Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,399 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,739 reviews
on April 20, 2012
UPDATE 5/2014: After two years of use, the power button on the handle had become so unresponsive to operate, that it required a very forceful two-thumb push to turn on my toothbrush. I contacted Philips via their website, using their online assistant, and a replacement handle was shipped to me the same day. I simply had to return mine in the same box as the replacement, and Philips paid the return shipping. How easy was that?! My two year warranty had actually expired one month prior (isn't that always the way it goes?) but it turns out that because I registered my toothbrush--which I didn't even remember doing--the warranty got extended by an additional six months. Great customer service, Philips!

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Funny, i don't remember reading that Jonny Ive was moonlighting over at Philips. But this is their second new dental product in a row--the first being the AirFloss--that might lead you to think that Sonicare design was now being done by Apple. And I mean that in the most complimentary way. This is, without question, the most modern and elegantly designed electric toothbrush on the market today, and I can only compare holding it to the feeling you get when you hold an Apple product. But is it worth the premium price being charged for it?

THE ANSWER IS YES, IF...

1) You have money to splurge a bit and value great design very highly. The ceramic feel of the power handle (though not actually ceramic), the hidden areas that illuminate to indicate mode and battery status, the brilliance of a travel case that both closes magnetically and charges the power handle via USB cable from your computer or the included USB power adapter--the whole package has just been thought through with incredible attention to detail. There's even an alternative to the one feature I didn't like, which was the charging glass--it looked too big and clunky in photos, which is exactly how it looks when you actually see it. Plus, do we really need to mimic the old, unsanitary practice of standing wet toothbrushes up in a glass to store them? Fortunately, there's a much smaller and more elegant charging stand included that can be used instead of the glass. You never see that in photos of this toothbrush, and I was very pleased.

2) You don't care if the premium price buys you no functional or performance advantage of any type over cheaper models in the Sonicare line. You know you're paying for the design, and you're fine with it. (Yes, I agree that the DiamondClean brush heads ARE a notable improvement, but they can be used on other, less expensive Sonicare models. See below.)

THE ANSWER IS NO, IF...

1) You expect a premium price to buy you better functionality and performance over less expensive models. The DiamondClean toothbrush doesn't, trust me. Ignore most of the five star review hype that you read about this brush ("Cleanest Teeth EVER!") and focus on these facts:

a) The power handle, which is the heart of any electric toothbrush, is just the FlexCare+ handle with a different skin on it. Specs are identical and--if you go to a store and hold them side by side--you'll see that size, shape and weight are the same. Only the elegant, ceramic-like skin on the DiamondClean model, with it's hidden lights, is different.

b) While the DiamondClean brushes DO clean somewhat better than older Sonicare brush heads, you can use DiamondClean brushes on some of the older, cheaper Sonicare models like FlexCare. Since the power handles are essentially no different, the cleaning you get will be the same.

2) It drives you crazy to pay more and actually get less for your money. As others have pointed out, the DiamondClean doesn't have the UV sanitizer of the less expensive FlexCare models. And I just saw a Costco special that included two Sonicare power handles, two chargers, two travel cases, plus four brush heads that included two DiamondClean ones... all for $120.

3) Design just isn't that important to you.

The value of great design is very much a personal decision. While I decided that the DiamondClean was worth it for me, it might not be for you, depending on your priorities. But either way, I thank you for taking the time to read my review. and I hope you found it "helpful" in making your purchasing decision!

UPDATES: The longer you use a product, the better you get to know it. The section below contains more on the pros and cons I've experienced since I wrote the above review after extended use of the DiamondClean:

PROS: 1) The ceramic-like power handle, which I thought might get slippery during usage when wet, actually maintains a nice grip to it.

CONS: 1) No vent holes in the travel case, made worse by its form-fitting plastic interior. So if you pack the brush head while damp--which often happens when traveling--it stays damp, in a dark, tightly enclosed space--the perfect conditions for promoting bacteria and mold growth. 2) When a second family member recently joined me in using the DiamondClean, I suddenly realized that there's no storage for multiple brush heads. (Except in the travel case.) Plus, there's no system for color-coding the heads for different family members. Bottom line: you have to store multiple brush heads in a medicine cabinet or elsewhere and somehow color code them yourself.
5150+ comments| 1,575 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2015
I really really love this toothbrush, I bought one each for myself and my husband. I've had it for over a month, and this morning I saw the upper part BURNED!!! I wasn't charging it, it was just on the table. I'm so afraid now what if it caused a fire while we were asleep. I'm grateful for Amazon for having me return it with full refund despite it's been out of the returning window. But for Sonicare, please investigate this. This is not safe!!!
review image
11 comment| 306 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2016
This is the 3rd time I purchased this toothbrush since each one has stopped working after about 2 years (after the warranty period expired). When the toothbrush works, it's one of the best looking and working electric toothbrushes you can buy. But for some reason, Philips did not do a good job in making it last longer. In between the two-year warranty period, I have had the toothbrush replaced at least 3 times. I wish it would last longer, but I keep on buying it since it keeps my teeth very clean. Just something to keep in mind when buying this toothbrush.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Love it!!
review image
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
My first foray into electric tooth brushes and at the price likely to be my only. With no other electric brush to compare against I can't say how it stacks up. I can say it is easy to use, not overly loud, and the end result is impressive. Compared to normal manual brushing I was doing before I have noticed my teeth look and feel cleaner with this brush, using the same tooth paste. As far as the package is concerned I do like the included travel case and the wireless charging. Whether in the travel case or in the cup on the charge base it's very easy to simply drop the brush handle into either one and let it charge. Battery life appears to be good as well. Again I have nothing to compare to, but I've gone 2 weeks between placing it on the charger and never had an issue. It would seem that a fresh charge before most vacations or business trips is sufficient to get through the trip without it going dead. If it does die you have the travel case / charger. Use a USB cable and plug it into your computer or your phone's wall charger and off you go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2015
I purchased this recently and I have always used Philips sonicare electric toothbrushes but this is by far the best one ever, I also professionally bleach my teeth and this toothbrush is amazing, cleans, polishes, whiteness unbelievable, truly a great investment for excellent cleaning and overall hygiene for your teeth.
review image
11 comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2015
TLDR: product has a defect preventing proper seal between head and base causing mold issues as seen on previous models.

The factory line for this model must have had a problem because the part attaching to the head is misplaced as seen in the picture. The reason this is a problem is because unless you actively clean and dry the base and head seperately if water drips into the space up from under the head it can get trapped and grow mold. See reviews for the hx5351.

I went to target to buy another one and confirmed they are both like this. I also have the pink one and this is not how it should be. Also look at the picture on the packaging.
review image review image
22 comments| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
I've used Sonicare toothbrushes since the original model with the screw-on brush head. While better than a manual brush. I feel like they could be so much better. Sonicare brushes, and this brush is no exception, isn't as good at removing stains as touted, and the implication that it can clean in between teeth because it sends "sonic waves of cleaning" doesn't hold true. You're not getting rid of the floss anytime soon.

A few things to know:
- It takes more than 12 hours to fully charge the brush when it's depleted. This just seems crazy to me--it should charge overnight and be fully charged for the next use. This problem has been in every Sonicare toothbrush I've used.
- It tends lose strength as the battery gets below 50-75%. So it's just not doing as good a job unless it's freshly been charged even though it touts a long time in between charges.
- This particular model puts the modes and the power on the same button. If you click the button within 6 seconds of turning the brush on, it will switch between cleaning modes. Since I regularly turn the brush on and run it under water after brushing to clean the brush, if I don't wait the right number of seconds, I have to push the button 5 more times to cycle through the modes to turn the brush off. Older models had separate buttons for power and mode, and I find that design preferable.
- The heads that come with this brush don't have interchangeable color rings so it's hard to keep track... is this my brush head or my wife's?
- You can use the heads from the Pro Results line as well as far as I can tell. I'm not sure whether there's any substantive difference between the two head types.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
Short: Buy a FlexCare or EasyClean instead. You'll save yourself over $100 and have a better tool.

To use this toothbrush you must turn it on while it is in your mouth (this is what the picture instructions indicate too) or the toothpaste falls off. To find out which of the programs you've selected, you have to read the little words on the handle that light up. That writing is tiny, it's about four inches from your eyes and it is at an angle; it's very hard to read. I have to guess based on the approximate shape of the blur. Happily the program I use first has two words in it so I can make out the space in the middle; but it's really hard after that to read "White" and distinguish it from the other words.

The problem is that there's only one button to do two things: on/off and program select. The FlexCare has two buttons and I loved mine but I wanted the "White" program - which means that after I squint at the lights to brush my teeth I have to squint again to whiten them. I can't even learn how many times to press the button and just count because it depends on how long it is since it stopped *and* the button doesn't always depress properly; so I have to squint at the lights under my nose. When I put it under the faucet to rinse it, I have to press the button five times to turn it on and off. It doesn't take all that long but it's awfully annoying. I suppose that if you use a car that takes two or three or four attempts to start in the morning then this may be the tooth brush for you - although you might prefer to spend the extra $100 on a mechanic.

* If you want only one program, buy the (much cheaper) brush with only one program; you can still use the "diamond" heads if you want to.
* If you want gum care, buy the FlexCare. It has two buttons and it's half the price.
* If you want the whitening program... well, you're stuck with this one.

Perhaps a magnifying mirror would help, or you could color in the lights for the program you want so they're easier to distinguish. That'd look nasty, but since the design seems to be all about appearance and not usability, it feels somehow appropriate to deface it in order to make it work. Yes, I'm a bit bitter about it. Very disappointed with the design. If the packaging hadn't been plastered with design awards I'd have given it an extra star but Philips seem to think the design is important so it deserves to be penalized.

To be clear on the *function* though: The thing works well as do the others in the Sonicare line-up. This is a review for the DiamondClean version, not the whole Sonicare line. My dental hygienist says that my gums and teeth have improved tremendously over the years I've been using Sonicare brushes and I wouldn't use anything else.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
A nice, thorough, effortless way to get those teeth clean. It has many modes, and a built in timer. It has four alerts that remind you to switch mouth quadrants, and an automatic shut off. The charge lasts a reasonable amount of time. I particularly like the provided glass that both holds, and charges the toothbrush. When traveling, it has a great pod shaped case, with a charging port built in.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse