Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18SW_gno



on March 7, 2015
I read many reviews for various telescopes in this price range before choosing this one. In the end I chose this for the following reasons:

1. The specifications of the scope. 90mm is the largest refractor scope in this price range.
2. The image is not reversed or upside-down. This means daytime terrestrial viewing is possible.
3. The mount is not a typical alt-azimuth. It has fine tuning knobs so you can track during celestial viewing.
4. This scope came with 3 eyepieces and a 2x Barlow lens. It also has a red dot view finder.

I was very skeptical due to the lack of reviews but it came with everything I wanted as a first time buyer. It arrived professionally packaged and with all the pieces. It was simple to assemble and I was outside calibrating the view finder within about 10 minutes. The moon is amazing, especially when less than half full. I can see Jupiter with 4 of its moons and if focused properly I can see the two major bands across its surface. To see Jupiter clearly I found the best method is to choose your eyepiece, focus it using the surface of the moon, and then use the view finder to target the planet.

The only thing I think this telescope could benefit from is a finer focus knob. It is however adequate if you are patient or use the method I mentioned above. I am attaching a photo of the moon I took my first day of use. I took the picture using my phone by just holding it up to the eyepiece so it is not crystal clear. The image you see through the eyepiece is very clear. I hope this helps others who are considering this purchase.
review image
1010 comments| 777 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Astronomyon February 13, 2016
Meade Infinity 102mm Refractor Telescope review:
UPDATE June 12, 2016: I've since upgraded and now own this Meade Infinity 102mm Refractor telescope and sold my Meade 90mm Refractor Telescope.
Why Amazon have the reviews all mixed up for the different Meade Infinity series is not nice, especially when I had purchased two different telescope and have to use the same review to either rewrite or add to it is beside me and I think that is not the way it should be.

Anyway I got this Meade 102mm telescope Tuesday 07, June 2016 and it came well packaged, all items intact and am fully satisfied with what I received. It took me less than 10mins to setup and have it ready for use for first light. I also got the Red Dot viewfinder set into the Telescope and did my adjustments, focusing the telescope on an object a few miles away. It took me about 5mins or less to get the Red Dot viewfinder perfectly aligned. I then looked at Saturn to see if the Red Dot viewfinder was perfectly aligned and all was OK.
I then took out my Meade 90mm Telescope to compare the difference in viewing, using on both of them the same eyepieces. I selected the 26mm eyepieces, seeing I now have 2 eyepieces of the same from both telescopes.
I placed both telescopes side by side and set it upon Saturn. I elected Saturn seeing its the smallest and easily seen planet at the moment, that way I can actually see how well both will display Saturn. Looking at Saturn from both telescopes have shown me quite a difference.
Lets consider the 90mm; when you look at Saturn you definitely see it but much smaller and can make out the ring around Saturn but not the Cassini band and i.e. bare in mind using the 26mm eyepiece.
Looking through the 102mm using the same 26mm eyepiece at Saturn brings the planet a little closer to your eyes and have a clearer and brighter view also you have a very marginal wider field of view but not much to make a fair comparison with the 90mm. I did not see the Cassini band using the 26mm eyepiece on the 102mm Telescope.

The next day I took them out and decided to look at a communication tower located several miles away in the horizon and when I looked through using the same 26mm eyepieces you definitely have a much closer and detailed view of the top of the tower with the 102mm telescope. Whereas the 90mm you have a clear view but its seeing the tower a little further away and don't see too much details but just barely.
In summing up I'd say that the Meade 102mm is much brighter and better viewing enjoyment than the Meade 90mm. All in all I still love both Telescopes but a friend of mine came by and saw the 90mm and asked me to buy it and I sold it. So now I have only the Meade 102mm which I'm enjoying very much.

Meade Infinity 90mm Refractor Telescope review:
This is the first Telescope I've ever owned, and also the very first time I ever looked into a Telescope. Setting up everything was just around ten minutes or less.
I got a small packet of tools, 1 Phillips screwdriver, 1 triangular shaped flat head screwdriver and 2 different size spanner. I did not need to use any of the tools to setup the entire apparatus.
I love the red dot viewfinder and found it very easy to align with the telescope. I aligned it using a distant object in the horizon with the Telescope, centering the eyepiece with the Telescope then taking the red dot viewfinder to align with the red dot. All that I did late in the evening time. I then used it at night and looked at a distant star with the red dot viewfinder then in turn looked at the star through the Telescope and it was perfectly aligned. Amen
The tripod came already assembled in its own box while the Telescope came wrapped in its own box, all items was placed in a bigger box so it looks as one item. As advertised on Amazon I got everything as described and was not disappointed.
As described with the Telescope all is seen completely upright as if you're looking through a binoculars with one eye. For terrestrial use this is ideally suited for me. So up is up, down is down, left is left and right is right.
I will later on look at the planets and star clusters etc to see what more I can see and as much as I can see.
I had a quick look at the Moon and its quite breathtaking seeing the craters of the Moon with so much details.

UPDATE MARCH 19, 2016: I got up this morning approx 1:30 AM and could not go back to sleep and decided to walk out my back step and what did I saw was both Saturn and Mars with the Moon approx 30 degrees (i.e. from the horizon to the Moon) setting at the west. I decided to take my Telescope and view those planets. I was really amazed, it's the first time I've ever seen Saturn & its rings using all the different eyepieces. I also had a good long look of Mars and was all excited about my short night events.
A few nights ago I also viewed Jupiter and was amazed with so much details to see the bands on Jupiter and seeing 4 of Jupiter's Moon.

Coming back to the red dot viewfinder; I did some very fine tweaks to it and now its spot on. Once you find the object with the red dot and you look into the Telescope its right on the target.
11 comment| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2016
This telescope is awesome. It is the best choice for beginners to astronomy. It is very affordable and gives you the best bang for your buck. This telescope can see Jupiter and it's 4 moons, saturn, mars, and Venus. Not to mention the moon. Also, you can see the andromeda galaxy and the Orion Nebula. Those are just the highlights. You can see much, much more! I highly recommend this thing to everyone who is curious of what's out there.
review image
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 23, 2016
I have this scope and a Meade Polaris 130 but this Infinity 90 gets more use. The Polaris 130 gathers more light and shows more stars at night, but the Infinity 90 is better for daytime viewing as well as viewing the moon and planets at night. It seems that the lenses in the Infinity 90 produce a higher resolution image than the mirrors in the Polaris 130.

If you're considering this for daytime use or just for looking at the moon then I would suggest a moon filter. Using a moon filter for daytime viewing allows you to enjoy longer viewing sessions without straining your eyes too much. A moon filter is almost a necessity for viewing the moon, otherwise your eyes will get overpowered.

This scope does show chromatic aberration under certain circumstances, notably when the image has high contrast sharp differences between light and dark. You'll see a violet fringe in some areas and a yellow fringe in others. More expensive apochromatic scopes will reduce the aberrations but I've used very expensive apochromatic (+ED glass) optics and they're better (and way more expensive), but even those may show chromatic aberration given the 'right' circumstances.

If you're predominately using the scope for daytime viewing and you want to point it downwards (because you're on a hill or mountain and want to look down) then you may consider alternative products. This scope can only point straight or upwards. You can turn it around on the tripod mount but then you can only point straight and down and the handle on the mount is then facing away from you. I've seen Vixen scopes with tripod mounts that can be pointed downwards and upwards but they're at least $ 100 more expensive than this scope.

I have an old webcam with a telescope adapter that I attached to this scope with which I shot attached moon picture. I did sharpen the image using a photo editor (GIMP). The webcam only has a 640x480 resolution but I think it does a decent job.

This is a very nice all-round telescope that will do a good job for both daytime and planetary/moon viewing at night.
review image
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2015
This Meade Infinity 50 telescope is a fantastic entry-level telescope, whether you're getting it for your science-loving kid or for yourself (it's mine, all miiiiine!). I've never used a telescope before, despite a lifelong fascination with outer space, and this is so much fun! It came mostly-assembled already, and the remaining pieces were easy to put together. The instructions in the booklet were fairly clear, and I didn't have to use the included CD, but it's there if you need it. The only parts I had a little trouble with were:

- which way to put the eyepiece in for the last step in assembly (you want the little round hole to go right up against your eye), and
- adjusting the optical viewfinder to match the telescope. The instructions on this were fine, it was just more challenging than I expected, since every little nudge changed everything a lot.

Once I got it all together, this beauty is a joy to use. I love that it DOESN'T flip everything upside down like many telescopes, it just flips right-and-left, which is so much easier (IMO) to handle.

I wish it came with an actual storage case for the eyepieces and other accessories - for now, I'm just putting them in the small box they arrived in if I need to put this away in long-term storage. For short-term storage, the tripod does fold up nicely with the telescope still attached, so you can stick this in a closet without an issue, it just will use up more space than disassembling everything would.

I'm including a few photos I took (during the day) to give you an idea of the magnification of this telescope. I took them just by putting my iPhone up against the eyepiece, so they're NOT great quality, but it should help.

I'm very happy with this telescope, and am looking forward to using this to enjoy our upcoming "supermoon" and eclipse!

(I received a free sample of this product in exchange for testing, inspecting and reviewing it. I received no other compensation for my review and always give my honest and unbiased opinion of each product. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2017
Meade 102mm it's a great telescope first night out I saw Jupiter and it's bands with three moons, Saturn with its rings, and the moon. I also looked at Vega. The tripod is pretty sturdy doesn't shake too much only when you adjust it. Assembly was a breeze. The red dot finder scope makes finding things easier I haven't gotten it fully accurate but got it close enough to find it with in 5-10 seconds. A great telescope for beginners or even amateur. Update the more I use it the more I love it you can see clusters and some galaxies. But I would recommend upgrading the lenses
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2016
This review is for the 102mm AZ. Why Amazon insists on putting reviews for all sizes of this scope in, is beyond me and not really helpful. I wonder if they do this for other products also, never really noticed. Anyway, backyard astronomy newbie here, and seeing as I live in a city environment with all kinds of light pollution and buildings, I wanted a good beginner scope that at least I'd be able to observe the moon and some planets well. I decided on a refractor and seeing as this was probably the biggest aperture scope I could find and afford, I went with the Meade 102.
The scope arrived in a couple days, triple packaged well. Assembly was easy, just attach tray to tripod, slow motion controls to mount , scope to mount and red dot finder to scope. All done with out the need of tools (used a quarter to tighten the slow motion control screws, as there's a Phillips head and a couple wrenches in the tool kit, but didn't need them) The only issue I had is the fact the scope is attached to the mount by one thumbwheel and screw only (even though there are two holes in the bracket on the scope) which shouldn't be a problem as long as you check the thumbwheel for tightness occasionally. It's secure enough when tight.
The red dot finder at first seemed to be sort of useless until lo and behold, I found the red dot. I lined it up outside in the daytime at first, getting to know how to use (don't forget to turn it off) it and have yet to "fine tune" it as the instructions say at night, where it should be easier using the moon instead of a tree trunk off in the distance. "Centering" in the scope is sort of easy, but the center of the finder seems to be a little subjective as you move your head. Oh well, figured I'm going to be starting out with the moon and Jupiter and whatever I can see during the day.
Trying to decide which type of mount to buy was an issue also. I was close to buying a scope with an EQ mount but now that I have one with an AZ mount I'm glad I got this one. It's up and down, back and forth (you can lock it from going sideways), which seems to be enough for a beginner, plus with the a little practice the slow motion controls (fine tuned up and down back and forth) ought to be enough to track objects. Trying to locate the north star in my area is generally a pain anyway, and if I get the point where I want to see deep space anything I'll either have take a trip or buy a bigger telescope.
The 3 eyepieces plus Barlow are a plus, and seem to me to be well made and good enough to start out on, but I did order a moon filter and a medium upgraded eyepiece just in case. Haven't played the dvd that comes with yet also, maybe there'll be something that'll help, maybe not.
Over all though, I'm pretty happy with this purchase. The telescope, tripod and mount are well made and solid. If you're a beginner like me, don't want to spend a ton of money, live in a light polluted area and just want to get your feet wet in this hobby, you cannot go wrong with this telescope.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2015
Love this telescope! We saw Jupiter and 4 of it's moons very clearly in the sky last night!
22 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2016
This was a Christmas gift for my 17-year-old son and he loves it. A few nights ago he showed me Saturn and we were both thrilled to discover that we could see the RINGS around Saturn! This has whet his appetite for space exploration and maybe even a bigger telescope.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2016
I was hoping this telescope would be better than it has turned out to be. I have a $19 Monocular that gives a clearer view than this telescope. Eye relief is not good at all either. It does not stand up to the reviews it received.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse