Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mass Revision - How the Liturgy Is Changing and What It Means for You
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
5 star
91%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
9%
1 star
0%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 23, 2011
Thank you Mr. Akin. I really enjoy this book. I received it today (7/23/11)from "Catholic Answers." It is easy to read and spoken in plain language. No confusion after reading and it has put my fears to rest of why the Mass needs revision. I am having trouble locating more paperback copies for purchase. I need to send a copy to various family members who are fearful about this coming change. I would also like to send this book to my surrounding parish priests, so I know-they know, and they know, we know. Love the directness in "Liturgical Postures and Actions" and the section on "Grave Matters." There are certainly a few inconsistancies practiced in Missoula, Montana! Hopefully everything will be rectified ASAP, if they want to be correct. Get the book if you can, it is what you are looking for.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 4, 2011
Jimmy Akin's blog is one that I have long counted on for straight answers about Church teachings when I couldn't easily find the answer elsewhere. Soon after I entered the Church, the U.S. bishops issued a General Instruction of the Roman Missal (GIRM), designed to set up norms of worship around the U.S. The actual result was hotly disputed issues about things like taking communion on the tongue or in the hand, taking communion kneeling or standing, and having to stand and sing after communion instead of being allowed to kneel and pray. I always appreciated Akin's straight forward answers, supported by canon law, Church teachings, and other documentation. I never read it, but I knew that Akin even wrote a book, Mass Confusion, to instruct laypeople about liturgical law so they could see for themselves what was allowed and what wasn't.

Over time those questions seem to have have settled down. However, with the upcoming changes to the liturgy there is great potential for people to resent the revised liturgy replacing the one they love. My interest was piqued when I saw that Akin has a new book covering the changes, Mass Revision: How the Liturgy is Changing and What It Means for You.

It turns out that Mass Revision is a hugely revised version of Akin's previous book, Mass Confusion, but now focused more on the liturgical revisions than on abuses. I worried that the tone of the book might be strident, considering the previous focus on abuses, but nothing could be further from the case.

Akin calmly and clearly takes readers through the Mass step by step, detailing on the way where changes are being made and the logic behind them. I was pleased to see that his commentary actually serves as a thread binding together excerpts from various Church documents which are the genesis for the liturgical instructions. It was fascinating to see how many documents supported each other each step of the way. Also, in reading the actual excerpts I was often touched by the care shown to the faithful, the reverence for the Eucharist, and the practicality of the result.

Akin's comments serve as a guide, clarify possibly contentious points, and also give us helpful reasons as to why something may be misunderstood.

The copious bonus materials comprise the final hundred pages of the book and cover everything from the Outline of the Mass to Low-Gluten Hosts and Mustum to Table of Postures During Mass. This is going to be my go-to resource when a specific question comes up for clarification.

The promotional materials and the back of the book seem to focus on liturgical abuse before pointing out that Mass Revisions above all describes and clarifies the liturgical revisions. I know this may be Akin's reputation but don't allow it to put you off as it almost did me. This book really does exactly what the subtitle says: how the liturgy is changing and what it means for you.

Get yourself a copy. You won't be sorry.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2011
This is another great book by Jimmy Akin. His first book on the Mass (Mass Confusion) was also a great resource. What I liked best is the section on Liturgical Abuses. This is a quick reference section that refers the reader not only to the Church document that addresses the issue but also the page number in the book. The changes in the liturgy are addressed and great detail is given as to why and what it means to those attending Mass beginning the First Sunday of Advent. This book clearly defines the role of the Ordained and the role of the Faithful. The book is written for the average Catholic to understand even though it is loaded with citations from Church documents. I can't recommend this book enough! I plan to purchase another copy - one to keep and one to give away!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
OK, the liturgy has changed... again. But this time for the better. Akin nails the changes - and the 'why's' of the changes in this book. Great for any Catholic having trouble with the new Creed, Gloria, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
I bought this book for some specific factual information. I expected it to be a type of reference book. And it is but it is very readable, well-written and most enjoyable. I found I couldn't put it down. There is nothing radical here, just the mass and what it is. There is an obvious need in the American Catholic world to become familiar with it. The author has done an extraordinarilyy fine job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
This book explains everything about the holy Mass. From preparing for Mass to the very end of the Mass. Reading this will help you understand why things are being done the way they are. Also, if you have a question in your mind if there is anything being done during holy Mass that might be a liturgical abuse, this book will have the answer. I bought this and I bought one from the United States Bishop also. You won't regret purchasing this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
Excellent book for those who want to be informed of the rules and procedures how the Mass need to be celebrated, from the Pope to the person seating on the pew. I have learned lots of things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
"Mass Revision" is a current statement of the liturgical foundation of the Roman Catholic Mass. Historical background is provided. It is wonderful source of information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
Easy to understand and very thorough. He makes it all very clear and cites the CCC and papal writings frequently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
A good reference to make sure I'm participating well in the order of the Holy Mass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse