Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,940 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 5,415 reviews
on June 12, 2016
The Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy is one of the most famous pieces of science fiction in the English language. The story has been adapted into almost every medium, from radio to novels to tv to movies. And it's easy to see why it's so popular. This was one of the funniest books I've ever read.

Guide is primarily about the adventures of Arthur, an ordinary average guy forced to leave earth and go on a journey through the cosmos. He is joined by Ford Prefect, a writer for the Guide, Trillian, an astrophycist from Earth, Zaphod Beeblebrox, the President of the Galaxy, and Marvin, an extremely depressed robot. Over the course of five books, they encounter a wide array of aliens, planets, and towels.

The best element of these books is the humor. Adams is a master of satire, regularing stopping the plot to give a humorous take on everything he can think of. This book is almost impossible to put down it's so funny. The only downside is that he clearly had no idea where to go with the overall plot. After the second book, plots and characters would appear and disappear out of nowhere, and the ending fizzled out. That is the only reason I couldn't give this 5 stars.

This is one of the best pieces of YA literature out there. Have fun.
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
As a nerd I have gotten recommendations to read this my entire life but I have just never gotten around to it, but now I wish I had done so sooner! The absolute preposterousness of the universe Mr. Adams has created is one that is very unique. His attention to detail when creating the math behind the improbability drive shows his attention to detail, while showing the drive's behavior during its use shows Adam's refusal to take the universe he created too seriously. While I sometimes feel some undertones of nihilism, what I think Adams is really trying to do is put Earth in perspective while having too munch fun creating a space adventure in the process.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
This was one of those books that I find a lot of people have heard of but not a lot of people have read - if you're one of those people and you like dry, satire-style humor and imaginative science fiction, certainly give this book a try. This book is super easy to read and is a humorous take on space and time travel. It follows a 'normal' man who unknowingly befriends an alien hitchhiker and is taken along on some entertaining journeys through space. They go to other universes, meet interesting characters, discover futuristic technology (including a melodramatic, depressed robot), and discover the ACTUAL answer to the universe! The only question left now is... what exactly was the question? Sounds ridiculous, I know, but you really get sucked in!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
My English teacher wasn't amused 35 years ago when I said this was my favorite line in literature. (It wasn't, but I do love it.) Douglas Adams was everything an sf writer should be: witty, humane and imaginative, and this work illustrates it all.
A better quote is, “And then, one Thursday, nearly two thousand years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change, a girl sitting on her own in a small café in Rickmansworth suddenly realized what it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no one would have to get nailed to anything,” but that's too long for a classroom discussion in freshman English
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2017
Strangely entertaining throughout, but it does get a bit tedious and "off the wall" at times (typical of Adams style, I suppose). "Marvin" the robot was my favorite character, fondly remembering Alan Rickman as I read the book. Recommended for those who are willing to take a flight of fancy on a cold winter's day----or more. The film of the same name is equally odd and worth watching.

Now, I'm reading the Dirk Gently "Holistic Detective Agency" book and find them equally strange and sometimes difficult to follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
If you haven't read Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, you need this book. Douglas Adams is hilarious. The movie is alright but doesn't compare to the books. All of them are great. There is social commentary and other deep stuff there, but you can just read and enjoy, completely ignoring those elements if you want.

If you like this, you'd probably like the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
If you enjoy British humor then I definitely recommend this series. Douglas Adams did a great job telling a really unique story about a man being swept completely out of his comfort zone into a lifelong adventure he didnt ask for or want. Along the way he grows as a person, learning valuable life lessons, all while surrounded by idiots and aliens, and the only other human on that planet that he is completely interested in despite the fact that she doesnt seem to feel the same way in return. Arthur Dent is, in a sense, a man for whom nothing goes right and he is well aware of this fact. Seeking for nothing out of life but to have a quiet uneventful life and a cup of tea. But thats not the case for Arthur and it never will be. He's a spaceman now and a life of adventure, discover, and mishap is his destiny. The cheeky, witty, British humor had a way of keeping me laughing and Arthur Dent trudging along the whole time. I recommend the audiobooks as they are read by amazing actors Stephen Fry and Martin Freeman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
I was very late reading this book. When it became the popular thing to do, decades ago, I was too busy with the curse of making a living. Now there are so many reviews here (almost all positive) that I feel it would be redundant for me to do one. So I will just make a couple of brief comments. First, I enjoyed the book and found it funny, but not as funny as I would have at age 30, whether because of age or because the times have changed so much, I am not sure. It is a parody on the science fiction books that were so popular when it was written (and for some, still are). And as I read, I began to think, "This sounds like Michael Palin's Monty Python - and indeed Douglas Adams was connected with the show and appeared in some episodes. More amazing to me was that he was also a writer and editor for several of the Dr. Who series ( which still has it's fans and fanatics). This probably is enough to give a tenor of the book. I found a couple of things of special interest. 1) The best means of transportation across the Galaxy was the Improbability Drive. Since there is an infinite improbability that the space ship can be at all points in the universe at once, the Drive creates that condition, the destination point is chosen, and the Drive is set back to normal probability - it kind of made me dizzy just reading about it. The other item of great interest to me was the Ultimate Answer - which was 42. The harder part was determining the Ultimate Question. They developed the first Earth as a massive computer to determine it and were about to have success just before Earth was destroyed by the Vogons to make way for a galactic freeway. Unable to extract the Ultimate Question from the brain of Arthur, who had escaped the destruction of Earth by hitching a ride with the Vogons, the Mice ( who were quite smart and at one time controlled Earth) decided to make up the Ultimate Question. After trial and error they came upon "How many roads must a man walk down?" Like this sort of review, the book does not make sense - but is a lot of fun.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
In many ways, this is the definitive issuance of this work. I first discovered it as musician on the road, when I was snowed into a week long gig at a very nice hotel in Bluefield West Va. To W. Va's credit, it ran the TV series on its Public TV carriers. And I became addicted. (Otherwise, that time and place was pretty grim.....) Later, I caught this version on my hometown's Public Radio channel. Once more it brought a beacon of lightness to a decade that was mostly grim aside from a lot of great musical opportunities that persisted in defiance of almost everything else in ascendance at the time. It was a completely uncharacteristic embracing of Sardonic optimism at a time when there wasn't a lot to be optimistic about. And for that, I will FOREVER be in gratitude to the highly perceptive Mr. Adams. I sought the books out and read them LAST. The movie is not in the running as the definitive rendering of the work. The Special Effects were valued over the text, which flies in the face of everything that made what went before "genius". Worth every penny I paid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
This is truly one of the best books I've ever read. It's so entertaining, I never lost interest once & it's so damn funny! When I was reading it & there were people around, I was often asked "what?" because I literally laughed out loud. Just some of the made up words made me laugh. And the name Slartibartfast, bloody hell, is this one of the best names ever or what?! I've finished book 2 & have just started book 3 (there's 5 in the series & you can buy them in a box set, saving yourself some money). I used to watch the series when I was a kid which I remember as being brilliant but for some unknown & probably dopey reason, I've never read the books, I'm so happy I've rectified this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here