Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 85% on textbooks Shop women's shoes nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. STEM Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno


The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 1, 2014
I have been a loyal TurboTax customer since sometime in the 90's (I threw away the floppy disks a long time ago, and I don't recall the earliest date, but it's been a long time.) I am angry about the deliberate disabling of critical features in TurboTax Deluxe. No Schedules C, D, or E. In the past, the product was functional, even though the "Premier" version provided more help and guidance. That was extra functionality and if you needed it you could buy it. But in Deluxe you got the forms, the basic help info, the IRS docs, the final review checking, printing, and e-filing. So if you knew what a schedule C or D was (it's not that hard) you could file your taxes.

Now in the name of "consistency" this has been taken away, and if I want to file my taxes using TurboTax I need to buy something almost twice as expensive. I have read the words about how Intuit labored over the vital need to be "consistent" and yes indeed after their stressful labors they did indeed cripple the product and they will try to force people to buy the much more expensive version. Please be honest -- just step up and say you decided to charge a lot more money. Instead the official Intuit response sounds like we're supposed to feel sorry for how difficult it was for them to decide to raise the price.

Raising the price is something I would object to but it's just a price increase. It's the disingenuous explanation that shows such contempt for the intelligence of customers which prompts me to give a one star rating, only because it's not possible to give zero stars.

Intuit used to be known for making products that pleased customers and surprised them -- in a positive way. It's sad to see the company's current attitude.

**UPDATE -- IT'S EVEN WORSE** OK, I'm angry but I need to do a draft of my taxes for planning purposes prior to year end. So I bit my lip and looked at ordering the Premier version. Even in the high-priced Premier version, Schedule C is crippled -- limited to $100 of deductions in a couple of expense categories. I.e. only good for a tiny hobby business, and maybe not even that. So now having forced me to Premier, even that high priced product is useless to me. Intuit, what is wrong with you people?

Everyone who reads this: Maybe you will have to buy the product in order to avoid the trouble of converting to another product. But even if you decide to buy it, please take the time to register a negative review here or at other product review sties. You don't have to write as long a review as I did -- just a couple of sentences and click on 1-star. Even if you have a rational reason for giving in to Intuit's extortion, maybe the negative reviews will cause other customers to choose other products. Maybe someday Intuit will be forced to care about customers.
5,365 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 7, 2014
Although a long time user of turbotax (satisfaction and habit), I have decided it is time to consider alternatives. Unlike many 5-star raters on this blog that seem to think that turbotax is the only alternative to CPAs and retail preparers (like H&R Block offices), there are tax software alternatives available also. Because of habit, satisfaction, and resistance to change I had not evaluated them previously.

I contacted Bob, the VP of turbotax, and he advised me that the changes were necessary because "it was causing problems for 10 million customers at the expense of a very small fraction of the others." I'm guessing most of us on this blog are apparently a part of this small fraction of others. Considering that people who do not need schedules C, D, E, F, and K-1 probably do not care either way, I think this suggest Intuit hopes to get an additional $300 million revenue (10 million users who apparently care times $30 per upgrade); don't let anyone say it is not about the money/revenue!! But, that is Intuit's business; customers just have to go where they think the value is. So, getting out of past habit, I purchased the 2014 H&R Block Basic software for $19.95 retail. I need Schedules C, D, E, and F; they were all there and the software easily imported my carryover records from the 2013 turbotax file, including depreciation records and carryover values (capital gains and passive losses). I have now completed my pro-forma return and year-end tax review without issue.

Bob suggested that they were providing free upgrades to everyone who contacted them; of course, this is for this year only and is probably an attempt to quite the current hoopla. My question is why someone should have to call to get this benefit. Are some customers preferred over others? Further, since you are not likely to get this benefit next year, maybe it is time to bite the bullet and look at other tax software alternatives (not CPAs and tax preparers).

I found the H&R Block Basic tax software quite easy to use and it costs a fraction of both turbotax deluxe and premier versions. If you need more handholding you can buy up to premium H&R tax-software versions and at a cost significantly less than turbotax premier. If you do not need handholding, all of the forms are there and do not require manual intervention in order to file your taxes. I conclude that I have probably been oversubscribing to my needs for many years by using turbotax deluxe.

I think having to purchase turbotax premier version to get Schedules C, D, E, F moves turbotax out of the acceptable value category; cost is not commensurate with value received and with the available alternatives (actually, I think to get Schedule F, one may have to move to the Home & Business version at even higher cost). But rather than getting mad at Intuit, it's probably just time to move on. If Intuit has 10 million customers that will pay the price of premier (or home & business) turbotax to get basic forms, then there is nothing that a group numbering less than millions is going to achieve by complaining. My guess is that perhaps they may have mis-categorized their customer base and may not have the millions who will pay that premium. But even if they take corrective actions now on this current strategy, I still suggest it is time to move on, as this is the Intuit's second attempt to take away capability under the table; how long before the third time will crop up?

In the meantime, if you or friends are going to use turbotax, by all means call and get the free upgrade for this year. Just don't forget to look for your long term solution, as the free upgrade is probably a one-time transitional offer.
2,439 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 16, 2014
My use of TurboTax would have reached drinking age this year, but I will be ending my relationship with Intuit instead. It has been on the rocks for some time, with the decimation of Quicken for Mac finally forcing me into other software. But I continued to use Turbotax because it was easy, and I had a backlog of files in that program. Changing is always difficult. Throughout my relationship with Intuit, I have been frequently amazed with the arrogant disdain they display for their customers. Over in the reviews for the PC version, Intuit VP Bob Meighan has responded to a number of the 1-star reviews (why can't we give zero stars?) with the drivel that you can still do the commonly needed forms that have been removed from the Deluxe version using the forms method and mailing them in. Mr. Meighan knows perfectly well that people don't buy Turbotax to use forms. He knows that people are buying e-file as part of the cost of the program, and that the method he espouses won't work with e-file. Blarney it is, and blarney it will remain, because Intuit doesn't care about the anger of it's customers. They've been through it before, they've stuck to policies their customers hated, and they still made money. So why bother with a bunch of malcontent customers?

UPDATE: I've been pleasantly surprised. I bought the Mac version of the H&R Block Tax Preparation software Deluxe edition download version. A couple of clicks and it was downloaded, a couple more and it was installed, and a final couple to import my 2013 TurboTax info without error. Installation with Turbotax has not always been that easy. One year they had to replace the disk, another year I had to go to a special download location, because the regular one delivered an installer that didn't work. And Hey, Friends, how about this for a bonus? H&R Block's Tax Prep software is significantly cheaper than TurboTax. Of course, you may have a different experience with the install and import, but if you're bothered by Turbotax's 2014 changes, I'd say give H&R Block a try.
1,789 people found this helpful
|4242 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 28, 2014
I almost bought and downloaded, because as a Prime member, Deluxe only costs $40 this year. I have used TurboTax for 15+ years, and the "Deluxe" version for the past few years. Then I wondered why all of the negative reviews. The elimination of Schedule D (and I assume Form 8949) from eFile is a major issue for anyone who has and investments. That only 2-4% of Deluxe users fall into this boat simply means that Intuit has been very successful in up-selling past users to the Premier tier. So those 2-4% of remaining low hanging fruit need to be pruned from this version. Funny how last year Deluxe actually imported Cost Basis from my Vanguard and TD accounts. Oh yeah, that is because of IRS rule changes.

Bottom-line. InTuit just lost another long term customer. It looks like HR Block imports TurboTax data, so it should be easy enough.
Thanks to other Amazon customer for bringing this gouging to light.
779 people found this helpful
|1414 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 28, 2014
I remember loading TurboTax for the first time onto my old Packard Bell system's 40 megabyte hard drive from about 13 or 14 floppy disks back in 1995. For the first time in my life, I was actually able to complete my tax return at home on my desktop computer without the assistance of a "tax professional"! I loved it so much I did it for the next 20 years, up through 2014, without giving any thought at all to switching brands. I recall thinking when competitors such as TaxCut appeared that there was NO WAY I would ever consider leaving my first love. Alas, as in other areas of life, nothing is guaranteed to last forever. I have no interest at all in experimenting with the various "flavors" of TurboTax to make sure I'm buying the right one. I have a couple of shares of stock purchased from "OneShare.com" that were given to me as gag gifts that occasionally report dividend income. Will "Deluxe" handle this? I'm selling a home for which I may or may not need to report capital gains income. Will this require a $30 upgrade? I have no idea, and I'm not interested in taking a chance and finding out I was wrong the hard way. I'm off to a competitor, most likely H&R Block, because it's cheaper, and quite clear what it will allow me to do. Farewell, old friend TurboTax. It was great while it lasted, but it's time to move on.
735 people found this helpful
|1010 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 30, 2014
INTUIT has downgraded the DELUXE version by removing several schedules: C, D, E, F, and K-1. You now have to pay an extra fee and upgrade to the PREMIER edition. LOUSEY BUSINESS PRACTICE!
H&R Block has the better product for the old price. GOOD-BYE INTUIT! I had been a loyal customer since the Chipsoft days......
724 people found this helpful
|1313 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 30, 2014
Dear Bob Meighan - Yes, I understand you can use "forms mode" to manually fill out and mail your Schedule D to the IRS. I can also use the free IRS forms to fill out and mail Schedule D to the IRS. After 15 years as a TurboTax customer, I will be taking my business elsewhere. I recommend everyone else do the same. If you're the VP of "customer advocacy," I'd hate to see the opinion of those at Intuit who are not advocating for the customer.
850 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 28, 2014
Horrible decision by Intuit to eliminate support for Schedule D in the Deluxe version this year.

Note to Bob Meighan, VP TurboTax: Suggesting that TurboTax Deluxe does support Schedule D by choosing 'forms mode' and then printing/mailing the hard copy to the IRS is not an acceptable response. Two of the main benefits of using TurboTax are the 'interview mode' and 'filing electronically.' As I'm certain you are aware, sending forms in the mail carries the risk of a lost return and typically delays refunds by up to several weeks. Please reconsider this very poor decision. Thank-you.

**Update: The negative reviews have started to hit the newswires. I'm guessing that Intuit might rethink their strategy.

nbcnews.com: Consumers Slam Changes in Intuit's Turbotax Deluxe

cbsnews.com: Hidden TurboTax charges have users screaming
877 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on December 8, 2014
After purchasing this software on December 4, I imported data from a 2014 tax projection that I had prepared with TurboTax 2013 and prepared both Federal and Virginia 2014 tax returns (using estimated figures where final amounts are not yet available). The Federal return outcome was consistent with my projection but the Virginia state return showed that, instead of a projected refund, I would owe the Virginia Taxation Department nearly $600 dollars! When I checked the state return, line by line, I found that TurboTax was not entering my age deduction of $12,000 automatically as it should have (and as it has done in previous years).

I checked the information worksheet data on the returns to ensure that my date-of-birth and age information was correct and found that it was. Having concluded that a glitch in the software must be causing the problem, I attempted to report it to TurboTax but found, to my amazement, that there was no way I could do so. When I finally reached the "Contact Us" link, all I got was a blank page! From this frustrating experience I concluded that Turbo Tax is doing all it can to avoid having to interact with customers. Moreover, it seems that the company has let a desire to get the 2014 product out ahead of the competition override quality concerns.

I now have no confidence that TurboTax 2014 will produce accurate tax returns and have decided to replace it with another company's tax preparation software. As a result, TurboTax has lost a long-time customer.
189 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 16, 2014
I am thankful for these 1 star reviews in advance of purchasing. I too have been a 20 year TurboTax customer and will explore H & R Block. As a small home office consultant I cannot even claim office expense under $100! even in the Premier edition. I just warned 600 Facebook friends. Get the word out and warn your friends. We can fight such corporate greed if we get the word out over the Internet.
447 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 269 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here