Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 704 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 783 reviews
on December 28, 2013
I bought two of these toothbrushes, one for me and one for my wife. The toothbrushes themselves are phenomenal!! The best toothbrushes we have ever used. However, the automatic cutoff for brushing too hard is just about the most irritating feature I have ever seen for any product I have ever used ever. It almost ruins everything good about this toothbrush. The problem is the over brushing is not determined correctly. It is highly dependent on angle and such of the brush and where or how this tooth brush determines the over brushing is not right. The pressure can be greater with no detection, or much less than too much and the tooth brush shuts down. It just doesn't do it right. And even if I over brush or brush too hard or whatever, I don't ever want a toothbrush that cuts off on its own again. I am telling you, it is like the most irritating thing I have ever seen in a product, and my wife agrees.

The little digital display thing that comes with the toothbrush I have never used with either of the toothbrushes. I am sure a lot of the extra cost of this model went for that useless piece of junk too. The problem with it is my wife spent about a half hour trying to figure out how to put the batteries in it and gave up. I am an engineer, so her giving up and my finally fixing whatever is not an unusual situation. But when I spent a half hour and couldn't figure out how to get the battery cover off the d@mn thing, well it went in the closet. So, all I have ever used is the toothbrush itself. The instructions were less than useless in this effort as well.

The multiple settings on the toothbrush are the second most irritating feature on a product ever. I am forever brushing my teeth and all of the sudden the toothbrush slows down or gets choppy because my fingers hit the button to change the speed or mode or whatever it is. I HATE that button and will probably try to remove it or disable it. I only ever use the highest speed mode anyway, and don't really see a purpose for the other modes.

So, all in all, a terrible product with horrible irritating features that I would never ever waste my money on again. However, it is the single best toothbrush I have ever used. I just wish I had bought a cheaper model without all of the "useful features", I think I would have been a lot happier!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read through many of the low reviews on this and I just don't agree with any of them.
As far as complaints of the batteries not lasting long:

I have proof that the way one cares for their electric toothbrush battery will determine how long the battery will live.
Two exact toothbrushes,...Two examples:
Years ago I bought myself an Oral-B Triumph. I only put my toothbrush on the charger when it needed a charge, and I only left it on the charger until it was fully charged. The charger then went into the drawer. When the battery got really low, I put it back on the charger and removed from charger after it was fully charged. About once a month, I let the brush run completely out of batteries while running, and then I recharged it in full, then removed from charger.
That toothbrush lasted for years and years and I just now replaced it with the 5000. I am treating the 5000 exactly the same.

After having bought the Triumph for myself, a couple years later I bought the same toothbrush for my husband. My husband would not listen to my advice, and he insisted on returning the toothbrush onto the charger after each use. The toothbrush lived on the charger when not in use. His toothbrush did not last nearly as long as mine did, and mine was older than his was.
So when I see complaints about the battery life, I have to ask myself how the reviewer took care of his battery. ?

The review/complaint about the tooth breaking is just plain questionable. Did he/she bang the hard plastic on their tooth? I do not see how
anyone could break their tooth with this toothbrush unless they were totally mishandling it.

I have only had my 5000 for a little over a week now, so I cannot comment on battery life as yet, but I will say that I believe this 5000 is a nice improvement over the Triumph, and I loved that toothbrush too.
I really like the remote smily guy that monitors brushing time and whether you're pushing too hard with the tooth brush. I do actually use this feature and it keeps me on track with the section timing of my teeth. I always go over the two minutes and brush more like four.

The other point that I would like to make here is that this particular toothbrush is considered the very best by our dentist and probably as well as most dentists out there. I have had a Sonicare before and did not care for it at all. It is my opinion that the shape of the teeth and gums require a rounded smaller toothbrush, especially when brushing the insides of the teeth. After all teeth are curved one way on the outside and the opposite on the inside. Only a round brush seems logical to me.
The toothbrushes with the little yellow rubber bristles are the best and get the teeth much cleaner than the brushes without them!

Excellent electric toothbrush! 5+ stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
I can't stand planned obsolescence. Unlike other toothbrushes they sell, after 3 years this one drains the battery overnight if you forget to put it in the charger. The battery is fine. If I put it in the charger, I can use it for about 10 minutes with plenty of oomf left to go.

This makes it useless for trips. Since when you get there your toothbrush is dead. And when you forget to put in the charger it'll be dead. Why does this happen? Perhaps it is the wifi, but when the toothbrush is "off" I don't see it doing anything - off should mean off. This is clearly "poor design" from my perspective and "Planned Obsolescence" from theirs. Don't get me wrong I love this toothbrush. I think the wifi is really cool in that it provides useful feedback. Having a clock in my bathroom is useful. But I am insulted that I need to spend another $100+ because they figured out how to get me replace it after 3 years. BTW when it fails I use my old electric toothbrush by them which holds the charge for weeks despite being 5 years old.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
I love this toothbrush. It cleans so much better than the Sonicare I owned previously. My dental hygienist recommended this model as it is the one that she uses and she is very fussy about teeth cleaning. She feels that the rotary motion is far superior to the sonic waves. It also has a timer with a digital readout I can watch that beeps when you have spent 30 seconds on each quadrant of your mouth. I go from tooth to tooth slowly, applying a little pressure at the gum line of each and find that it takes exactly 30 seconds to clean each quadrant. My teeth feel so good after brushing now. Last office cleaning, my hygienist told me she had to look for the plaque, there was so little. What an improvement! I highly recommend this Oral-B. The rotary system is the best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
My dental hygienist is very, very happy with the way the Oral-B Professional 5000 is working for me.

I used the Philips electric toothbrush for about a year before I left it behind when traveling and the housekeeping staff threw it away. : ( I liked it very much - very nice sleek design and charging options, not too loud, teeth felt really clean . . . but the dental hygienist didn't comment on how nice my teeth were until I came in after using the Oral-B Professional 5000 for six months.

After losing the Phillips Sonicare Diamond, I read the reviews of the Oral-B Professional 5000 and decided to try it.

I like the options and the visual display. I'm pretty easily motivated by getting 'gold stars' and seeing the little face get 'happier' when I brush longer. Seems petty, but if it works, that's good for my teeth. It is clunkier looking than the Philips, and noisier, but I really don't need quiet while I brush my teeth anyway and I'm not designing my bathroom for Architectural Digest. If you like really sleek design and neat gadgets, the Philips travel case and charging options are much nicer. If you want simple practicality (really do I need to plug my toothbrush charger into a USB port?) the Oral-B travel case is smaller and lighter.

I thought the Oral-B toothbrush would arrive with the full assortment of brush heads, but it only arrived with one brush head (unlike the Philips which had a larger and a smaller brush head). I ordered the floss-action brush head and the tip for cleaning around bridges and the gum line. I hate flossing and I use these to reduce the need to use dental floss.

If you already have the Philips, you probably aren't looking to replace it, and I wouldn't. But if you need a new electric toothbrush, I recommend the Oral-B Professional 5000.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
This is my first experience with an electric toothbrush with this kind of power and feature set, and it makes manual brushing seem like a waste of time. I've owned it for almost a year, here are my notes:

LCD Accessory Notes:

It comes with a battery-operated LCD-display accessory that shows -

> The mode you're using
> A timer
> A clock
> And a warning indicator for when you're pressing the brush against your teeth too hard.

I used it a lot...until I realized I didn't really need it for anything -

> I use the same mode all the time (and there's enough brush-speed variance between the modes that you can tell which one you're using)
> The brush stops rotating and beeps when it's time to move to the next brushing area (if in "Normal" mode; 30 seconds, then 1 beep, another 30, then two beeps...all the way to 4 beeps, then it starts over)
> I don't need the clock
> The brush has a red flashing light to warn you about the pressure.

AND...the communication between the brush and accessory uses a certain amount of battery life on both devices, but I never took the time to determine how much. I let the batteries wear out on the accessory two months ago and haven't used it since.

Other notes:

- The power button should definitely be put elsewhere. I'm used to it now, but it's in a perfectly awkward spot; I mistakenly turned the brush off several times when I was first starting.

- There are three bars on the brush to indicate battery strength; to go from a single blinking red bar to a fully charged brush takes somewhere between 18-24 hours. A full charge for me lasts about 4-5 days.

The brush is great, I'd definitely recommend it....but when the need arises for a new brush, I'll go shopping for one that's of comparable quality without the unnecessary accessory. Now that I say that.....being a new user, the accessory actually did help me get started. But if you're an experienced user just shopping around, don't let your decision hinge on the accessory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2013
My wife and I have been using the Oral B from Costco since 2007 and considered it one the best purchases we've ever made. I'm sure they were the 1,000 series, but I can't be certain. Once the batteries started dying after 6 years we looked into upgrading and chose the 5,000 series. Sure, it's pricey, but heck, I'm worth it... but is the toothbrush?

Well, the functionality of these devices remains relatively unchanged. You have a power button, and then a selection button that let's you change the mode. You also get a slick little LCD clock with a happy face that smiles when you're brushing correctly, and frowns when you're grinding the enamel off your teeth.

The available modes include settings for sensitive teeth, deep cleaning, whitening and just a normal mode for schlubs like me. Switching to the deep cleaning mode is when you begin to think that the emperor might be buck naked. Instead of the usual 2 minute, 30 seconds per quadrant routine of the normal mode... you simply brush your teeth for 3 minutes, or 45 seconds per quadrant. Gee, I just realized that my old 1,000 series had a deep cleaning mode, too. Come to think of it, the free cheap plastic toothbrush I just got from my dentist has a deep cleaning mode, too. It's called "Brush your teeth a little longer" mode. Brilliant! And they charged extra for this feature... and I paid for it!

With our old Oral B's my wife and I were always concerned about brushing too hard, as if we might accidentally sand down our bicuspids until they resembled a row of partially dissolved Altoids. Well, our worries are over with the new 5,000! The moment you apply too much pressure a menacing red light activates in the handle, and the smiley face on your LCD clock contorts into a toothless demonic entity whose appearance is so frightening you'll drop the toothbrush in fear for your life! OK, a slight exaggeration... but it does frown at you. The annoying part is that we discovered we were never applying too much pressure with our old brushes, anyway. You could always tell when you were brushing too hard. The toothbrush motor would slow down from the excessive friction. Duh. With the new 5,000 the motor slows down from the excessive friction just like the 1,000. Just remember, you don't get the menacing red light and demonic face with the 1,000 series, but you do save about $40. To summarize, I'm really glad I sprang for the 5,000 series. The menacing face on my LCD clock is convincing me to feel this way. Uh oh, he heard me... gotta go now. (help me!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on June 29, 2013
If the box is opened, containing the toothbrush AND to locate the manual, you discover that it is not advisable to use if you wear a pacemaker within six inches of the brush and of course referring to the packing list it cannot be returned if the package is opened. Therefor I cannot use it because of my pacemaker and since I opened the package to learn this, I'm not allowed to return it. I wish that sellers would let you know this limitation of pacemaker restrictions before you purchase the brush and the brushes that accompany the item.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Boy, what a difference about 8 years makes.
This electric toothbrush is terrific.
At first I thought the timer/pressure sensor was hokey, but then I realized when using it that a) I was pressing too hard on my teeth (because the electronic timer shows a sad face when you are pressing too hard) and b) that I was not brushing long enough. The timer recommends a solid 2 minutes. I was brushing about a solid minute. So, I have upped the time, when I have time.

From the first cleaning, I could tell a big difference compared to a manual toothbrush (which I had been using because my older one broke.) My teeth are super smooth.

Since I am not sharing this with anyone, I am not using the toothbrush holder, so the unit takes up very little space on my sink counter.

I would definitely recommend this and will use the travel case when I travel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
I'm always a Oral-B fan and probably will keep buying it. This particular model does it job and does its job very well, however I feel like the charge doesn't hold for long as most of the other Oral B toothbrushes, which I don't normally mind too much, however this one for some reason takes a very long time to charge to full battery. I also don't use that wireless monitor thing, so I can't vouch for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse