Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon startrek startrek startrek  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on February 16, 2016
I've managed to avoid using this umbrella since I purchased it, until yesterday. It rained all day long, so I finally got to try it out. I felt drops on my head and back, but I thought the wind was just blowing the drops onto me. I happened to look up and see that the umbrella had several leaks. This is a brand new umbrella and the first time I've used it. I went to return it to Amazon, but the return period ended two weeks ago. I am extremely unsatisfied with this umbrella, which is not suitable for its most basic function, and I'm very disappointed in Amazon for selling such a poor product.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2015
Originally thought this umbrella was great. After 3 uses over the course of a month and a half, it began to leak at the top. What is the use of an umbrella that gets you wet. Unfortunately, it's too late to return.

Also as mentioned previously, sometimes the umbrella doesn't open all the way when pressing the button.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2016
Probably the best umbrella I've owned. Opens and closes effortlessly and reliably. It has two tie straps to secure the fabric better when it is folded. It is huge, but that is why I bought it. It replaces a compact travel umbrella that was half its size and less than half as effective. The small travel umbrella seemed useful only as a parasol on a sunny day, but wouldn't keep more than my head dry in a rainstorm. No such concerns about the RainStoppers 62 inch umbrella, however. I've used the RainStoppers 62 inch umbrella for several months and its sturdy construction holds firm in moderately strong wind. You may want to hold the handle with two hands in stronger wind, or you'll be swept aloft like Mary Poppins. Two people can fit comfortably beneath its broad canopy, and you don't have to worry about your day pack staying dry as well. I hope this one outlives its warranty.

Update: I liked this umbrella so much I bought a 2nd one in case the first became lost or broken. B-U-T: I agree with reviewers who noted that the umbrella leaks from the center, where the shaft passes through - even in moderate rain. I'm not sure how this happens. Perhaps spraying that part with a water repellent would help. I've had them well over a year now; use them 365 days a year for both rain protection and sun protection. No other umbrella I've owned has been so durable! Because it's so large, it blocks a substantial portion of the UV light that radiates from all sides. UV light not only comes directly down from the sun, but hits you straight on, from the sides and even reflecting off of surfaces on the ground. If you're really concerned about UV exposure, even the best, largest hat isn't going to do much. "50 SPF" means that you're only stopping 50% of the UV. Your lips and chin are still going to be in the sun with any hat. You need a (preferably black) umbrella, though not necessarily one this large. To actually see how much UV you're getting, pick up a package of UV-sensitive beads from JOLLY STORE Crafts. String them onto a chain or lanyard, and hang it around your neck. The beads are white, but turn colors when exposed to UV light. You can buy them right here on Amazon, and their cheap.

Another update. I wrote the above review 1 year ago. I still feel this is the best umbrella I've ever owned, and I've used it every day. The price is very reasonable. Considering the extensive use I've made of it, it holds up very well. It's solidly built. Only turned inside out once in over a year, at that time in a very strong wind. Eventually one of the spokes came loose. I cut the loose spoke off so the fabric wouldn't tear. Amazingly, the umbrella remained in its usual shape, as though nothing was broken. I just purchased a new one, because the umbrella was starting to show more signs of wear and tear. Regarding the leaking I reported earlier, I found a work-around. If possible, tilt the umbrella slightly to left or right when while using it - say 5 or 10 degrees either way. The excess water will run off the fabric, rather than down the shaft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 5, 2017
Great size. Auto open works smoothly. Wind vents work well. On a particularly wet and windy day in So Cal, everyone's umbrellas were inverting as I strolled passed them dry as a bone. On an unusually windy afternoon however, the umbrella did invert one time so I ended up walking in the rain without it. The umbrella didn't break so it still works well. I do not know how fast the winds were that day but there were weather warnings so it was unusual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2013
Very durable and strong umbrella. Playing often in the Pacific region, we often have to play on a course with strong gusting wind. I've broken quite a number of umbrellas due to this, having my golf push cart blown over while making putts on the green. Last weekend, when I walked out from the green after putting and only to realized that my golf push cart with the whole of golf bag being blown into the sand bunker but this umbrella that was attached to the push cart, half opened, came out still in good shape. I will buy another one without hesitation.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2016
I bought this to replace a standard size umbrella to use while walking our pup in the rain.

Umbrella seems well made, works well and opens and closes easily. The only slight issue I have is that the canopy is made up of two pieces. This isn't a problem, but when you go to try and shake the water off before getting in the car, if you hold it handle up as most will, some water goes inside... but I guess that's typical of this type of umbrella.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2015
Excellent large umbrella! Easily fits 2 people with complete coverage. Handles heavy Florida rain easily and has not "flipped" in the rain. My only complaint is that it lacks the class metal ring that holds the umbrella tight when it is closed. However, it does come with a handy sleeve that you can easily slip the umbrella in after each use. My preference would be to have the metal ring instead of putting it in the sleeve after every use.

Solid umbrella. I'm very pleased!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 29, 2016
Umbrella
noun
a device consisting of a circular canopy of cloth on a folding metal frame supported by a central rod, used as protection against rain.

That is what I bought. But, it's not what I got. at most it's an effective sunshade. I recently moved to the Pacific north West and decided to upgrade to something better than the $5 Home Depot umbrella that was on it's last leg. I figured I would buy something that cost a bit more and and would last more than a couple of years. Well, on my second walk in moderate rain, this "umbrella" started dripping water through the center post on top of my head. When I got back home, It looked like everything is in order and nothing was broken. But, after a 15 minute walk, my head and right shoulder were soaked enough that I had to change shirts.

I gave it two stars because it does have some nice features. However, it simply FAILS on the "RainStopper" claim. At most this is a great sunshade. Even though I hate how much of a throwaway society the US has become, I'll stop into a Home Depot the next time I'm near one and send $20 on four of their umbrellas. It'd cost less. Plus, I'd have a backups!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2015
Just what I wanted! I don't golf, but I really wanted a large umbrella. I initially ordered this umbrella to use as shade during hot hot soccer games. And it is perfect for that! I have also used it in the rain and it kept me very dry. The quality is unbeatable for such a great price!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2015
We ordered this last minute, as we had rain in the forecast for our daughter's wedding...and we had a deluge during guest arrival time. We ordered a dozen and they worked marvelous to allow someone to help escort a couple from the car and by being "friendly" keep most of 3 people dry when the rain came straight down. We had spurts of wind but didn't have huge guests to test out how sturdy it would be with gail force winds.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse