Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning kidsevergreen kidsevergreen kidsevergreen  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 549 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 612 reviews
on February 4, 2016
I have always enjoyed Alex Lukeman's work, but this is by far my favorite. Nick Carter, the main character works for a government agency that answers only the POTUS. He is an Afghan war vet who has skills necessary for covert work. The director of his agency, Ms. Harker, is a woman who tolerates no incompetence. When a wealthy businessman, William Connor, is murdered, all his assets moved from his accounts to that of an official of the Chinese government, and a book important to him is missing, Nick and his war buddy Ronnie are brought in to locate, his niece and ultimately the book. Selena Connor is a linguist proficient in ancient languages, and as the story progresses, we learn she has many other unusual skills. Ultimately Nic, Selena, and Ronnie are sent on a mission that follows instructions in William Connor's book. Their lives are put in danger, and the lives of all Americans become threatened. This is well written and keeps you wanting to read more. When the story ends, you feel like you MUST read the next installment. I post reviews only of books I absolutely love, or those I feel aren't worth reading. This is one that is terrific!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
This is the kind of book you don't bother to review. I rarely write reviews, but was bored and despondent of the fact that most books on Amazon have 5 star reviews. There is no sense of proportion, no way of really telling how good a book is, because if you read the book reviews all the books on Amazon are great. You don't come across many two or three star reviews. It's either one star or five; I think two star is probably the rarest. I thought about giving this book two stars, but decided not to because the book was a fun read.

I had fun reading this, but it's the kind of book you wouldn't bother to recommend to a friend. These kind of books are a dime a dozen, which means there worthwhile if you in the mood for a fun quick read. This kind of book is forgettable, by the end of the year you will have probably have forgotten about it altogether. I might read another by this author, but with so money books of this kind out there, I think I'll move on, and see if there is something even better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
This book met my desire to read an action-thriller with a little romance thrown in. It was reminiscent of Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider, and 007 movies, in quest and action level - only milder. It was quick but not fast in pace, and included a lot of details but not so many that it slowed down the flow. I liked the main characters, both why and how they related to each other. I would read more from this author when in the mood for this genre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
They is is an excellent series opener. I couldn't stop reading. Writing style is a little "clunky" in spots, but overall it's very good. 4.5 stars.
The Project...a clandestine agency that networks with the alphabet agencies, but answers directly to the President. A very wealthy financier tortured and murdered, his money electronically transferred to accounts linked to a Chinese General. An ancient book that lays out the secret to immortality. Nick Carter, former Recon Marine and current Project operative, assigned to the niece of the murdered billionaire. His job, to keep her safe while they search for the missing book. A job made more difficult by the men who have been sent to capture and torture her. But why?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
When Nick Carter, a former Marine Recon expert now working for the PROJECT, a special agency that reports directly to the President, is assigned to provide security to Selena Connor, niece of a wealthy man who was slain for his money and an unsuccessful attempt to acquire an ancient text supposedly containing the secret to immortality, he didn’t know what he was getting into.
When attempts are made by armed Chinese to abduct Selena, the stakes suddenly get higher, and Nick finds himself at the epicenter of a plot that could lead to war with China.
White Jade by Alex Lukeman is a riveting thriller of international intrigue and violence that will keep you turning pages until the chilling climax. This story of unbridled lust for power will also keep you awake long after you’ve finished reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Harrison Ford has nothing on Nick Carter as he deftly tackles one covert assignment after another for the government agency and the director of the "Project", answering only to the president. His tours of duty have left him with some emotional scars as well as the physical and recurring flash-backs that he convinces his psych team are under control so he can be brought back to protect the life of Dr. Selena Connor, niece of William Connor. Connor had been sadistically executed in an attempt to retrieve an invaluable artifact along with four million dollars.

In this fast-paced novel, you are catapulted from San Francisco to Washington, D.C., Beijing, and Tibet, following an ever-expanding plot that hints at the ancient Chinese book's elixir for immortality, the secret recipe of which could transform permanently the modern world. Getting inside the heads of the bad guys as well as good, along with the brilliant mind of Selena and the cloistered and classified world of Director Elizabeth Harker, along with the twists and turns of the plot keeps you reading--indeed, I read it to my husband on a long trip south this winter.

I generally do not like reading a part of a series, as having one part usually leaves you hanging assuming the book is a real page-turner. This book was received, however, in an Amazon Bookbub promotion and definitely now leaves me wanting more! Complicated and intelligent without being convoluted beyond understanding, enough of a challenge to keep you on the edge, the story line never drags or contradicts itself. Can be read as a stand-alone book, but with characters this fascinating, plot this thrilling, and choreographed scenes with this depth of description, why would you?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
This is a shoot-'em-up-blow-'em-up action/adventure story. Right from the beginning chapter the bullets fly. Nick Carter a member of an elite special terrorism task force under direct control of POTUS becomes involved with a girl Friday, Selena Connor, and the two of them go off on an action/adventure romp while having a cozy relationship. The pages turn with rapidity and the read is comfortable. The protagonist duo thwart anything the Chinese government and Triads can throw at them with grace and agility. Don't expect anything to tax your gray matter. It is a pleasant digression and the price is right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Alex Lukeman's White Jade, the first book in a series about a secret government agency known as the Project, is a far fetched but generally entertaining action/adventure thriller. The Project is an elite counter terrorist organization that can take direct, immediate action when the national interests are threatened... sort of like the CIA on steroids.

The national interest is definitely threatened here, as rogue Chinese agents plot to launch a major attack against the U.S. as part of an even larger conspiracy. The Project gets wind of their plans when they torture and kill a wealthy industrialist to get their hands on an ancient book in the tycoon's possession that supposedly contained directions to a remote location in Tibet where the secret of eternal life was hidden. The Chinese are after something else at that location, a supply of enriched uranium capable of multiplying their nuclear weapons capabilities tremendously. The book's hero, former battle-hardened Marine turned Project operative Nick Carter, teams up with the dead man's niece, Selena Connor, who happens to be an expert in ancient languages and can help translate the book. Together, the two try to stop the Chinese plot.

There's a lot of action in the book, as you might expect, and Lukeman handles the assorted car chases, brawls, and shootouts quite well. In addition, the good guys wind up doing an Indiana Jones impersonation when they find the remote location referred to in the book and have to make their way through a variety of booby traps en route to some startling discoveries. It's all pure hokum, but I could easily suspend any sense of disbelief and had a good time throughout much of the book.

I had a tougher time suspending disbelief at some amazing logical howlers in the book, such as the thought that trained Chinese agents would try to kidnap Selena to find out what she knows by staging a high speed car crash on a major interstate just outside Washington, DC, in the hopes she would survive the crash... or that the fallout from the resulting chase and crash, which resulted in totaling a number of civilian vehicles and several dead bodies, would not make front page news all over the country. Nor could I accept the Chinese characters, who are poorly drawn stereotypes, practically drooling at the thought of having their way with American women, who act as if they are auditioning for the role of Fu Manchu in a community theater production.

As long as Lukeman keeps his focus on the two main characters and their travails, the book works very well. Carter is given a lot of emotional baggage in the form of a fiancée who died tragically that he has to work through during the book, and Selena is a feisty original. It's only when Lukeman expands his canvas, to the stock Chinese villains and the large scale political intrigue that occurs in both the U.S. and China, that he loses his focus. The last part of the book, in which the U.S. president has to work with Chinese officials to stop a war, should have been a powerful climax but, instead, was a bit of a letdown after Carter's frenetic activity in the previous pages.

First novels are rarely perfect, and White Jade is no exception. However, the flaws in the book... the stock, ridiculous villains, the annoying lack of logic in places, and the tepid political intrigue can be improved. Lukeman's back story of the long lost temple where the secret of eternal life is located (which, after a fashion, Carter finds out does exist) is the sort of highly imaginative backdrop for a thriller that makes for a entertaining, albeit farfetched story. Add some genuinely exciting action scenes and a likable main couple to that premise, and you have a good, entertaining but undemanding escapist read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
A Great, what if, situation story revolving around the Chinese Military leadership and a top secret American group dedicated to keeping the lid on volatile tensions that are found world wide. All around the world there are people with their own agendas as to how the world should be run, at heart each nation thinks that that theirs is the only true way to live and will go to extreme lengths to make this happen. This author has woven a tale of a what if, with this story regarding the Chinese military's assumption that they are the supreme rulers and it is their right to rule the world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
I picked up this book, not as a stand alone, but as Book One of a Trilogy, that from the reviews, I wanted to read because it is in my genre of interest of political espionage. As an aside, as I write this, I am in the midst of Book Two, "The Lance", which, when I'm finished with it, I'll likely write a review of it as well.
At the risk of being cynical, "White Jade" as a story was more tongue in cheek for me than it was a serious undertaking of the genre. In other words, as I was reading it, I found the story to be ludicrous, so much so that I could not take it seriously.
To make a point, there is a segment in the story which smacks very closely to a scene from Raiders of the Lost Ark. It is that segment to which I refer as the book being written tongue in cheek by the author (REALLY MR. LUKEMAN?). There are other parts of the story equally far fetched, but since I don't re-tell story lines in my reviews, I won't recount them here.
I do not intend to segue into the book I'm currently reading, but suffice it to say, it is reading more true to life for me than the story line in "Jade". So maybe there's hope for this series after all.
My purpose in a review is to offer a critique of whether I think the book was a worthwhile read or not. All things considered, this book gets a "3". But, if you start "Jade" and find that it is not living up to your expectations either, finish it and then pick up "The Lance". I think you will be satisfied that the latter book is a more worthwhile read, at least so far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse