Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 27, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as I do all of Sophie Dawson's books! This story keep up my interest throughout its entirety! Couldn't wait to find out what was happening next. This is so well written I feel as if I know these characters personally and have feelings towards them as you would friends. I wholeheartedly recommend this book and each of the Cottonwood series to anyone who desires a really great read that leaves you with a good happy feeling. I am a faithful follower of Sophie Dawson's stories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2012
This Christian story about two families who are torn apart by tragedy and then are brought together again as one by God's Grace is very moving. Drew loses his wife in childbirth and is left with a 3 year old son and an infant daughter who cannot thrive without a mother's breast. It is only a few days later that Katie loses her husband and infant son in a tragic fire. These two grieving families are brought together as Katie is the answer to Drew's infant daughter staying alive. The tragedies and the infant bring them together, but a little boy needs a mom .... and a woman needs children and a man... and a man needs a helpmate for himself and his children...they... all need each other. Of course they do not see all of this in the beginning absorbed in grief, and seeing these grief-stricken individuals come together to create another loving family really helps the reader to see and understand God's will. This author captivates the reader in seeing the raw grief these characters experience and how they handle the stages of their grief. I also like the interaction between the secondary characters of the town, friends and family. I must admit that I have not read the other two books in the Cottonwood Series, but believe the books read very well as stand alone books. I would highly recommend these books for those individuals who are new to their Christian walk. As a new Christian is is important to be grounded in The Word starting out in the path of Christian life. Later, The Spirit controlled life sets in and you do not seem to quote scripture to yourself constantly all day long for every little decision made, as the characters in this book do. But overall this type of dialogue works well in this story. I love the discussion issues at the end of the story! These books would make excellent bible study material!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
This book was excellent reading. I read it from the front to the back cover without stopping. Their were so many issues presented in this book that I never saw coming. I loved all of the characters and the whole storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
Katie's husband and three month old son lose their lives in a fire as Katie watches in stunned horror. Held back by neighbors who do not want to see her lose her own life, the young wife and mother cannot run into the building to help save them nor to die with them. The town Sheriff,whose own young wife has just died in childbirth,questions what he must do. His tiny daughter is dying for lack of mother's milk, something only Katie can provide. But Katie is a God fearing woman, who had as her mantra "the Lord giveth the Lord taketh away", and setting her crushing grief aside, she takes the sickly child to her breast and into her heart
This novel deserves a five star rating. It is the third in the series and I will not hesitate to purchase others that may be written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2016
I love Sophie Dawson's books. The plots are realistic, the characters are engaging. I will highly recommend any of her novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2017
I enjoyed this, but, not as much as the first 2! Good Christian books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Beautiful sweet story filled with Scripture and suspense, Biblical living and loving romance! This is the connecting book between Sophie's Cottonwood Series and George McVey's Redemption Tale Series! My favorite scene is Mrs. Taylor giving "instruments" to the children! Only God can truly change a heart! I highly recommend this series!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
Sophie Dawson writes as a modern day Jane Austen might. Though set during the western frontier days, these are not shoot 'em up westerns. Rather, the stories present wonderful characters, delve into their hearts, their secrets, their responses and their relationships. In this 3rd book of the wonderful Cottonwood Series, two people who have faced terrible tragedy learn to help each other, and so to recover, and finally to love again. The assortment of colorful characters making up friends, local children, the townspeople and a villain or two are wonderfully developed and enrich the stories. This is a vey enjoyable read!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
loved it..great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
I read all three Cottonwood Books: "Healing Love", "Lord's Love" and "Giving Love". The three books can be read independently, however, once I get into a good book, I always want to read other books by the same author. The story opens as Lydia escapes an isolated life with an abusive brother, traveling as far by train as her meager funds will take her. Once she arrives circumstances put her in a situation where she has no choices, and so she does the only thing possible. The story builds from there to a very satisfying ending.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse