Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Ozeri 3x Tower Fan (44") with Passive Noise Reduction Technology
Color: Black With Chrome Accent|Change
Price:$93.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 24, 2016
I purchased a couple other fans until I found this fan and honestly, it's the best bang for your buck. You may be wondering why I only give it 1 star though? And why I no longer purchase Ozeri products? Read below for my honest review.

Pros:
-3 Speed settings: 1) Breezy 2) Heavy Wind 3)Blow your head off
-Setting 1 is Quiet enough that it's comfortable when trying to sleep
-Heavy glass base: Sturdy enough to keep the fan upright
-Stylish: This is a good looking fan, so props for doing well on that!
-Controls: You have a lot of options with this fan, many timer delays, it oscillates, and even a couple modes just for when you sleep or need it soft
-Remote: All the functions can be set on the fan itself or on the small remote control

Cons:
-Only a 1 year warranty: It seems well made, but the top fan (of the 3) stopped working conveniently right after I had it for 1 year. Yes, most other fans on the market including Lasko only have a 1 year warranty, but if you have a quality product, why not back it with something that's at least 2 years. I don't want to spend $100 every year replacing my fan. I want a quality product that's going to last!
-Customer Service wasn't helpful: They had me jump through so many hoops through email and we kept going back and forth that I simply gave up and said "screw this, I'm done". Is that how they want to keep customers coming back for more? I probably would have purchased more fans for other parts of the house, but their poor customer service ruined that for me.
-The tube from the base of the stand to the stand itself needs to be metal and not plastic. I feel like using plastic for this part is the cheaper option. If you have kids running around and they accidentally knock the fan over, this will break. This happened in my home and it didn't completely break apart, but it did cause the fan to be wobbly at the joint after that. Which totally sucks! Those round metal fans I used to use and even the Lasko fan I use now fall over and nothing happens at all. Totally fine. So if this gets knocked over once, say goodbye as it's bound to break.
-There's a blue light near the base that remains on when the fan is turned on. I'd make an option to either turn it off or get rid of it all together.
66 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2017
I live in the desert, and it is already unreasonably warm in February. Our old bedroom tower fan fell victim to our puppy who decided to chew through the wire, so we picked up a Honeywell Quiet Set at Walmart. The new generation of them is absolutely terrible. Decided to take a chance on this and I am so glad we did.

As many other reviewers have noted, the glass base is a gorgeous touch. The weight of it seems to stabilize the unit as well. I'm in love with the little palm tree setting, which gives you the same feel as a beachy breeze, alternating speeds and gusts and occasionally stopping altogether for a moment. So much better for sleep than an oscillating fan.

The POWER on this sucker is fantastic. We have learned it's unwise to fall asleep with it on high or we will wake up cold (fortunately there's a sleep mode that reduces power after half an hour!). I've only had it less than a week so I'll update if we end up having any issues with it, but it completely meets our needs and I absolutely adore it. I already bought a second one for my mom.

EDIT 11/3/17: I wanted to keep loving this fan, but within 2 months of buying it, something happened to the stand and it no longer stands up straight. It bows severely to one (or any) side. I have seen other reviews mentioning this issue. It's a fantastic fan but there are some problems with the construction. Unfortunately because of this issue, I'm knocking it down to 2 stars. If anyone has found a way to fix this stand, let me know.

EDIT AGAIN 1/14/18: My husband found that when he flipped it over he was able to tighten a screw and the base is as good as new. Back up to 4 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2012
Update

I have wooden floors and the glass base gives out vibrations that you can feel on the floors. This is especially the case on the highest speed setting. I had previously tolerated this but the neighbor who lives on the floor below has started complaining. I don't know if this is just an issue with my fan.

Previous Review:

Ozeri makes two different and stylish tower fans, the "Ozeri 3X", and the "Ozeri Ultra".

I purchased both the Ozeri tower fans from the Amazon web site - the Ozeri 3X Ozeri 3x Tower Fan with Passive Noise Reduction Technology and the Ozeri Ultra Ozeri Ultra 42" Wind Adjustable Oscillating Tower Fan - with Noiseless Airflow Technology and hence can make a direct comparison and hopefully can guide others to the better of the two based on their preferences.

Noise

Both the Ozeri 3X and Ozeri Ultra make some noise but substantially less noise than other pedestal fans. Of the two, at the highest setting, the Ozeri Ultra makes substantially less sound than the Ozeri 3X. So if keeping noise to the minimum is your highest priority then the Ozeri Ultra is a clear winner. Note that the Ozeri 3X is quiet on the first speed setting, and the noise is not that much higher on the second speed setting, but when you turn it up to the third notch, the Ozeri 3X is clearly not quiet. In fact, I would say that the noise on the third speed setting is the Ozeri 3X's biggest drawback because one would have assumed that with Ozeri's claim of "passive noise reduction technology" on the Ozeri 3X, the noise would have been significantly lower at that speed setting.

Looks

Both the Ozeri 3X and Ozeri Ultra look good. The Ozeri Ultra is elegant and unobtrusive. The Ozeri 3X has a modern look and is bound to draw attention for its chic design. Note that the Ozeri 3X has a weighted glass base while the Ozeri Ultra has a light plastic base.

One reviewer has claimed that the Ozeri 3X is a reasonably good looking substitute to the new Dyson fan [...]. I strongly disagree. While the Ozeri 3X comprises 3 fans (albeit small) with blades housed in modern and stylish outer case/body, the Dyson tower fan has clean lines, an "Apple-esque" like design, a smaller footprint and most important of all, technology that doesn't have any visible fan blades. The Dyson is thus "cutting edge". Therefore, the Ozeri 3X that is modern (and many things are modern) is no match in design to the Dyson which is "cutting edge" (few products are cutting edge). This is why Dyson can charge such a commanding price.

Assembly

Both fans are easy to put together with the Ozeri 3X being very easy to assemble with just a one-step process that should take you less than two minutes. The Ozeri Ulta should take you 5 to 10 minutes to assemble. Don't let the time taken for assembly influence your decision in any way as it is the least important factor in determining which is a better fan.

Control Panel

To change settings, one just needs to "touch" the control panel on the Ozeri 3X. To me, this is much better than pressing a button as on the Ozeri Ultra. The temperature is displayed on the Ozeri Ultra, a feature lacking on the Ozeri 3X. For me, the ability to view the current temperature is a plus point. Note that both the fans have some light because of the display, but they are definitely not bright as some reviewers make them out to be. Think of it as an unobtrusive nightlight. Unless, you prefer sleeping in pitch darkness, these display lights should not be bothersome at all. Both fans come with a small remote control which some folk may find handy. The Ozeri 3X remote is thin, rectangular and tiny, whereas the Ozeri Ultra remote is oval and is roughly double the thickness of the Ozeri 3X remote.

Air Displaced (Updated as of May 30, 2012)

Now that it is past Memorial Day and it is getting warmer, I would say that the Ozeri 3X is turning to be a big disappointment. Even on the highest setting, it does not seem to move enough air to make things cooler. If you have the air-conditioner on, then it will be useful to circulate the air, but if one doesn't have an A/C, or if the base temperature is not under 70 - 75 degrees, it is not very useful.

Price

While prices fluctuate, both are priced about $95 currently. This price is fair for the Ozeri Ultra. $95 would be overpriced for the Ozeri 3X except if you consider paying a paying a premium for its looks while ignoring its functionality.

Note that I won't pay more than $100 for either of the fans.

Bottom-line

Eventually, the decision would boil down to whether your prefer your fan "to be noticed" (in which case go for the Ozeri 3X) or whether you are looking for a fan than that looks quite good and makes very little noise (then go for the Ozeri Ultra).

Rating
Based on the $100 price I paid, I have rated the Ozeri Ultra 4.5 stars and, based on my update on May 30, 2012 (see heading titled "air displaced,") downgraded the Ozeri 3X to 3 stars.

My Choice
I clearly prefer the Ozeri Ultra because it is relatively quiet - for me this is its biggest selling point (other than its looks and the amount of air displayed). It also has a smaller footprint than the 3X. Also, after using both fans for several months, I can now say that the Ozeri Ultra is overall a much better fan. Further, especially when both the fans are priced the same, it is a "no-brainer" that the Ozeri Ultra is a better value!
2323 comments| 480 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 16, 2017
I got 2 tower fans 1 year ago. This was used much less. We only began using it a lot in the spring. It's now August and it just started rattling which sort of kills the experience of using it. How or why did ours manage to go for so long with no rattling when other's have heard rattling from the start? The only thing different is that I accidentally knocked it over recently. It must be some internal piece that breaks loose and causes the rattling sound. If it weren't for that, I'd give this fan pretty high marks.

It moves air pretty well. It's tall enough to have good coverage. The oscillation works well as does the remote. I love the 'touch' keys, the looks of it the fan and it's slim profile..,although it is a larger footprint than most tower fans. It's a substantial fan...but a title tipsy because of its size I think. Thus why it got knocked over...and why it now rattles :-(

I'm going to see if I can take it apart and find the source of the rattling...because other than that...I like this fan a lot.

The other fan we got at the same time, also a tower fan, is this bladeless Lasko A600 Air Logic Bladeless Fan $80 August 2017, we paid $82 in June 2016. It's really an awesome fan and I may get another to replace this one if I can't fix the rattling noise!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 18, 2016
Note: The first fan I got, 2 of the fans made a very slight rattling noise. Given the price of the fan and the fact that I had replaced an older fan due to noise, I requested a replacement. The new one has no rattling noises, so my review is based on the new unit.

I had one of those Lasko fan units before this for years. It worked fine, but always seemed to develop an exciting new noise to make as it aged. It would "pop" midway through the oscillation, grind at the end of each one, and the middle fan piece started to rattle. Time for a new fan. Enter the Ozeri, one of the best looking fans you can buy which, undoubtedly, weighed in my decision to purchase it. The fan is great overall, so I'll just highlight some notes below.

- The 90 degree oscillation is great and much wider than previous fans I've used.
- The timer has a *ton* of steps allowing for any amount of time you could possibly need.
- The design is fantastic. The most elegant fan I've ever seen, and the glass base really helps add a level of polish to the otherwise mostly plastic model.
- The noise level isn't quite as low as the fans with a long, vertical spinning tube inside simply as a result of the type of fan design. That being said, you still get a very consistent airflow out of this and the customization of airflow is far superior since you can toggle each fan individually.
- The touch controls are a great touch. The remote is fine, though I've found it to be a little finicky when it comes to the fan actually receiving the signal. Not too bad, though.

No real complaints, honestly. Great unit!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2018
Wow didn't know a fan could be so different and unique and ZERO assembly! Just screw knob on base to tighten. I have owned several Lasko tower fans and as good as they are, eventually they tend to wobble or increase in noise. I recently purchased a Dyson and thought yeah it's priced crazy high but must be amazing right? For that price I expected whisper quiet... it was quieter than my Lasko but did not cool enough for me, so back it went. After comparison shopping I saw this unique fan that kinda looks like a sound system tower instead of a fan. Read lots of reviews before deciding on buying this one. I like that it is designed so cleverly where the fan mechanism is divided into 3 chambers. This allows for a more gentle type air flow as well as being very cooling without the wind tunnel effect on most tower fans. It feels like the coolest most soothing breeze as if you were swaying on a hammock with the ocean air kissing your face. Love, love, love!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2017
I LOVE LOVE LOVE my fan!! I have had it for 2 yrs 15 days. BUT I run it EVERY single day...Spring, Summer, Fall & Winter. Spring & Summer I run it 24/7, during the winter I turn off during day. I love that it has a remote! You can also run all 3 fans in it or only 1 fan. It's not super quiet but it's a fan, what do you expect! To clean...I use my little air compressor. You can also take partially apart. Someone made a comment about noise in bottom. Mine did that but it just needed tightening to the base. No big deal. Oh! I also have 2 big rambunctious dogs that have knocked it over prob 5 times. Picked it up and NOTHING broke! I buying 2 more, one for living room & another for my daughter's new house. If you are having ANY reservations, don't. This fan is fantastic!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2016
I had the pleasure of receiving an Ozeri 3x Tower Fan with Passive Noise Reduction Technology. It stands 44 inches tall and has three individual fans within the tower that each have 3 fan speeds and gives you a total of 9 different levels of airflow you can customize. It also has 3 preprogrammed airflow designs for relaxation, comfort and to help with sleep. I love this fan and would not have been able to get through the heat wave here in Washington without it! It is quiet and keeps the room nice and cool. It also looks great! It is slim and very elegant looking. It has a super nice glass base that is heavy enough to keep the fan from falling over and has even prevented my three and five year olds from knocking it over when they are playing. This fan makes a great addition to any room and any decor! I love that it has a 90 degree oscillation. It keeps the entire room cool because of it. I also really love the extended range remote it comes with. It comes with a battery so after you put it in, you are ready to go! It also features a LED control panel on the fan itself that is touch sensitive. It is the first fan I have ever used with touch screen features! They aren't touchy or anything either which is nice! The entire fan has been wonderful and I love all the features it offers. At night I barely hear it which is wonderful with little ones that wake up to every little noise. I also love the timer. You can program it up to 7.5 hours and in 30 minute increments at a time! Overall this fan is a great investment and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a slim, elegant and functional fan for your home!

Disclosure: I received this product at a reduced price for my honest, unbiased review. All opinions are my own.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2018
I purchased the Ozeri 3X fan to use either in my living room or in my bedroom but have discovered that it is more of a bedroom fan as it’s not very powerful even on the highest fan setting. Also, I have only used the fan twice and it is now making a rattling noise in the base where it turns from side to side. This means I can’t use it in my bedroom as that noise will actually annoy me and keep me from falling asleep. I’m not sure how to fix this issue other than give it a couple of light smacks with a small hammer. Unfortunately I’m beyond the return window and am stuck with this fan. I even bought their Brezza III desk fan and it has a rattling noise too so I’m not sure if there’s some issue with their fans but I don’t think I’ll be buying any more of them. I will try giving the phone number call or emailing them at their support email address see if they have any suggestions. The only good thing about this fan is it has a very wide oscillating radius, a nice sleep and breeze option and timer.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 25, 2016
If you must have something as utilitarian as a fan in your room, you might as well make it as cool looking as possible. Photos do not do this fan justice. From the heavy (that's a good thing) glass base to the sculptured case to the display screen at the top, this fan is almost a work of art. Most visitors think it is a speaker tower.

But aside from its high tech beauty, this fan is the most versatile I have ever owned. There are three fan speeds like most tower fans, but then each of the three fans can be independently operated. I bought this fan for a recording studio, and by using the lowest speed with only one or two of the fans running, it is quiet enough to operate while recording.

With all those settings, plus options such as breeze mode or timer, it really helps to be able to see the display. This fan has a large display screen with big icons, making all the information legible even from across the room.

Don't hesitate to buy this fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse