Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on May 12, 2012
I bought this GPS unit as an entry level handheld unit to begin Geocaching with. It appears to be a very well constructed unit, waterproof, crisp clear screens, a easy-to-use toggle switch. Set up was easy as was downloading geocaches with the free Magellan software available on [...]link.

This seems like a very nice unit for the price - solidly constructed, with customizable screens, etc. as well.

Buy it - you'll be happy you did!
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2014
I took this with me to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in Minn. Others had maps but this let me know where I was and I could tell group how far they traveled and altitude changes. I pre located expected campsite locations manually into this so that I had some additional reference points which did help but was slow to do. There was no doubt where I was and if needed could easily have helped locate sites or details of route back. I found it fun but I don't think you could navigate totally with just this device. You could find your way back however, easily. Still need real maps for details on outward journey, for elevation issues etc. There is no way to auto load info other than caches into this. I have the track that I took on the outing but there is no way to save it to computer or print out. Luckily I didn't expect more and this for ~$120 was worth the cost and the peace of mind it provided.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2014
This GPS works pretty good for Geocaching, but man does it eat batteries. I will buy some high end brand name batteries and they don't even make it through one days worth of Geocaching, 4-5 caches and you are done. If I don't use it daily, it takes a while for the satellites to link up again. If you do not have a smart phone, I would go this route, but if you do have a smart phone, download the app instead!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 3, 2013
I just started geocaching and have found 24 so far. I love this GPS simple yet does everything it needs to do. it even has a feature to enter your phone number and name so when it turns on it says your information just incase you lose it. I like that it is not a touch screen I think it makes it much easier then having to clean your hands before you touch the screen. awesome would recommend to any beginner. only thing I dislike is the batterys they will last for about 18 hours so you have to make sure to carry some extra with you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2013
I used this to start geocaching as this was described as a great introductory geocaching gps. I couldn't get the software to automatically upload the files to work, that I don't blame that on the gps though. How does it make sense for the premium members of the geocaching website to have the ability to not have to use software to automatically upload the caches actually be better.

The gps got me close to the cache each time and I also found the trail features useful which isn't what I bought it for. The only negative is that it can be hard to tell if it is off or just in power saving mode which resulted in my battery getting drained a couple times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2012
I have had two eXplorist GCs and when the second one started malfunctioning a little, I bought the eXplorist 110. I thought that the eXplorist 110 was a step up, but it seems to be the same as the GC, except for the graphics, a couple more options for driving and hiking, and setup. I was happy with the GC and had to get used to the eXplorist 110. I use it mostly for Geocaching, so I guess that I would prefer the eXplorist GC over the eXplorist 110, although I do like the tracking option on the eXplorist 110. The two things that I don't like about the design of both of these is that the on-off button stopped working on my first GC and the toggle knob on my second GC is starting to malfunction. I expect that the same could happen to the eXplorist 110. Both of the eXplorist GCs malfunctioned after around a year or so. What I did, was to buy a hard case for the 110, so that the toggle knob hopefully will not get damaged in storage and transport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2013
I got this a couple of weeks ago to keep track of my short hikes, mostly just to see how far I've walked. Was surprised to learn I could download the hike into Google Earth and see it there. It does alot more than I expected and even more than I need. Overall I've been happy with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2014
Just used it in Kings Canyon National Park. Has some good features. Too much unnecessary stuff and the map graphic is not anything I will end up using. The longitude and latitude display in the Dashboard is too small for me without a magnifying glass. A Megellan GPS I used back in the late 1990s was simple and performed the tasks I wanted without all the complications that all new electronic devices apparently need to employ. Why should it take 21 pages of information to explain a most basic GPS? I will continue to become familiar with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2012
My wife bought me this for Christmas as a surprise. I have never used a GPS for hiking/geocache, but had really wanted one for kayaking. I know this was an entry model, but I am very pleased with it, screen is small but suits my needs. The center button is touchy, and the provided directions were not very clear, but you can download better directions for free from the Magellan website. Would recommend this to others, I can't wait to try out the geocaching features with my kids, this product seems perfect for it (you can download geocache locations from websites).
1/21/13 - have used this for almost 4 weeks now. Much of the time I wear while walking the neighborhood with the dog, driving to work, etc. This weekend I took it out geocaching with my kids, what a blast! We went to geogaching.com (free version), connected a cable to our computer, and downloaded the geocaches near our house. First one we found just a few hundred feet away, but then we searched for some geocaches on a nearby lake. Lots of fun for the family even though we did not find all of the geocaches. Would recommend Magellan Explorist this to anyone starting out, that's why I upgraded to 5 stars. Its an inexpensive way to get outside, can't wait to look for other geocaches! On a side note, the included lithium batteries have lasted for a long time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2013
Bought this unit for geocaching when my old unit failed. It is reasonably accurate, but the entire name of the cache does not always fit on the screen, and the displayed keyboard is awkward. Note this unit did not come with the connecting USB cable needed to download caches!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 35 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here