship with her friends(or lack thereof), and stilted dialogue. Ultimately, the conclusion was pretty lame, and the author intentionally left it hanging so she could write more books. Does anyone write without wanting/expecting a series deal anymore?! This one didn't justify it, but somehow there are several more books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
I have to be honest I had the book sitting around for a long time I didn't want to read it it looked scary but it was free. The cover has since changed. The book so exceeded any expectations I have had. Truly it's about a girl who spent 44 minutes being dead before brought to life, when she starts having visions about a murderer going around town. the book takes two serious plot twists which I didn't see coming. I loved this book by the end and went out and looked that there is a whole series following this book. I already bought the second book and I'm sure I will purchase the rest when I can. I'm really glad I gave this book a chance and I'm really glad the cover changed because the first one is kinda off putting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
I really only downloaded this and a few other because they were free one day...up to 5 I believe is what I got. Anyways...I couldn't have been more wrong about the hesitation! I read this one in a day without a stop and couldn't wait to jump into the next one. the 2nd book isn't nearly as good as this one but with any series you have to add information, background etc. the first book gives you everything all at once in a non stop explosive way. I cant wait to read every other one in the series! thanks Jools! Hope you continue on and on with this or others in similarity!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
With as many books as I've read, it's really hard to surprise me but I was absolutely floored in this one! I thought I knew what was going to happen but I never expected the twist of the plot.

Abby Craig died in a frozen lake a year ago. Then, she was saved. Since then, her life has been different--she doesn't have all her memories, she can no longer see things in color and her former friends avoid her like the plague.

Except for Jesse. Jesse is still her best friend.

Except now Abby wants more than a friendship. And, Jesse doesn't.

Abby can handle all that drama but what's she really having trouble with is the visions of a serial killer that keep flashing in her mind. When her visions start coming true, Abby knows she has to act before anyone else is killed. But, how do you catch a killer you can only see in your dreams?

I loved this first book in the series and cannot wait to read the others. The plot was full of twists and turns and I had a hard time putting the book down until I finished it. It had the perfect amount of drama, romance and creepy--not too much on any one side and just enough of all three to keep it interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
Let me start off by saying that it isnt often that a book catches me by surprise. I wasnt sure what to expect going into this, but I really enjoyed it! I couldnt put it down! You instantly bond with the characters and feel what each person feels through the great writing of (Ms.?) Sinclair. Through the entire book, I attempted to figure out the deeper meaning to the writing, only to be caught off guard in the end, broken hearted and crying. Loved it! I will definately be moving on to book two asap!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2011
44 minutes. Imagine being dead for that long, and coming back to life. Imagine you can't see colors anymore, and almost everyone is different to you. Oh, and you have serious memory gaps.

Then imagine that you start dreaming about murders.

That's the basis of 44, and it's pretty well done. I missed on guessing the killer, but I'm not the best at that. I didn't see the ending plot twist come either, but it works for me. A well done book with a good premise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse