Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 74 reviews
on December 17, 2013
I used this to start geocaching as this was described as a great introductory geocaching gps. I couldn't get the software to automatically upload the files to work, that I don't blame that on the gps though. How does it make sense for the premium members of the geocaching website to have the ability to not have to use software to automatically upload the caches actually be better.

The gps got me close to the cache each time and I also found the trail features useful which isn't what I bought it for. The only negative is that it can be hard to tell if it is off or just in power saving mode which resulted in my battery getting drained a couple times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
I took this with me to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in Minn. Others had maps but this let me know where I was and I could tell group how far they traveled and altitude changes. I pre located expected campsite locations manually into this so that I had some additional reference points which did help but was slow to do. There was no doubt where I was and if needed could easily have helped locate sites or details of route back. I found it fun but I don't think you could navigate totally with just this device. You could find your way back however, easily. Still need real maps for details on outward journey, for elevation issues etc. There is no way to auto load info other than caches into this. I have the track that I took on the outing but there is no way to save it to computer or print out. Luckily I didn't expect more and this for ~$120 was worth the cost and the peace of mind it provided.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
This GPS works pretty good for Geocaching, but man does it eat batteries. I will buy some high end brand name batteries and they don't even make it through one days worth of Geocaching, 4-5 caches and you are done. If I don't use it daily, it takes a while for the satellites to link up again. If you do not have a smart phone, I would go this route, but if you do have a smart phone, download the app instead!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
I just started geocaching and have found 24 so far. I love this GPS simple yet does everything it needs to do. it even has a feature to enter your phone number and name so when it turns on it says your information just incase you lose it. I like that it is not a touch screen I think it makes it much easier then having to clean your hands before you touch the screen. awesome would recommend to any beginner. only thing I dislike is the batterys they will last for about 18 hours so you have to make sure to carry some extra with you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
I have had two eXplorist GCs and when the second one started malfunctioning a little, I bought the eXplorist 110. I thought that the eXplorist 110 was a step up, but it seems to be the same as the GC, except for the graphics, a couple more options for driving and hiking, and setup. I was happy with the GC and had to get used to the eXplorist 110. I use it mostly for Geocaching, so I guess that I would prefer the eXplorist GC over the eXplorist 110, although I do like the tracking option on the eXplorist 110. The two things that I don't like about the design of both of these is that the on-off button stopped working on my first GC and the toggle knob on my second GC is starting to malfunction. I expect that the same could happen to the eXplorist 110. Both of the eXplorist GCs malfunctioned after around a year or so. What I did, was to buy a hard case for the 110, so that the toggle knob hopefully will not get damaged in storage and transport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
Just used it in Kings Canyon National Park. Has some good features. Too much unnecessary stuff and the map graphic is not anything I will end up using. The longitude and latitude display in the Dashboard is too small for me without a magnifying glass. A Megellan GPS I used back in the late 1990s was simple and performed the tasks I wanted without all the complications that all new electronic devices apparently need to employ. Why should it take 21 pages of information to explain a most basic GPS? I will continue to become familiar with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
My wife bought me this for Christmas as a surprise. I have never used a GPS for hiking/geocache, but had really wanted one for kayaking. I know this was an entry model, but I am very pleased with it, screen is small but suits my needs. The center button is touchy, and the provided directions were not very clear, but you can download better directions for free from the Magellan website. Would recommend this to others, I can't wait to try out the geocaching features with my kids, this product seems perfect for it (you can download geocache locations from websites).
1/21/13 - have used this for almost 4 weeks now. Much of the time I wear while walking the neighborhood with the dog, driving to work, etc. This weekend I took it out geocaching with my kids, what a blast! We went to geogaching.com (free version), connected a cable to our computer, and downloaded the geocaches near our house. First one we found just a few hundred feet away, but then we searched for some geocaches on a nearby lake. Lots of fun for the family even though we did not find all of the geocaches. Would recommend Magellan Explorist this to anyone starting out, that's why I upgraded to 5 stars. Its an inexpensive way to get outside, can't wait to look for other geocaches! On a side note, the included lithium batteries have lasted for a long time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
Bought this unit for geocaching when my old unit failed. It is reasonably accurate, but the entire name of the cache does not always fit on the screen, and the displayed keyboard is awkward. Note this unit did not come with the connecting USB cable needed to download caches!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
Let start by stating that I have been happy with what it does and how it downloads Geocache data. But I purchased this "Waterproof" unit just over a year ago in March of 2013. The other day the flexible boot/membrane that covers the joy stick was found to have ripped which renders it no longer water resistant let alone waterproof. Magellans web site states that they do not repair or service units that are past the 1 year warranty period. I have sent them 2 E mails, posted on their Face Book page and on many Geocaching sites trying to locate either a service/repair center or a place to buy the needed part. So far now response. I find it hard to believe that a unit that is designed for hand held usage in the field should suffer a breakdown in the protective boot that protects the joy stick which is central to all operations on the eXplorist series of GPS devices. This means that the unit is no longer water proof or dirt proof. And Magellans scripted response is the same via E mail, Chat or their Customer Advocacy 1-800#. I will think long and hard before I purchase another Magellan Product. If it lasted for less than 500 Geocaching logged finds it is not a good investment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
It's hard to navigate when you're used to touch screen and the ease of getting around on a phone gps device. But it's great for geocaching with the kids because it's pretty indestructible and it fits great in their little hands. Not very easy for uploading the geocaches either. Took me quite a while to finally figure it out. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 34 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here