Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheBigSick TheBigSick TheBigSick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



VINE VOICEon August 24, 2013
We fond some nesting dolls (made in Russia) on a visit to Alaska (rich Russian heritage there), and bought some as souvenir for family members. When we returned home, we realized we were short a set, so I snuck on amazon to see if they had something similar. This is a good set, but a bit "cheap". Not horribly cheap, but probably not as good as you would buy in person. The biggest complaint is that the dolls are nested together and it takes brute strength to pull them apart -- too much strength. They are no doubt mass produced, but for the price, they are made in Russia and good enough for a token gift!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 25, 2016
These arrived on time and were packaged nicely. They look just like pictured. My 8 yr old daughter thought they were "so sweet". The colors are bright and looks hand painted. For the price I thought they were well worth it. Lots of character to these little dolls. However, a couple of the dolls don't fit well together. The first two dolls are too tight and we had to twist and pull to get them apart. My daughter couldn't manage it. My husband took some sandpaper and sanded the inside edge and now it's a nice snug fit. It wasn't too difficult to fix. Overall I'm happy with the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2013
My three year old daughter loves these nesting dolls and has been playing with them for a couple of months, almost every day.

I'm giving them three stars because when we first tried to open the dolls, they were completely stuck together. My husband had to pry them apart with great effort. Once the big doll was open, the next two were also stuck. The last one that opens was fine, but those first three seemed almost fused together. Once they were opened, they would not fit back together again. There were also knots in the wood that kept falling out, so we had to glue them back in. Fortunately they did not effect the outer appearance. We had to get out a sander and sand each doll down until they finally fit together, but it was quite a bit of work!

My daughter also has a set of more expensive nesting dolls we purchased from another seller, they shipped quickly, had no knots in the wood, look so beautiful and fit together perfectly. (and they had one extra doll in the set).

She likes to play with both sets equally, but this one was a ton more work to get it to fit. I'm giving it three stars (instead of 1) because she loves them so much, the colors/painting are very beautiful, and it was very inexpensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2012
They are very nice and solid in construction, being made of wood. They snap together and pull apart easily. They are painted in a northern fashion that are aligned with my ethnic, looking familiar and not foreign as some look more hispanic and not true to historical roots.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2013
The dolls were cute but the largest one will not open to reveal the other ones. It is like they are fused together. Also, some of the sparkly dots around the head are missing. They came to me in a plain manila envelope from China with no paper work at all. I had a difficult time trying to figure who they were from but finally found out from my original order. I was told that I had a refund in August but these came later. I do hope I am not charged for these as they are defective. I do not know what else to do.
Thanks, Irene
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2017
My granddaughter loved these. The quality was amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2015
I bought these to support an art project my Pre K class were doing. I wanted something cheap and cheerful to illustrate how the dolls were painted and stacked inside one another, and that is what I got. The paint job was OK, and the faces really sweet. Some of the dolls have chipped around the edges, but I think I got what I paid for, so no complaints!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 25, 2015
Decent dolls for the price. Not perfect, but ok enough that my 5yo loves them. Paint job is just fair, wood does not smoothly fit together, but again, for the price, not a bad deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2016
these dolls are difficult for me to open and I'm a grown man. I bought these for my small daughter to play with, and there is no way she can open them. very disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2013
My daughter is almost 5. She loves these little dolls. We take them traveling and she plays with them in the back seat after she gets board drawing. These are fun to look at, and good for fine motor learning skills because of having to use their little fingers to open up the dolls and putting them back together again. Adults even seem to like them! I want to get others I have seen and start collecting them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here