Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 47 reviews
on March 23, 2015
I’m glad this is the first of a series and there is more to come. Though the book works well as a standalone, you do know there is more to come and can’t wait for it. Emily Stanton comes out as a brave, strong character. She is courageous and works hard at doing well.
When she signs up for her scholarship, she has no idea what a roller coaster ride her life would become when she finished college. I like the first person narrative and the journal style of writing. It brings you closer to the character and you empathise with what she goes though. It has a bit of everything, reality, fantasy, intrigue, love and after a slow beginning, you kind of rush to the end. Looking forward to the next one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2017
DEAR MAUDE by Denise Liebig is the most compelling and original story I've read in a long time, and it's this author's debut novel no less! I simply could not put it down! The writing is superb, and the characters are realistic. The story itself kept me utterly enthralled with so many twists and turns my head was in a spin, but pleasantly so.This fascinating tale is full of romance, suspense and mystery with enough time-travel paradoxes to make any scifi aficionado purr in delight.

I can't wait to read the rest of this amazing series, and I also look forward to many more great reads from Ms Liebig in the future. I most highly recommend DEAR MAUDE!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Denise Liebig has written an intelligent, engaging, well written and commendable debut novel "Dear Maude." What she achieves in this novel is a deep understanding of: place, time, character, period, and an ability to maintain a sense of mystery throughout. No small achievement this must be said. The novel oscillates between a narrative form and a diarist form. I found this structurally uneven and this is the prime reason why I awarded this readable and enjoyable novel a four out of five and not a five out of five. But the author should be by no means be disappointed. This author will gain many fans believe me.
Lovers of period drama, romance, mills and boom novels, suspense, mystery, readers that love novels set in affluent environments, young adult readers, people who love a story about a young inexperienced girl falling in love, these readers will fall head over heals with this book, and this is something I can say unequivocally. There is a huge market for the "Dear Maude Trilogy." People will adore this young novelist whose main character Emily Stanton is both intelligent, inexperienced and lacking what colloquially we call the state of being, 'street wise.'
Her main character is a beautiful, humble, young woman, who is both modest and warm of heart.
Readers will find the protagonist of the book endearing, empathic, engaging, and involved. These affects are executed by the author stylistically via the manner in which she writes the book which is both: emotional, warm, and full of awareness of how others that surround the main character are cold and adrift from basic human decency. Thus, other characters act as baselines of comparison to Emily Stantons good heart, for although their bank statements maybe healthy, too many of the people Emily Stanton will encounter will be merely spiritually redundant and mentally impoverished, especially in regard to what it is to be a human being in this life. Because the author writes in the first person she achieves by this format of writing the ability to really grasp the inner world of Emily Stanton. What the reader gets in return is an excellent example of what it is like to be an outsider from the out-group attempting to fit in to the in-group, terms I learnt from my studies of social psychology and sociology.
The descriptions of the hyper affluent, how they dress, how they dine, is magnificent. What it feels like to be an underling, to be a person not from this society is so well done that all we can do is salute Denise Liebig and encourage her to finish this trilogy which she intends to provide us readers with.
The author manages to play on our nerves. We have no idea, as we read through the book, if the novel is a young adult book, a romance, a science fiction, a dystopian novel (for e.g. the contract provided by The Evergreen Research Corporation seems like a barbaric example of where Corporate American is headed in terms of workers rights and human rights) or an example of historical romantic fiction. Well done to Denise! in this present zeitgeist readers love a cross-fertilization of genres. The author keeps us in a sense of mystery, we wonder what exactly is happening to Emily, is she being used, or is she simply being employed to perform a set amount of duties that may or may not be to her personal detriment? These factors help to make this novel splendid and rather appetizing for perspective readers.
Denise Liebig shall find a loyal following as an authoress and many more praise worthy people than I shall sing her praises as an authoress.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
Not able to afford college tuition, Emily Stanton accepted a full scholarship from Evergreen Research Corporation, with the understanding that, after right after graduation, she would have to spend the next four years working for them. Which didn't seem like such a bad idea, until she graduated. Now, the thought of spending fours years away from Mom and step-father, seems like too much of a sacrifice. But that's just the tip of the iceberg she is soon to uncover.

I thought the advancement of the plot was unique by the use of Emily's journal, which she calls Maude, named after her grandmother's aunt, who had a somewhat eccentric personality for her time period. This all ties in together at the end. I found myself drawn into the story, waiting with expectancy, as Emily found out what Evergreen Research Corporation really stood for, and their intended use of her knowledge and expertise. I also found my head spinning, just like Emily's, as she was confronted with the past, present and future, all at the same time. My favorite scene is while Emily is brushing her horse, Estelle, and she breaks into an air guitar recital with the brush, then Wendell Berringer walks in. Well, you had to have been there.

I found this a very entertaining tale and look forward to book 2. There is no bad language or sex scenes, so anyone who enjoys a light, time travel fantasy should enjoy this book. I give it 4 feathers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
The story begins with Emily Stanton in college sharing her room with a nasty student who suddenly acts like her best friend when Emily meets a guy. She’d accepted a full scholarship from a mysterious company with the expectation she either pays them back or works for them for four years. Holding to her responsibilities, she works for Evergreen Research Corporation and is chosen for a prestigious assignment. One she must agree to before she knows what it entails.

During the entire time she journals her life, writing the entries to her deceased aunt Maude whom she adored.

This story is chocked full of adventure, mystery, romance and time-travel. The unexpected twists and turn of this intriguing novel had me reading it in one setting. Well worth losing some sleep. The characters come to life and the descriptions were so vivid I felt as if I had fallen into time with Emily.

Denise Liebig crafted a well-written and captivating story to begin her series. Don’t worry, there is not a cliff-hanger. Everything comes together nicely in the final chapter. I highly recommend this novel and am ready for the rest of the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
This novel was so well written, that i stopped quite a few times to re read beautifully written sentences. Even the vivid descriptions throughout the book, things readers might skip over, pulled me in and captivated me. I loved learning about all the details, descriptions and imagery that Denise Liebig created. I felt as if i was there experiencing everything Emily did. The story was intriguing and unexpected, but that kept me wanting to read more. The main character was so likable that I rooted for her from page 1. This novel had everything any reader could ask for: pulling you into the storyline and letting you lose yourself within the book. There were many questions that arose, and they kept me reading. The ending was perfect, answered all my questions and the epilogue was a 'feel-good' moment that answered a very early question that i had forgotten i had. I look forward to reading the rest of the series. Actually, i cant wait!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
As you might have guessed from the title, Dear Maude has an epistolary aspect. Emily writes journal entries to her beloved, but deceased aunt. The intimacy of these journal entries compliments the first person basis of this novel. That said, the story often shifts between the actual scene and the rehash of it in the diary entry, which can be redundant. This retelling is the main reason why I only gave this well written novel four out five stars.
If you love time travel and would like to visit and affluent family in 1910, this is the book for you. Better yet, there is mystery, intrigue and romance. At the beginning of Dear Maude, we meet Emily is a very lovely and likable college senior. Her basic character does not change, even though she is thrown into a situation which no one could predict.
I look forward to book 2 of this trilogy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
I once joined a neighborhood book club and found I was the only male with seventeen women. I enjoyed that but found all our selections were chic lit. Never would have read those books and I'd have missed a lot of good reading. Denise Liebig could have been an author of one of those books. Dear Maude is chic lit, well written, and smooth, and it kept me smiling the whole way. It is cute, funny, and enjoyable while mind altering. This enjoyable read draws in science fiction, romance, time travel mixed with a touch of Grisham's The Firm. I recommend it for a light hearted trip. Thanks you Denise
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
Dear Maude (The Dear Maude Trilogy Book 1) is an incredible tale, and the character Emily is excellently drawn and quite believable. You'll be able to easily put yourself in her shoes and travel with her through her ordeal and ultimate resolution. The writing is also excellent and -- like all wonderful books (as this one is) -- you'll forget you're reading fiction and just melt away into the world created so deftly by author Denise Liebig. I never give away endings (I don't believe in Spoiler Alerts), but believe me, this one is satisfying. Thanks Ms. Liebig
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Denise Liebig has such a grasp on storytelling that I had to shake my head a few times at how good it was. Book 1 will only leave you wanting more...
and more...
and more!!
Characters that are as real as life, and plot twists that make you want to go back and make sure you read it right the first time.
I loved it.
FIVE STARS for Dear Maude!!!

~ Dr. Ephraim Bates, authour, "Boom!!...Killers."
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse