Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheBigSick TheBigSick TheBigSick  Echo Dot Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite The Evil Within 2 Shop now



on May 13, 2013
Let me start by saying this guitar is actually a pretty good deal. I am serious, 18 dollars for a full 6-string guitar the size of a ukulele? Awesome! I bought this for myself as a joke not really expecting much. I saw the low reviews, many of them being 1-star and was a bit hesitant, but seeing it was 10 dollars I decided to drop the money as I would not be losing too much. Many of the reviews complained that this was just a toy and not a real instrument, I beg to differ.
Now I play guitar (an electric and acoustic) and have been playing for the past 10 years. I am quite knowledgeable in the workings of a guitar and how to set it up. If you notice, many of the 1-star reviews state that this is a bad product because the strings broke and the replacement strings broke too. Let me start off by saying that this is totally expected. Even when buying a high-end guitar, many players if not all, replace the strings with ones they prefer for both sound, quality, and the how long the string will last. Saying that a string broke is not a reason to say this is a bad product. That is like saying a 5000 dollar Gibson guitar is rubbish because its strings broke. As soon as you get this guitar, replace the strings, I suggest with actual guitar strings than the rubbish wire they give. Might I recommend (I am not an affiliate of this company) D'addario Classical Nylon High-Tension Strings. Any type of high tension nylon string will be perfect for this size of guitar and will be easy on the guitar. Reviews have stated that the tuners can't not stay in tune at all, that is also a big lie. There are screws behind each tuner that can be tightened as to stay in tune. Also, THIS CAN HANDLE STANDARD TUNING, YOU NEED TO HAVE THE RIGHT STRINGS.
MOST IMPORTANT PIECE OF ADVICE: IF YOU BUY THIS FOR YOUR KID OR FOR YOURSELF, PLEASE, TAKE THIS INSTRUMENT TO BE PROPERLY SET-UP BY AN ACTUAL GUITARIST OR SPECIALIST. IT WON'T COST A DIME (EXCEPT FOR NEW STRINGS, BUT THEN THE NET COST WOULD ONLY GO UP A FEW DOLLARS) TO BE SET UP PROPERLY AND YOU WILL HAVE AN INSTRUMENT THAT WILL SOUND GREAT AND PLAY WELL.
P.S. As to address reviews that talk of structural integrity, I cannot weigh much opinoin on this as I am a musician and know proper care and maintenance if you are to give this to a child I think it should be able to hold up. However if at any case this does get broken, I wouldn't really blame the product as said THIS IS AN INSTRUMENT NOT A TOY. Depending on the repair, wood glue designed for wooden instruments should handle any break.
AGAIN, THIS IS A REALLY GOOD INSTRUMENT FOR ITS PRICE. HAVING THE KNOWLEDGE TO SET IT UP PROPERLY WILL GREATLY IMPROVE THE USEFULNESS OF THIS AND WILL TAKE THIS "TOY" AND TURN IT INTO AN INSTRUMENT OF MUSIC.

EDIT: You'll notice there are fret markings on the guitar. I etched them in there myself.
99 comments| 282 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 23, 2013
So rating this was hard to give an accurate star-rating. It came in the original packaging (like the light, cardboard package the guitar was in) and nothing more! I was shocked that the thing wasn't damaged in shipping considering there was NO protection for it at all. The company literally slapped the shipping label over the original box. Very weird!
The neck is made of that cheap, compressed sawdust (sorry don't know the technical term...) The tuning keys are loose and there is no way to realistically tighten them into the neck so as to tune the strings. The neck paint job had minor cracks in it. The nut had completely come unglued and was hanging literally by the strings (this was easily reglued). However, the strings are actually real (as in, not plastic.) Overall, THIS IS MOST DEFINITELY A TOY!! And a cheap, borderline damaged one at that.
I would have given this a single star except for the fact that I only pain $6 for it. It's worth that, but not a cent more. It was purchased as a toy for my toddler who is in absolute love with it. So it was worth the money, but as I say, I would have immediately wanted a refund if I had even paid $10. Guess I got lucky??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 3, 2015
Do not buy this ......its not worth the money.....it suck and it came late!!! Work job was really bad in making this product!!!...it's not worth as a toy either...will be returning back and I'll just get a real one on my trip to Mexico ...:) I would give it a no star at all...
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2015
I AM AN EXPERIENCE GUITAR PLAYER --- THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS GUITAR

-do NOT buy this guitar if you are even a little serious about playing or learning guitar.
-I only would give this to a very little kid to just throw around and pretend they are playing........even then you can spend a little more and get something more "decent"

-do NOT waist your money.

-Even if you have the experience to do a setup on this guitar youself, its a waist of time and energy.
its junk.
.......please don't waist your time and money...I'm just trying to tell you the 100% truth.

-WHAT ABOUT THE POSITIVE VIDEO REVIEW ON THE MAIN PAGE????
-He put some work into it and made it a little better......I"m sorry but its still worse than a junk guitar.
the heads do not hold.......yes I've tightened, messed with them...ect...it NEEDS new heads........thats another $30.......which you could have just bought a MUCH better guitar now if you spend that money on heads.
the fretboard is one of the worst I have seen....and some with the bridge.
it really fails on the bridge.......and VERY unreliable system.
this adds up to everything you DON'T want in a guitar...this one has it.
-You're better off buying a $40 lanikai ukulele.....quality is farrr better than this.

EXPERIENCE: Worked at a guitar store ----played guitar for 10 Years - ----- Owned 15 guitars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 19, 2017
The guitar itself seems to be ok. Was tuning before wrapping as a Christmas gift for my child when string already broke. They are very thin metal string that break with 1 1/8 turn. Sound quality is not very good especially for teaching a 5 year old child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2014
UPDATE TO ORIGINAL ONE STAR: WE were sent a 2nd guitar to replace the one that broke and our younger son actually broke it, BUT that was completely his fault. we attached a bracket to the back of the one that had broken and used some wood glue to fix it and it has held up wonderfully. We can tighten the strings and its fine. Our 4 year old plays this guitar every single day and loves it :) We appreciate the good customer service to make up for what happened and it is still a very "cheap" wood but its also inexpensive SO plan to strengthen that neck a bit and you should love this like we do!!! :)

ORIGINAL POST:
SO UPSET.... I wanted to love this guitar, it was SO cute, the strings were better quality than expected, my son was over the roof excited.... after tuning the guitar (as instructions said and not too tight), the neck started to crack and broke from the little bit of tension from the strings. We are headed to the toy store to buy a new guitar asap because my 2 year old LOVED this and is so upset that it is broken. I am super bummed. It's absolutely adorable but even for the $22, the quality wasn't worth it, more like something I would pay $5 for in Mexico.... :(
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2018
Cute and perfect small size for my daughter but the strings don’t tighten. I get she won’t be playing it but at least if the strings tightened she could pretend. Seems dangerous super loose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2017
The only reason this got 1 star is because it arrived on time. This is so cheaply made. The outer covering started peeling at the neck. The neck is still attached but is hanging onto the stripped off part. My son was not rough with it at all. In fact, he babied it because he wanted one for so long. Of course, we missed the return date because we purchased it as a present and hid it for 3 weeks. Total piece of junk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2018
Gave one star because there is no option for zero stars. It looks great for size, color, etc....but the guitar is "fake". The strings are fake, they won't strum or make any noise. It is very cheesy. For a child's first guitar it is definitely not what you want. Was very disappointed. But I must say that their customer service was great and they took it back in return and even refunded my shipping. Great customer service, horrible product. Sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2012
Well, for $20, I thought this was a good deal. It has real steel strings and comes with an oversized pick (for small fingers) and an extra replacement string. This extra string was used the first day, as a string broke when I tightened the tuning knob. I advise against tightening the knobs more than a touch!

Other than that, the finish is good-looking and I know my 2 year-old nephew will love it because it looks just like mine which he wants to play all the time (but is too expensive to let him play, tho)!! Of course, after playing with his own guitar, he wanted to switch and play mine again. I told him that's why I bought him a guitar. He seemed happy with it and carried the guitar around with him all evening and even brought the pick with him to the dinner table.

A major problem, as others have mentioned, is that the knobs to tighten the string won't stay in place (they're not tightly set in the hole) when you try to tune it. Don't tighten too much! I think there's a sticker on there that warns against trying to tighten the knobs much, so follow those instructions! Of course, it makes the chords printed on the back of the box odd because you couldn't really play chords on this toy anyway. I might actually use it for my own playing, tho, because it lists the chords in different keys. However, it suits our purposes and he gets to strum on something no matter what notes it's playing; he can even beat it up if he likes or pound it without me tearing my hair out. So, we're both happy!

It's really pretty, too, in my opinion. And, I got the color and style noted in the ad, versus what some other sellers are sending out: "color varies." Nah, I'm too picky for that. I read all the reviews and compared similar products and sellers and got exactly what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse