BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 7, 2015
I read many reviews for various telescopes in this price range before choosing this one. In the end I chose this for the following reasons:

1. The specifications of the scope. 90mm is the largest refractor scope in this price range.
2. The image is not reversed or upside-down. This means daytime terrestrial viewing is possible.
3. The mount is not a typical alt-azimuth. It has fine tuning knobs so you can track during celestial viewing.
4. This scope came with 3 eyepieces and a 2x Barlow lens. It also has a red dot view finder.

I was very skeptical due to the lack of reviews but it came with everything I wanted as a first time buyer. It arrived professionally packaged and with all the pieces. It was simple to assemble and I was outside calibrating the view finder within about 10 minutes. The moon is amazing, especially when less than half full. I can see Jupiter with 4 of its moons and if focused properly I can see the two major bands across its surface. To see Jupiter clearly I found the best method is to choose your eyepiece, focus it using the surface of the moon, and then use the view finder to target the planet.

The only thing I think this telescope could benefit from is a finer focus knob. It is however adequate if you are patient or use the method I mentioned above. I am attaching a photo of the moon I took my first day of use. I took the picture using my phone by just holding it up to the eyepiece so it is not crystal clear. The image you see through the eyepiece is very clear. I hope this helps others who are considering this purchase.
review image
99 comments| 704 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enthusiast: Woodworkingon February 13, 2016
Meade Infinity 102mm Refractor Telescope review:
UPDATE June 12, 2016: I've since upgraded and now own this Meade Infinity 102mm Refractor telescope and sold my Meade 90mm Refractor Telescope.
Why Amazon have the reviews all mixed up for the different Meade Infinity series is not nice, especially when I had purchased two different telescope and have to use the same review to either rewrite or add to it is beside me and I think that is not the way it should be.

Anyway I got this Meade 102mm telescope Tuesday 07, June 2016 and it came well packaged, all items intact and am fully satisfied with what I received. It took me less than 10mins to setup and have it ready for use for first light. I also got the Red Dot viewfinder set into the Telescope and did my adjustments, focusing the telescope on an object a few miles away. It took me about 5mins or less to get the Red Dot viewfinder perfectly aligned. I then looked at Saturn to see if the Red Dot viewfinder was perfectly aligned and all was OK.
I then took out my Meade 90mm Telescope to compare the difference in viewing, using on both of them the same eyepieces. I selected the 26mm eyepieces, seeing I now have 2 eyepieces of the same from both telescopes.
I placed both telescopes side by side and set it upon Saturn. I elected Saturn seeing its the smallest and easily seen planet at the moment, that way I can actually see how well both will display Saturn. Looking at Saturn from both telescopes have shown me quite a difference.
Lets consider the 90mm; when you look at Saturn you definitely see it but much smaller and can make out the ring around Saturn but not the Cassini band and i.e. bare in mind using the 26mm eyepiece.
Looking through the 102mm using the same 26mm eyepiece at Saturn brings the planet a little closer to your eyes and have a clearer and brighter view also you have a very marginal wider field of view but not much to make a fair comparison with the 90mm. I did not see the Cassini band using the 26mm eyepiece on the 102mm Telescope.

The next day I took them out and decided to look at a communication tower located several miles away in the horizon and when I looked through using the same 26mm eyepieces you definitely have a much closer and detailed view of the top of the tower with the 102mm telescope. Whereas the 90mm you have a clear view but its seeing the tower a little further away and don't see too much details but just barely.
In summing up I'd say that the Meade 102mm is much brighter and better viewing enjoyment than the Meade 90mm. All in all I still love both Telescopes but a friend of mine came by and saw the 90mm and asked me to buy it and I sold it. So now I have only the Meade 102mm which I'm enjoying very much.

Meade Infinity 90mm Refractor Telescope review:
This is the first Telescope I've ever owned, and also the very first time I ever looked into a Telescope. Setting up everything was just around ten minutes or less.
I got a small packet of tools, 1 Phillips screwdriver, 1 triangular shaped flat head screwdriver and 2 different size spanner. I did not need to use any of the tools to setup the entire apparatus.
I love the red dot viewfinder and found it very easy to align with the telescope. I aligned it using a distant object in the horizon with the Telescope, centering the eyepiece with the Telescope then taking the red dot viewfinder to align with the red dot. All that I did late in the evening time. I then used it at night and looked at a distant star with the red dot viewfinder then in turn looked at the star through the Telescope and it was perfectly aligned. Amen
The tripod came already assembled in its own box while the Telescope came wrapped in its own box, all items was placed in a bigger box so it looks as one item. As advertised on Amazon I got everything as described and was not disappointed.
As described with the Telescope all is seen completely upright as if you're looking through a binoculars with one eye. For terrestrial use this is ideally suited for me. So up is up, down is down, left is left and right is right.
I will later on look at the planets and star clusters etc to see what more I can see and as much as I can see.
I had a quick look at the Moon and its quite breathtaking seeing the craters of the Moon with so much details.

UPDATE MARCH 19, 2016: I got up this morning approx 1:30 AM and could not go back to sleep and decided to walk out my back step and what did I saw was both Saturn and Mars with the Moon approx 30 degrees (i.e. from the horizon to the Moon) setting at the west. I decided to take my Telescope and view those planets. I was really amazed, it's the first time I've ever seen Saturn & its rings using all the different eyepieces. I also had a good long look of Mars and was all excited about my short night events.
A few nights ago I also viewed Jupiter and was amazed with so much details to see the bands on Jupiter and seeing 4 of Jupiter's Moon.

Coming back to the red dot viewfinder; I did some very fine tweaks to it and now its spot on. Once you find the object with the red dot and you look into the Telescope its right on the target.
11 comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
Awesome telescope. I tracked Venus, Jupiter and its moons, and the Orion Nebula within an hour of first opening the box. One knob was bent, but Meade replaced it with little effort.
0Comment| 127 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2017
Used as a solar projection scope during the last eclipse, then gave to friend with young children. Worked very well projecting onto a white board under a large shading umbrella. Gave a very distinct (could easily see sunspots) 10-11 inch image. Friends and their children love it.

Just be aware that this is a manual az/el mount and requires manual tracking on both axis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2017
This telescope is great! A little larger than I thought, but I found a big enough duffle bag to fit it in, and now I can even travel with it. As for the seller: I was amazed. The telescope arrived three days after ordering instead of two weeks. Thank you,
Edie Kasper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
We purchased for our 10 year old. I found it some what difficult to put together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2017
This is on my grandson wish list for his birthday. So Pop Pop got it for him. Can't wait to give it to him next week. He will be surprised. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2017
I bought this for my 8 yr old grandson for his birthday and he loves it. It's perfect for a beginner star gazer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
So I have a lot of great things to say about this telescope. I was buying it for my boyfriend because he wanted to explore the stars and the moon. So I read some reviews on this telescope and it got pretty good reviews. I ordered it and it came early! And the set up was really easy. They give you a dvd and a handbook on how to set it up. Also I should add that its HUGE 😊 I didn't think that the telescope would be that big. It's an amazing telescope and im sooooo glad I purchased it. It was great on everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2017
For the price you couldn't ask for anything more. Comes with all that you need. The tripod is very sturdy. You will eventually want better eyepieces but you won't be disappointed with the this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse