Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 21, 2017
The worst things in life come free to all of us, especially those who can’t measure their kindness, despite everything that happen to David Nickerson, he will realize that there’s something beyond all the bad times he’s been through and that everything happens for a reason.
Hi mother died recently, his crippled sister suddenly disappear without any explanation and David is deaf, in the middle of this crisis and desperate looking for help, he start experimenting with sacred crystals, but he won’t realize what that would unleash. This book seems like a magical journey, just by looking at the cover you feel this would be like those long dreams you have, and as soon as you wake up you want to remember everything that happened in it, it escalates smoothly from a tragic story about a hopeless teen to a quest to explore and try to understand the mystery of why everything is either good or evil.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2017
The Crystal Clipper is an imaginative and fantastical story about a teenager named David Nickerson who, through the mysterious workings magic crystals, goes on an amazing and dangerous adventure to try to help his ailing and missing sister. From the start of the story, David seems to bear the weight of his family. His mother died tragically, his father is about to lose his job, and his sister is in a wheelchair – and then goes missing!

Roman’s writing is well suited for young readers, but as an adult I found her story truly engaging. Her story is well told, and her keen sense of dialogue and human emotion kept the pages turning for me.

It might be tough at times to keep track of all the characters and all the metaphysical elements of the story, but it all pays off in the end. I really like Roman’s theme of youth empowerment, and standing up for oneself and others, especially family. In this regard, I think the book has some great encouragement to give young people.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
David doesn’t have it easy. Deaf from a childhood disease and without a mother, he rises to the challenge when his wheelchair-bound sister disappears. His delight in the crystals his aunt gives him lead to a brave new world where he gets drawn into an epic quest between good and evil. He needs to find his sister, and meets many connected souls. There are many twists, and while it’s targeted for teens or YA, I enjoyed it as an adult.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
I thought this book was a bit simple and clumsy. But perhaps adults shouldn't be reviewing "kids" books. Not a bad read, but I'm not compelled to see what the next adventure will be as the characters never developed enough for me to care about them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
This. Was a very interesting story. It was very imaginative story telling that had you thinking all along. I couldn't put it down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Equally entertaining for both adults and teens, It reminded me of my feelings when first seeing The Wizard of Oz in my early youth.The Crystal Clipper is a beautifully woven modern fantasy, that features yound David Nickerson, a deaf boy who has adapted to his disability by becoming an expert in signing and in interpreting the vibrations of his surroundings. With his mother dead, David's father faces losing his job and his sister is confined to a wheechair. His interest in crystals and their properties eventually leads him into a surreal and at times frightening new world where nothing is quite as it seems.Whicked away from his home on board a mysterious ship, The Moon Singer, David finds himself involved in a quest to not only free the people of the world he eventually arrives in, but also to find his missing sister who he is led to believe has been taken to this strange and alien land. What follows is a series of adventures that take David into the mysterious and life-threatening palace of the evil ruler of this un-named world where friends are few and the dangers many. No spoilers from me, except to say that there is nothing entirely predicatable in this story and the ending will I'm sure leave readers eagerly awaiting the next book in the series. Thoroughly enjoyable with some excellent characterisations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
A young adult book starring a teen of indeterminate age on an epic quest to find his sister, who is confined to a wheelchair. It is written in the present tense, which is awkard at times. The parallels between David's world of reality and that of fantasy lead one to believe in an alternate universe as the answer to the synchronicities in the story. Probably very interesting and a fantastic voyage for middle graders and young teens. Information about metaphysics, crystals, and perhaps quantum physics is sprinkled throughout the tale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
This book and the series is supposed to be for young adults, however I am 70 years old and found the author has been able to write so well that Moon Singer kept my interest. Most of all, she has woven beautiful uplifting messages and principles into the story line that seem to be lost to most people in this day and age. Wonderful story that everyone should read...it could revitalize your way of thinking for the better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
They say that you can't judge a book by the cover. Well, the cover is lovely -- and so is this story. And, like fine music, it has a real smooth rhythm to it, in the telling of a beautiful tale of heart-warming and mystical discovery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2016
I have read all three of the MOON SINGER triology. The stories take you on a journey with young David Nickerson and his search for answers. The blending of fantasy and reality, adventure and choices really keeps you turning the pages..The triology is written for a young/teen audience, but crosses an ageless boundary with its message. Be sure to read all three!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse