Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 13, 2016
Remorseless is a deep and dark look into the mind of a convicted killer. This specific killer was convicted of killing his parents in a brutal murder when he was just a teenager. He maintains his innocence and claims this his brother did it and framed him. He's served 18 years of his life sentence but is up for parole. The book follows his parole hearing from his side and the side of the parole board. Especially Doc Powers, a clinical psychologist who's wife has just died in a tragic car accident that he believes is his fault.

Remorseless was a kick in the stomach when you're already down. It's deep and dark and will make you question the legal system. With all of the media frenzy around the new Netflix show about a wrongly convicted murderer, this book will have you wonder what has to go wrong for someone to get locked up.

The look inside the minds of all the characters involved was absolutely fascinating. While I don't normally read books like this, I may have to start. I've always been fascinated (like the author) with the inner workings of the brain, especially those of "cold blooded" killers and so-called "psychopaths." Patching does a WONDERFUL job with the psychology and inner workings of every character involved.

Literally every aspect of this book felt important. Usually with a book this long, there always feels like some pieces were there to add something but you can't figure out what. With Remorseless, every word, page, and chapter needed to be there. Patching is a force to be reckoned with in the British Crime Thriller genre.

Without giving too much away, the second half of the book is brutal and harsh and absolutely a blast to read/listen to. Patching knows pacing well, and paces the action scenes so that they feel realistic and will have you thinking about them long after you've closed the page or turned off your audiobook. I found myself thinking about the thing within this book late into the night (thanks for that!) This book was both a page turner and a thought provoker. Usually page turners are full entertainment without much thought. And vice-versa, thought provokers are usually dry and without gusto. This book definitely has both.

Overall, I loved this book. The psychology felt super real, the struggles each character was going through were incredibly accurate and made you as a reader feel for them. Remorseless is definitely a book you should pick up and read. Just be warned, this will have you up late (either reading it, or thinking about it).
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
Remorseless is a difficult novel to review without giving parts of the plot away – something I am always reluctant to do.

The first chapter is one of the best I have ever read, when the author introduces us to the main character and psychopath, Peter Leech. There are many sub-plots to the main story including an unlikely romance between clinical psychologist, Doc Powers, and his feisty understudy, Judy Finch.

While Peter Leech is in prison, his elder brother Shaun is enjoying the high life and marries Peter’s former girlfriend, Suzie. The brothers have always hated each other and when Peter comes up for parole, Shaun is vehemently opposed to his release.

Character development is excellent and the author takes us deep into the minds of the protagonists.

I hope the foregoing is enough to whet your appetite, but be warned, Remorseless is not a book for the squeamish.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
I received a free copy of this book and voluntarily chose to review. First of all, this was a thoroughly well written book. Will Patching is a new author to me and his writing prowess is impressive. He has a wonderful touch with conversation; each conversation is true to the description and makeup of the person speaking. His descriptive ability is likewise good; it was easy to picture the people, locations, surroundings in locations, manner of dress, feel the weather, and atmospheres of public places. The story flowed smoothly from locations and people, and was not jarring in any way. The main people in the book came alive, with their pasts, very naturally. The information was given to the reader in a number of ways, and was imparted so subtly, the reader gets to know them without intrusive paragraphs about them thrown in at random.
The plot was believable, as some psychopaths perform horrific acts. So, yes, the acts portrayed are hard to read. I have read all the reviews on this book prior to writing my thoughts. Here is where I differ with most of the reviewers. To me, we need to thank Will Patching for educating us about psychopaths, inside a story. They exist all around us, although do not all act as brutally as the two characters in the book. I believe this was the whole reason for this book! It is obvious to me readers didn't understand this as many expressed horror at the way these men acted, referring to them as criminals, psychos, etc., but not as psychopaths. Patching does an admirable job of teaching psychopathology throughout the entire book; I wonder if I am the only reader that sees this as a teaching tool. To me it is obvious. I thank you, Mr. Patching for your effort! So, if you want a thriller that is well written and has educational value, as well, grab this book. You'll be entertained, challenged in your thinking, and learn about psychopathology, too.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Normally, I will stop reading a book like "Remorseless.". Will Patching has created a story containing brutal sex scenes and descriptive murders, all related in a style that places the reader inside the heads of the players. What saves this book is the author, who has delicately crafted a tale of evil versus good, pulling the reader into a rabbit hole that promises no immediate exit. If you are looking for a well-written book with a generous supply of grit, this is the book for you. Be warned that if you detest a text peppered with vulgarities and graphic violence, you should probably pass on this offering. A quick overview, without spoilers:

Mr. Patching presents to the reader a mixture of genres. Doc spends a good part of the book dissecting the facts, desperate to dig up the truth out of what seems to be the truth. Add to the mystery the thriller aspect, and expect to be on the edge of your seat for the last half of the book. Definitely a psychological chiller, as the author shines with his presentation of a psychopathic killer who always seems to be three steps ahead of his pursuers. Once past the first few chapters, it was impossible to put the book down.

So why the four stars if the book is so good? I struggled believing some of the opening prison scenes, and initially believed I had purchased yet another book by an author who had a good idea for a story but didn't have the knowledge to pull it off. Patching's initial portrayal (while in prison) of Peter Leech did not fit my understanding of a psychopath and how one would act. Additionally, the actions of prison officials (especially when a felony may have been committed) were not true-to-life, unless British prisons are much different than American prisons. (The crime scene would be immediately secured and questioning would be completed by investigators and not by staff, for instance). I also questioned some of the policies and procedures. On a nitpick level, grammar was good but lots of commas missing (I noticed this in the first half...I was so engrossed in the second half that I couldn't tell you if this issue had fixed).

What kept me reading were the great conversations Patching's cast would have with each other. They were realistic, and the author steered the reader toward revelations that delved deeply into each character, exposing their innermost feelings and emotions. Once Leech left the prison, he became the scary person I expected him to be.

To repeat, this is some gritty and in-your-face stuff. The story progresses naturally, and even though this is the first in a series, it can stand on its own and there is no cliffhanger ending. Mr. Patching ties up all the loose ends and provides readers with an excellent read. Four stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
I loved to read almost everything. This book is in my favorite range of genre.

If you like mushy, lovely, cream stories, GO LOOK TO ANOTHER PLACE!!!!.

For me investigation is a key word, the author had a very valid points that make you think: what is inside a psycho head. (I highly recommend you to read, Sue Colletta's Post Crimes).

It's a fact that children that show no remorse at killing, torture, bullies at early stages of age the higher is this kid will be a killer, got out of school & skilled at the use of weapons.

Many, find positions of power to reach the high rush adenaline they need. Showing: anger management problems & other signs.

I hate SPOILERS, but a little info. A killer at a prison turning the guilt to other. Parole Revise, now?

Well, the author know his job. The huge & excellent amount of story, incredible. Gives the book a stable base.

The twist & bends of a psycho mind. Giving too much info will spoil the great book you had. Highly Recommended.

POINT FROM MY PERSONAL VIEW: Indie Authors doesn't had a troupe of people behind them (like when you had a Publish House, PR, etc).

They had to work hard to publish their books for themselves.

Lets face it "big name authors" are basking in their "earn names".

Indies are working hard & they're the future of literature. Let's help them.

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. I'm a reader of many years and I'm in for: Read, Revise & Review. (If apply)

I 'm honest for me, other readers & authors. If you don't do that & reach the authors how we can had better books?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2017
Dr. Colin Powers (45, consulting forensic psychiatrist, widower) & Judy Finch (30+, Parole Board, MS Sociology) were going to interview
Peter Leech (# B620061, aka Snake, serial killer).
The Prison Assessment Report & the Prison Psychiatrist’s report were both positive.
& finally, the Interviewing Officer’s Report & Sophie Pugh (social worker, re-settlement officer.

Prison Welfare Trust Director, Parole Board member) input.
What did Mr. Andrew Diarmud (Chief Warder) have to say?
Gruber (Peter’s lawyer) listened attentively to it all.
John Finch (Hemson Banking Corp. managing director. ex-husband/father) was having the helicopter piolet give Josh Finch (6, their son, asthma) a tour around the city.
Things didn’t go as planned & the Air Ambulance (S & R) was on its way.
Judy (Catholic, divorced mom) & Betty (Gran) were on their way to the hospital.
With certain stipulations Peter was released.
How will his life turn out now?

Warning: This book contains extremely graphic adult content, violence, or expletive language &/or uncensored sexually explicit material which is only suitable for mature readers. It may be offensive to some readers.

I did not receive any type of compensation for reading & reviewing this book. While I receive free books from publishers & authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review, only an honest one. All thoughts & opinions are entirely my own.

A very awesome book cover, great font & writing style. Wow, a very well written psychological thriller book. It was very easy for me to read/follow from start/finish & never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a great set of unique characters to keep track of. This could also make another great psychological thriller movie, animated cartoon, a college PP presentation, or better yet a paid-per-view mini TV series or even a documentary (A & E, History channel; True Crime; American Crime Story; Investigative Discovery). To be continued. There is no doubt in my mind this is a very easy rating of 5 stars.

Thank you for the free Smashwords; ebook; Author; PDF book
Tony Parsons MSW (Washburn)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
This was a really good, gripping book, one that held my interest and made me look forward to the next in the series. I don't do spoilers, but will say that the author did his research into psychopaths, psychology, prison, human emotions, especially guilt, and knows how to write one heck of a thriller. While many things that happened in the book might not have seemed plausible, real life has shown us that, when it comes to psychopaths, many things thought impossible are not. Patching has written a great read, created a character, Leech, that no one ever wants to meet, added a sibling twist that was unexpected but added much to the story, and given us a forensic psychiatrist and detective team that that I want to read more of. Well done!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2016
This is the second magnificent novel I have had the pleasure to read from this exciting, talented author. His first novel, "The Hack" (an International crime thriller) was outstanding and "Remorseless" (a British crime thriller) is just as good. Remorseless is as haunting as the "The Hack" and both are suspenseful nail biting novels. The human demon known as "Leech", in Remorseless, is a cruel, brutal, sadistic, manipulative criminal, who knows how to play the system to his benefit. But, Leech does not fool everyone. In my view, Mr. Patching is a masterful storyteller. He knows how to keep the reader on the edge of their seat and keeps the readers wanting more of his stories. In my opinion, Mr. Patching is an author who should be seriously followed by any fans of criminal and psychological thriller books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2017
You dare not read more yet, you can't look away in case you miss something. Forget the washing, cleaning, gardening, gym or work, you'll not be able to put this book down.

Will Patching draws his characters so well, you feel you are inside their heads, privy to all.

This story is pausable with the bad guy Peter Leech killing at will in prison and not getting caught.

When Leech is released because he manages to convince Judge Potter (the current Chairman of the Parole Board) he is rehabilitated, to the dismay of Doc (Doctor Colin Powers), the story races along and the bodies start piling up.

Doc is still grieving over losing a loved one and Judy Finch (who is with the Parole Board), is going through a nasty time with her ex-husband but somehow a romance blossoms under difficult circumstances. The two of them get caught up with trying to second guess what Leech will do next.

This story has plenty of twists and turns to keep you entertained to the very end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2017
Overall, I enjoyed this work. It was an easy, fast read. The author captured the villain nicely, but I felt the reactions of the other main characters often seemed wrong for the situations. That said, I still enjoyed the book and have already purchased the next novel in the series.

One final note. The author mentions in his notes that people have asked him if someone as evil as his villain Leech could exist. I can assure readers such a person can exist. There was a multiple murderer in a neighboring state that was released on parole against strong warnings from many in the medical profession. But the liberal-minded parole board knew best and let him out. He was arrested about two weeks later....after a two-state murder spree. He killed three people in three days and attempted to kill a fourth. Don't believe it? Happened in Massachusetts/New Hampshire/Vermont Ion 2001. His name is Gary Lee Simpson. He's currently on death row.....again. So yes, such evil does walk the earth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse