Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 30, 2015
I wasn't too sure about this book when I first started reading it – it seemed a little disjointed, and I wondered where it was going, but I stuck with it, and I'm glad I did. Although essentially a bunch of short stories told by a young girl as she struggles to find her way through life, I found myself warming to her, and by the time I reached the end of the book, I was sad it had finished. The clever way the author weaved the Beatles and their music into the story was an added bonus. Overall, I really enjoyed this well written, interesting book that grew on me with every page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
This is a short book, novella length, easy reading, fitted to young adult readership, though not restricted to that group.
It is set in the 1970s to ‘80s, and the underpinning idea that drives the overall story of a girl’s years through adolescence to early adulthood is a love of the music of the Beatles; so it may also appeal to older adults – the now fifty-plus.
The chapters are crafted like short stories, but together they tell a continuing story.
In a few parts there seemed to be a gap and I found myself having to go back a couple of pages to check if I’d missed some explanation. Most books tell too much, but this is one that could do with a little more, at least in some places.
I expect we’ll hear more from this Author in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
Rain Clouds and Waterfalls is a novella that spans the growing up years of Ellen Clemens in the late 1970’s to1980s. An ardent fan of the Beatles their music is pivotal to everyday moments in Ellen’s life. Piper Templeton’s idea to use a Beatles song to head each chapter and to carry its theme throughout the chapter is ingenious. The story touches on subjects like sexual harassment, domestic violence, and heartbreak but without too much drama. Indeed the brevity with which Middleton handles these subjects leaves an impact. The ending was sad and I hope there is more to come that will tie up the loose ends, I look forward to reading the sequel or another book by this very talented writer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
Excellent short stories with a Beatle's theme. Ironically, just saw 1964, The Tribute, by far the best Beatles tribute band. One can tell the reflections by the author are part of her life story like all our prose. Imagine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
As a fan of Beatles music, my interest in Ms. Templeton's book was sparked immediately. Each chapter centers around a song title in a very creative way. By the end of each chapter, it was fun to look back at the correlation.
The story of Ellen and how she handles each predicament in her life by relating it to her favorite Beatles song is handled well by the author. She skillfully shows how music can validate and sooth human emotions and can be the best medicine for what ails us. Ellen handles some pretty tough situations: childhood friendships and first loves fizzling out, estranged family members, domestic violence and sexual harassment in the workplace, yet there are many instances where I found a smile on my face. Humor was used in all the right places to lighten up the dark corners. Ellen was truly a loveable main character and I was drawn to her to the end.
Beatles fan or not, this book has something to offer anyone who loves a good, character-driven story. It was an enjoyable trip back in time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
This book features quick-reading chapters that give snapshots of Ellen's life as she grows from a school-aged girl into a young lady. She is forced to face the loss of a couple of people who are very important to her, and the reader is able to see how these losses continue to affect her as she matures. The author did a terrific job of interweaving Ellen's love of the Beatles into not only the chapter titles, but also the story itself. Ellen's near-obsession with the Beatles pulls you into her tale even more with tie-ins to actual places and events. I liked getting to jump ahead with each chapter to see where Ellen's life had taken her, as well as who was still important to her. If you are looking for your next thoughtful, satisfying book, give this novel a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
I loved this book - I was a Beatles fan starting when I was 3 years old in 1963 and this book really talked to me. Completely empathized with the main character over the loss of John Lennon in 1980 (the first Christmas with my husband who gifted me with Double Fantasy). Anyone even a little a fan will love this and the story surrounding the Beatle theme was excellent. Get this!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
This is a delightful coming of age story. I really wish Amazon would allow 4.5 stars instead of only 4 or 5, that would be my preference. That being said, it was a delightful journey through the history of the Beatles and a young lady's navigation through life with the Beatle's songs as her inspiration. It was a fun read. The pace was rather slow, but that worked out. It was a book I could put down and pick up when I needed short breaks from my other tasks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
nice nostalgic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2017
I "read" the audio version of this book; that in itself is a big plus for me! I frequently listen to audio books or the text-to-speech accessibility feature of books while I multi-task. Professional narration by Audible conveys the nuance of words and tone of the scene in a way that text-to-speech cannot. It really brings a book to life!

Rain Clouds and Waterfalls follows the life of Ellen, a school girl in the '70s, to adulthood in 1990. The most notable and enduring of Ellen's qualities is her fanatical obsession with the Beatles, and that provides the thread which connects the chapters which are snapshots of her life. Given this, I half expected actual Beatles music to be present in the audio book. Alas, it is only present to the same extent as in the other forms of the book, with mentions of albums, songs, and Beatles history and trivia.

Ellen evolves as a person during the course of the book. She starts as a timid member of a dysfunctional family, and gives up the idea of college because she mistakenly believes her future is with the guy who has been using her for sex. We see her as sexually abused in the 1980s workplace, in a way that would not be tolerated today. By the end of the book she has moved past that situation, and is considering furthering her education.

The ending wraps up some loose ends with a nice twist and a hopeful outlook . If you are a Beatles fan, and grew up during that era, you will enjoy this book. Try it on Audible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse