Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Chris young PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 15, 2015
In today’s world where few things except change are assured, a career in a field that is in fact rife with assurances makes considerable sense. As the old saying goes, the only things for sure are death and taxes. With the advances in bio-engineering death may be put off a long time, but taxes will absolutely be here every year. Accountants are the only people who understand taxes (along with much more). So if you want stability and opportunity you might consider a degree in accounting.

If that sounds interesting, then this is the place to begin your search. This is a well thought out compilation of insightful articles that are sure to give you a clear insight into this lucrative field.

If it were easy to be rich and famous everyone would have riches and fame. It’s no secret things worth having require real effort so it should be no surprise when Professor Michael Bitter says: “To be candid, accounting is not an easy discipline for many – hence the reason why accountants are in demand and why career opportunities are so strong.”

Understanding it worth the effort, then the choice is, if it is for you? And if so, how so? This is the starting point to understanding not only that it is worth it, but also, how accounting can fit into your life plan.

Not sure? Of course – for most people reading this book it is a starting point. The good news is it is a well written, easy to read, user friendly book that will help you move toward your final decision. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
If you are thinking of majoring in accounting, this book is a must read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
If a student is mathematically inclined but doesn’t know the options available, and chooses not to teach, this book will open their eyes to the many opportunities in the field of accounting. This book, Accounting for the Curious, is a compilation of opinions of many enthusiastic accounting educators, each giving their opinion why accounting is a good field to pursue. Most expound on the fact that all businesses, corporations, private enterprise, government and education need accountants, and accountants are in great demand. Recent graduates can expect to earn good pay right out of college, and an accounting degree can open doors to other fields. Accounting requires good judgment, analytical and technical abilities. This book also talks about scholarships. Accounting is a field of opportunity. This book is a good introduction and should be read by students considering pursuing the field of accounting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
If you are thinking about a major in accounting, or a degree in accounting, this may be the book for you. It's written by experts in the accounting field who tell you what you can do with an accounting degree. You may be surprised, you can do many different things within a given business. You don't have to sit at your desk all day and look at numbers. In fact, many CEOs, heads of corporations, began with accounting degrees.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
This is nonsense. A whole lot of words without any substantial meaning. I really did not want to know what certain people in the profession "feel" about accounting. The "truth" this book claims to have is much better found with a single google search. As a PhD candidate I wanted to know about the academic side of accounting and how these professors conducted meaningful research in a field such as accounting. Do not bother with this pamphlet.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
A breakthrough, a helpful peer-reviewed academic book for the bargain price of $10.00! This is the book that helps youngsters decide to choose Accounting and Finance for their college major. Accounting for the Curios offers multiple perspectives from over 15 top university professors. It provides the reader into the true insights into the discipline and dispels the myths of boredom and drudgery associated with the field. It is an optimal way to learn about a career in the field. Strongly recommended for those tired of 'googling it' to get information only to be deluded with disparate information coming at you like water from a fire hose. A must read for anyone considering the accounting or finance field.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
Accounting for the Curious! OMG!! Guys – I am totally honest here but you would never get to read a peer-reviewed book like this one for this price. I wanted to work in this field and was considering this major. However, I was not sure if Accounting was for me. So, I bought this book. Every chapter was so intriguing that I finished the whole book in one go! I was very much impressed with the quality of the book. Some people might even say that you get all the information on the Internet these days. But my question is – where else would you get such original perspectives from multiple top professors in one place? Where else would you get information from the top minds of the world which you can trust? Why consider a career in this field? Why study Accounting after all? Guys – I am again totally honest here – the answers are found in the book “Accounting for the Curious”
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
Being a career adviser, I know how important this book is for the students and grads. Why study this accounting? Answers are in the book but I can say with 100% conviction that you will not be disappointed by buying this book. In fact, many college students change their majors and it simply wastes their time (and of course their parents' money). If you buy this book, you will be able to save thousands of dollars for your parents in tution fees. Graduating months earlier with a degree in Accounting means you will have more opportunity. I read chapters by chatpers and found all the chapters very insightful. Look at the universities - all the professors come from top universities, and they offer very insightful tips. Trust me - accounting for the curious is a must-read book for the students and people who are undecided about their career options.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
I liked this book on Accounting for the Curious. This book helped me clearly understand what actually accounting is. For just $10, this peer-reviewed/academic book is a real bargain. I was confused as to what to choose for my undergraduate major and this book opened up my eyes. I found this book also useful for graduate or PhD studies. The good thing is that - there are so many top professors writing the insightful chapters in plain English for the students like myself. I think it will save the students (and their parents) thousands of dollars because changing the major again and again will cost them lots of money. I showed this book to my parents and they were glad I bought it. Yes - I highly recommend it. It will be a major decision of your life – if you are considering a career in this field, you must know why study accounting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
I am curious about the career in Accounting and sure, this book is for me. I read the book with great interest. Tens of top professors have openly expressed their views to help the curious people like myself. What I mostly liked was the fact that I could picture myself in this career field. Surely, I will get some experience and will do further studies in this area, possibly a PhD. To be honest, I wouldn’t have known anything about it if I hadn’t read the book. So, guys – you would be better off spending some money for this book rather than being undecided as to what to study for your college major or career. If you are seriously considering a career in Accounting, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here