Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on July 6, 2015
This is a short book, novella length, easy reading, fitted to young adult readership, though not restricted to that group.
It is set in the 1970s to ‘80s, and the underpinning idea that drives the overall story of a girl’s years through adolescence to early adulthood is a love of the music of the Beatles; so it may also appeal to older adults – the now fifty-plus.
The chapters are crafted like short stories, but together they tell a continuing story.
In a few parts there seemed to be a gap and I found myself having to go back a couple of pages to check if I’d missed some explanation. Most books tell too much, but this is one that could do with a little more, at least in some places.
I expect we’ll hear more from this Author in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
The tale of a girl growing up in a small town is told in short-story snapshots rather than a continuous narrative, with titles of Beatles songs as a unifying thread. Some reviewers seem to have been negative about this but it makes perfect sense - in terms of length and time span - for what the book sets out to convey.

The sense of adolescent isolation and frustration in the early parts rings true to life - the on/off friendships, the awkwardness with the opposite sex, the preoccupied incomprehension on the part of the parents, the sense of claustrophobia and desire to escape to the big city that will magically bring fulfilment, even the notion that the heroes on the bedroom wall somehow understand and know the answers. What is less typical is the grief over the brother (and fellow Beatles lover) who leaves and never calls. In this light the Beatles become the only remaining link to what may or may not be lost.

The style is natural and smooth and suits the everyman (everywoman?) aspects of the setting and themes. The book as a whole is simple without being simplistic, light without being trivial, and more than value for the almost token price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
Rain Clouds and Waterfalls is a novella that spans the growing up years of Ellen Clemens in the late 1970’s to1980s. An ardent fan of the Beatles their music is pivotal to everyday moments in Ellen’s life. Piper Templeton’s idea to use a Beatles song to head each chapter and to carry its theme throughout the chapter is ingenious. The story touches on subjects like sexual harassment, domestic violence, and heartbreak but without too much drama. Indeed the brevity with which Middleton handles these subjects leaves an impact. The ending was sad and I hope there is more to come that will tie up the loose ends, I look forward to reading the sequel or another book by this very talented writer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
As a fan of Beatles music, my interest in Ms. Templeton's book was sparked immediately. Each chapter centers around a song title in a very creative way. By the end of each chapter, it was fun to look back at the correlation.
The story of Ellen and how she handles each predicament in her life by relating it to her favorite Beatles song is handled well by the author. She skillfully shows how music can validate and sooth human emotions and can be the best medicine for what ails us. Ellen handles some pretty tough situations: childhood friendships and first loves fizzling out, estranged family members, domestic violence and sexual harassment in the workplace, yet there are many instances where I found a smile on my face. Humor was used in all the right places to lighten up the dark corners. Ellen was truly a loveable main character and I was drawn to her to the end.
Beatles fan or not, this book has something to offer anyone who loves a good, character-driven story. It was an enjoyable trip back in time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2015
I wasn't too sure about this book when I first started reading it – it seemed a little disjointed, and I wondered where it was going, but I stuck with it, and I'm glad I did. Although essentially a bunch of short stories told by a young girl as she struggles to find her way through life, I found myself warming to her, and by the time I reached the end of the book, I was sad it had finished. The clever way the author weaved the Beatles and their music into the story was an added bonus. Overall, I really enjoyed this well written, interesting book that grew on me with every page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
This book features quick-reading chapters that give snapshots of Ellen's life as she grows from a school-aged girl into a young lady. She is forced to face the loss of a couple of people who are very important to her, and the reader is able to see how these losses continue to affect her as she matures. The author did a terrific job of interweaving Ellen's love of the Beatles into not only the chapter titles, but also the story itself. Ellen's near-obsession with the Beatles pulls you into her tale even more with tie-ins to actual places and events. I liked getting to jump ahead with each chapter to see where Ellen's life had taken her, as well as who was still important to her. If you are looking for your next thoughtful, satisfying book, give this novel a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
I loved this book - I was a Beatles fan starting when I was 3 years old in 1963 and this book really talked to me. Completely empathized with the main character over the loss of John Lennon in 1980 (the first Christmas with my husband who gifted me with Double Fantasy). Anyone even a little a fan will love this and the story surrounding the Beatle theme was excellent. Get this!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
This is a delightful coming of age story. I really wish Amazon would allow 4.5 stars instead of only 4 or 5, that would be my preference. That being said, it was a delightful journey through the history of the Beatles and a young lady's navigation through life with the Beatle's songs as her inspiration. It was a fun read. The pace was rather slow, but that worked out. It was a book I could put down and pick up when I needed short breaks from my other tasks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
nice nostalgic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse