Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

  • Customer Reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 333 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 366 reviews
on October 3, 2016
The Wilson Staff 50 Elite does what any non-great golfer wants it to do: it flies far if you don't have a super-fast swing speed, and it has low spin which tends to make it go straight. It also has a softer than average feel, and it's great for chipping and putting. For any amateur golfer who is anywhere from slightly above average to horrible, look no further than this ball. I would honestly prefer to play this ball than any other ball at any price, including the vaunted Titleist ProV1 (which is 4x the price of these).

How it works is that if you have an average to low swing speed, due to the compression this ball will fly farther than most. But conversely, if you have a very fast (pro type) swing speed, the ball will fly a little less than the balls pros prefer. What's also great about this ball is that it's cheap, roughly $1/ball. So if you aren't very good and lose a lot of balls in a round, it hurts less financially when you lose one. Plus the ball is available in orange, my preferred ball color. Orange balls are much easier to see in the sky on an overcast day than a white ball. And since very few people play orange balls, you are less likely to confuse your ball on the ground with someone else's ball.

This ball should really be rated a full 5 stars by everyone who chooses to play it. If you are a near-pro golfer, you already know that you want a ball with less compression and more spin, to match your fast swing speed and ability to "work" (deliberately curve) the ball. But if you are anything less than a great golfer, buy this ball. Most of the negative customer reviews here are ridiculous. Check out the current one star reviews. One says the balls feel like rocks, another says they feel like marshmallows - obviously these are in between those two extremes. Then some say that the wrong product was sent or they got the wrong color from their seller. That is not a review of THIS product, and is no reason for one star. And there are some 3 star ratings that claim the ball "wears out" after a full round (18 holes) or two. Look, if you can play an entire round without losing a ball, retire that ball. Considering the costs of playing golf, why be cheap and play a $1 ball for more than one round? Serious tennis players do not keep playing the same balls match after match, and there's no reason anyone should play a $1 golf ball for more than one round. Frankly I'd love to finish a round with the same ball from the first tee, something I've never done.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
A lot of very good golfers are switching to lower compression balls of various vendors and seem to like them. So after a bit of research, I decided to give these a try and bought a box figuring if they didn't work out, I'd give the rest of the balls to First Tee. I still was a bit concerned about the 50 compression as I'm a 10 index and used a harder more "brand named" ball.

Tried one ball for 2 rounds. Hardly any wear on them after those 2 rounds. Drives are about the same distance - 225 yds (I'm 73 yo),
however I noticed the irons and hybrids seemed to go 1 club length further so I had to adjust there.

But the real difference is in putting and chipping. Much nicer "soft feel" and control. Based on those 2 18 hole rounds, I ordered another 5 boxes to make sure I have a supply in case Wilson ever discontinues them. That should last me a l-o-n-g time as I use a ball until it "disappears". An added bonus is these are priced at $1/ball, yet these are NOT "cheap" junk balls.

I used to use yellow colored balls but liked the orange since too many of my golfer friends are starting to use yellow. Orange is very easy to spot in fairway and/or off fairway and the orange let's me know which ball is mine.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
These golf balls are amazing for the price. First of all they bite nicely around the greens. They are also very long. My drives are normally between 285 yards and 300 yards. It feels amazing to see my orange ball 30 yards past the other guys I play with. Conventional wisdom says that low compression balls are for lower swing speeds, but I believe that you should decide what you like based on feel. I love this ball and my swing speed is above 115 mph. My Pro V1's and TP5s are out of the bag!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
This is what I play. When you play to a high handicap (like I do), be honest with yourself and others. play a high vis low cost ball that feels nice. I dislike waiting on another duffer who hunts a lost ProVX in the woods for 6minutes. Take your medicine, drop another ball, and lets all have more fun. Please.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
For the price it's very tough to beat. I have played every ball made and that isn't an exaggeration. This is a soft ball so around the green and I find it nearly perfect. I even tried a dozen Wilson Duo's but for the price it's no contest, I can't tell the difference. Great distance, good feel and I like the feel putting. It is consistent and I have absolutely no complaint whatsoever. I have purchased at least 4 dozen, and I'll order a few more before I try something else. I have not heard any complaints like the Tommy Armour balls, and given the choice between the NXT-S, the Bridgestone E-6 and these, I'll take the Wilson.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2014
These Wilson Staff 50 Elite's may be the best ball for the money I have ever played. I spend 24 years in the sport's industry, the last 10 as the golf buyer for Copeland's Sports so needless to say, I've tried a lot of golf balls! I'm a fair golfer--a perpetual 19 handicap--but have always been a golf ball snob. Back in the day, I was fortunate enough to be a "tester" for many brands.

The secret seems to be the super soft Ionomer cover combined with a low compression core that lets a slower swing speed really make the ball fly. Usually 2 piece balls are supper hard, and real "clicky" off the putter. These balls putt like a ball that costs as much per ball as you would pay for a sleeve of these! Their feel around the green is great as well.

For the money these are the best I've ever used. Plus they come in 3 colors!

And p.s. if you play a lot of golf, and own your company, Wilson can logo these with full color logos (some company's cannot do full color on color balls). Comet Realty's light green really pop's off the orange balls!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2017
These balls are BRIGHT! Southern California, known for its super hot and harsh sun, these balls can be seen from afar. The playability is definitely no Titleist, Callaway or Taylormade but these balls are about a third of the price. I would definitely purchase these balls again. I feel the balls are easy to control compared to other balls in its price range. Build quality and its claims seem to be up to par. For the price, I'd keep using them until I'm ready to upgrade to the more expensive balls.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
I'm a scratch golfer and play with top balls from Nike, Srixon and Titleist. I found one of these balls and played it for a few holes and man I couldn't be more impressed. I ordered a couple dozen and I enjoy the fact I can get them in orange for playing in the late fall with all the leaves. If highly recommend these to anyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
I have been using the 50 Elite balls since shortly after they came after playing the Callaway Supersoft balls for a bit. I liked the Supersoft's a lot but I got a slightly better feel from these. I usually use the yellow but in the fall they were hard to spot on my local courses so I tried the orange and they just pop. Not a single lost ball yet. Great balls at a phenomenal price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
Excellent ball; Yellow ball has dramatic price increase from $11 and change to over $17. White currently is in the $12 range.

01/30/17 - Good grief! - get’em while you can - Yellow balls back down to $12.99
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse