Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on May 26, 2012
I've used Oral B toothbrushes for years now. I have always been more than satisfied. I purchased my most recent professional series over 6 years ago. I've always watched them and from appearances, nothing seemed to change. I was wrong! When the brand new 4000 series came out it piqued my invest. I bought one at announcement and when I opened it I was pleased by several differences:
1. The new spare toothbrush holder is better thought out and works much better than the old 'stand up' one.
2. The charging base itself is flatter and more attractive.
3. Unlike the old charging base, there is no where for gunk to pool and become unwashable. Sounds like a small thing, but who wants to look at a mess on their kitchen counter?
When I used it I found out that the improvements were more than skin deep. This is a better toothbrush. I cannot quantify it, but it does clean better, not a little bit, but a lot. In addition there were some positive functional changes.
1. The standard two minute cycle with beeps every 30 seconds has been augmented with a ' deep cleaning' cycle that simply uses the same brushing action with a three minute cycle and beeps every 45 seconds.
2. A separate polishing cycle has been added.
3. A sensitive cycle has been added. For people first converting to an electric toothbrush, especially kids, this is a plus.
4. A pressure alarm light that is easily visible has been added. This was a plus for me since I saw that I had been brushing too hard at the very back of my gums.
Is this an entirely new and revolutionary product for cleaning your teeth? No. Is a very real upgrade resulting from refining that which was already good? Yes. If your Oral B is several years old, you may want to consider upgrading.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2012
We are a family of Oral B electronic tooth brush users. I have the 3000 and the kids each have a 1000. For the extra money the only thing I see that is worth any added expense is the carrying case. My husband works out of town and this is great for him to take the brush to/from work each week. Everything else is essentially the same as my 3000. Longer cleaning cycle means it beeps at 45 seconds and not 30. So what? You can figure that out on your own without paying an extra price tag. I say buy the 3000.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2013
I had an older oral b electric toothbrush (5000 model) that lasted me a good few years. The battery in it started dying after a few brushes and the toothbrush was looking old so I thought it was time to get a new one. I purchased the 4000 model because I didn't really need the timer of the 5000 model and it looked very similar. It's not as great though. I don't know if I just have a defective one or what but the "brushing too hard" red light is constantly going off when the tooth brush is on, even when it's not in my mouth!

As to the rebate, I don't buy things just because there is a good deal going on but if I happen to find a deal for something I'm planning to buy, I will normally use it. I purchased this item which came in the Amazon Frustration-Free packaging. Sent in the rebate form, receipt, and the original UPC bar code (just like the rebate form showed), and I too got a letter stating they have not received the UPC code and to send it in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 13, 2012
This toothbrush was an upgrade from a less-expensive Oral-B model that I used for several years before it finally quit on me. I'm very pleased with this new purchase.

The Oral-B 4000 has much more power than my old toothbrush and gives a deeper clean. My teeth feel cleaner after using this brush, and though I still need to floss I can tell that this brush is doing a more thorough job of cleaning between my teeth. My teeth look whiter and my gums look healthier. I also think the design helps me do a better job of cleaning my back teeth--my jaw is small and there's not a lot of space around my back molars. This brush helps me clean the back teeth very easily, though. I've found the beeps that help you time your brushing are very helpful, and I like having the ability to switch modes. One charge lasts better than a week--nice if you're taking this on trips.

A few minor cons--this brush is heavier than the old one I was using. Not so much that I didn't get used to it quickly, but enough that I noticed. It's got more power, but it's also louder. I also think the pressure indicator is a little awkwardly placed. I've seen it--I think--when I've triggered it most of the time, but the location makes me wonder if I'm missing it sometimes.

The only feature the 5000 has that this brush doesn't is the wireless display screen. I'm not sure what that does, but after using this model I can't see the screen being necessary. I'm very pleased with this toothbrush and hope that it lasts as long as my previous Oral-B toothbrush did.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2012
The product is efficient and easy to use. However, the product was advertised to the consusmer in a faulty manner. The advertisement stated that you would receive a $20.00 rebate providing you submitted a receipt and the original UPC. (Scam--When you submit the original UPC, you no longer have a copy!) I followed the rules: submitted the receipt and the original UPC. I received a form letter that a rebate would not be forthcoming as I had not submitted the original UPC. Thus, the scam was successful. I was tempted to return the unit....however, the product is good and I have decided never to purchase any product made by Oral B. This purchase was made through Amazon!
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2012
This is a decent toothbrush. It's on par with my Sonicare, but cost 50% more.

The main warning I'd like possible consumers to know is Oral B rebate offers are difficult at best and maybe a scam. This item offered a mail in rebate, which I completed thoroughly, knowing how these things work. I got a letter saying the rebate wasn't for the toothbrush I purchased. Which is odd, because the rebate offer and PDF documentation for the toothbrush was on its Amazon product page. It had a "this item is eligible for" promotion drop down.

Long story short, with the rebate it might have been worth it, without it, it certainly wasn't. I will likely not purchase another Oral B toothbrush based on my experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2012
This Electric Toothbrush was recommended by my Dentist. One of his reasons was that the vibrating action of the Sonicare brushes loosens fillings. I have used Sonicare brushes for years and wasn't sure I wanted to change brands. My current Sonicare wouldn't take a charge anymore so I had to make a decision. I am very pleased with this Oral-B. It seems to do everything it claims but I am not convinced it is as effective at flossing as I expected it to be. During the short time I had to use a regular toothbrush, I noticed my teeth were getting yellower. Since, I am using this electric toothbrush my "pearly whites" are back to being to being just that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2013
I am very happy with this electric toothbrush. Every 30 seconds it beeps so you know you should move to a different quadrant of your mouth. It has multiple settings from soft to hard, and a setting for "polish". My only negative comment is that you can't really see the different settings while you are brushing. You either have to memorize how many times to press the button to move to a different setting, or turn it off to look at the settings on the handle. If you look while you are brushing, the paste splatters everywhere. Minor annoyance. 5 stars because it does an excellent job cleaning teeth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 13, 2014
I love this toothbrush. It is the most effective brush I ever had.
The only thing I do not care for is it pauses briefly every 45 seconds or so and this aggravates me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 10, 2012
I had been thinking about getting a new brush for a while. I have had an Oral-B Sonicare for about 4 years. It still works, but I had been thinking there may be something better with the advance of technology the last few years. The Sonicare brush vibrated from side to side, which I have always like much better than the brushes that rotate in a circle so I was very nervous about giving this brush a shot. All I can say is, WOW!

This brush is amazing. The Sonicare never seem to brush hard enough, whereas the top setting on this brush is exactly what I hoped it would be. I was also always a bit confused how firm I should hold the brush against my teeth and the 4000 series essentially makes that dummy proof as a giant red light comes on when you are pressing to firm.

The best comparison I can make is to describe this as the cordless version of the brush your dentist uses. It's that swirling brush that leaves your teeth feeling like you just left Dr. Dental's office each day. For folks that don't like as firm or rough a brush, there's enough settings to tone it down, but I have found that most brushes don't have a setting firm enough rather than delicate enough. This brush solves that problem.

I read some complaints about the handle, the charger, etc. I can't imagine why people could even complain as it's the last thing I would notice nor do I think either are a problem. The charging stand is nice and you can remove the holding case that attaches to it if you're worried about counter space. You also get a nice travel case, which is a huge plus because every time I took my sonicare on vacation, I would have to bring it with my carry on or else the on button would also get pushed in the suitcase and end up basically dead by the time I arrive.

I had a tough time justifying buying a new brush when I had one that worked fine. I couldn't be happier I took a chance as I firmly believe this brush will leave me much healthier teeth. I have to believe the Oral-B brand will last as my brush from 4 years ago is still going strong.

What a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse