Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



Enthusiast: Petson September 28, 2016
Since the main character of this novel is a recovering alcoholic, and I am the daughter/former spouse of alcoholics, I feared I might find it an uncomfortable read. However, the down-to-earth and realistic use of the theme of alcoholism and dysfunction added, I thought, to the story as a whole and was appropriately done. A few tiny errors in grammar could use a really sharp editorial eye, but weren't enough to detract from the storytelling. Some of the characters were honestly and straightforwardly "hateable" (yes, not a real word, I know!) while others were delightful, entertaining, and interesting. The mystery itself was intertwined with past, present, family dysfunction, emotional confusion and impulsive behaviors, which made untangling all the layers quite fascinating. All in all, a very interesting book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
D.J Adamson’s Lillian Dove is a recovering alcoholic. She doesn’t have issues; she has problems. Calling her mother difficult is like calling Mount Everest a hill. Her sex life is either nonexistent or screwed up. She’s just lost her part-time job answering phones at the Fryville Police Department, leaving her with only the job at the liquor store to support herself.

If all of this isn't bad enough, when she discovers a house fire, she thinks she sees somebody inside. Trying to rescue the person, she burns herself and suffers smoke inhalation, but she can’t get anybody, including the police, to believe there was somebody in the house.

Lillian Dove is a well-rounded character. You feel her desperation and get caught up in her attempts to prove there was somebody in the house. All the characters in Adamson’s book are well developed and convincing. You’ve met them all on the street. And Fryville? I lived there once. The town gossip mill is so busy that everybody in town knows what you’ve done before you do it. As Lillian tries frantically to solve the problem of the fire, what she knows shifts minute by minute as if she were turning a kaleidoscope a notch at a time. Town secrets that weren’t quite secret emerge to complicate matters as events hurtle toward a solution to the crime or to death for Lillian.

ADMIT TO MAYHEM is relentlessly engrossing as you follow a woman you’ve come to care about struggle to do something right for once in her life.

Adamson has announced a sequel. It’s nice to know Lillian will be back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
I found this story to be okay, or maybe just so so, but it did keep me interested to find out what would happen next. Not sure I like the character Lillian Dove all that much, and her relationship with Charles felt non existent. She starts in telling about him and their night together and then he fires her and any communication between them after that pretty much is just told about in her narration, which is the way most of the book goes. I kept feeling I was reading a Stephanie Plum wannabe story, because the main character keeps getting herself in trouble, but it wasn't quite up to par with that, and Lillian doesn't have Stephanie's sense of humor or smarts in tight places she finds herself in. Don't know if I care to read a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
was well on the way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
This book is hard to put down, each page keeps you guessing. Many mysteries I can figure out the ending but not this one. If you like mysteries this is a great pick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
Very good reading. Once you start you don't want to put it down. Can't wait to read book #2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2017
But for the curious ending, this mystery would have been a 5 star! Lillian Dove is in Frytown, where her brother relocated their mother, Dahlia, thinking a senior condo would better suit her needs. After her second stroke he called Lillian & stated "You owe her." & (since she had left home at 18) "Some of us had to stay & bear the burden."........ He had moved their mother to a convalescent home, & told Lillian that she needn't call when she dies, I'm done! & hung up!!! Lillian then moved into the condo, & found a job answering the phone for the Frytown Police Department. Since she's a recovering alcoholic I was surprised her other PT job was at a liquor store. Leaving the Chief's house in her convertible at 6:30 a.m. She soon catches a whiff of burning wood & smoke., calling the house fire in to 911 leaves a record of where she was that early morning! She sees someone in the upstairs & goes looking for a ladder..... Therein lies the tale! Many Thanks to the author, Goodreads for the opportunity to read & review this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

Admit to Mayhem is a mystery with a lot of twists. Some of them were pretty easy to guess but some were surprising. When I started reading this book, I had to double check to make sure it was a mystery because it starts more like women’s fiction but it turns into a mystery pretty quickly.

Admit to Mayhem is based in a small town where everyone knows everyone else which can make things interesting. For example, when Lillian tries to save someone in a burning house she’s on her way home from spending the night with someone. Based on her location in the early morning hours, everyone in town quickly knew that she’d spent the night with him.

The main character, Lillian, struggles with addiction as well as a dysfunctional family. She is smart and independent, dealing with alcoholism and a horrible mother who’s in a nursing home, and she feels obligated to visit her every day. Although she’s able to solve this mystery pretty much on her own, there were times that her decisions drove me crazy! Or, I should say her not thinking things through before she acts drove me crazy.

Anyone who likes a mystery with some twists should enjoy Admit to Mayhem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
Like a good strip-tease, Admit to Mayhem pulls us along through a delicate dance of twists and turns, surprises and false starts, and richly drawn characters set against a beautifully illustrated backdrop of America’s heartland. The book’s protagonist, Lillian Dove, is a singularly sympathetic character who battles her own multiple demons with one hand, while simultaneously never giving up on her fight to see justice prevail in her small hometown of Frytown, Iowa. A great book to find yourself lost in while rooting for good to triumph over evil.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Lillian Dove is a small town girl. She is a recovering alcoholic and has relationship issues with her mother. She is a hard worker just trying to make ends met for her and her cat Bacardi. And maybe someday she'll find someone to care for her.

When the opportunity presents itself she spends a stormy night with The Chief of Police, Charles. On the ride home early the next morning she see smoke and finds a house on fire. The Carter Family is on vacation, but Lillian see someone in an upstairs bedroom and she goes to the rescue,but the stranger is gone. Lillian herself ends up needing to be rescued and no one wants to believe her story of a person in the house.

The next day as reward Lilian gets laid off, she works with Charles at the Police station, and wonders if the lay off is because of her night spent with the Chief.

In the ensuing days she finds out that the Carter house was burnt down once before almost sixty years ago, only the first fire took the lives of the Dillard Family. Lillian is determined to find the connection between the fire sixty years ago and the fire that burned out the Carters. And the mystery deepens when Lillian learns that Horace Dillard, the family patriarch, was murdered.

While looking for a new job, running into a number of interesting characters and dealing with a mother who barely acknowledges her, Lillian pursues the stranger in the window to prove she wasn't making up a story.

D.J. Adamson has created an interesting character in Lillian Dove the amateur sleuth. "Admit to Mayhem has many twists and turns that keep the reader guessing as even Lillian keeps changing her mind as to who she thinks set the fire and who might have killed Horace Dillard 60+ years ago. As she works on both mystery's the reader will find in Lillian and interesting new protagonist in this new series by D.J. Adamson.

My only complaint is that some formatting/editing issues made it into the book which cause some awkwardness in reading the book. In one place a sentence begins on one line and is completed several lines later on the page. Hopefully these problem will be corrected in future printings.

Despite the editing problems I found "Admit to Mayhem" to be a pretty good read with some very interesting characters and I look forward to the next installment of Lillian Dove.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Suppose
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here