Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 46 reviews
on October 10, 2016
This is an outstanding legal thriller. The important characters are all strong, believable and likable. I found the story complex but intriguing, enough explanation of the Scottish legal system and parliamentary practices is given that, with the additional aid of Google, even 'the man in the street' can follow. Tension is high all the way and the story twists and turns to keep the reader guessing. John Meyer is a master at his craft of writing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
Glasgow, Scotland. Giles (Darren’s mate) was looking at the body of the High Court Judge Lord Aldounhill. He was defiantly dead.
Giles got out of there in a hurry.
Ms. Mary McCracken (61, housekeeper) had found the body of Lord Aldounhill.
He had been stabbed in the neck.

The funeral/burial were held.
Reverend Tom Strang had read the eulogy.
Jimmy Robertson (Queen’s Macer, Parliament House) was to be interviewed.
Brogan McLane (Glaswegian, Scottish High Court Advocate) was next. His solicitor Mr. Garrad Fitzgerald (Glasgow) was present.
Professor Sir Isaac Neuberger had confirmed the trace Sample of purple lipstick that was found on Lord Aldounhill’s neck.
Duncan McIntyre (QC) called the order to the meeting.
Lord Strathcarrington, Lord Jamieson (Scotland Lord Justice General), Lord Marchion “Marchie”, & Jimmy were present.
The trial HMA v Brogan McLane: Brogan “Maverick” McLane has been charged with the murder of Lord Aldounhill.
Garrad Fitzgerald was Brogan’s solicitor, Mr. Duncan McIntyre is the QC.
Joanne McLane wife) was at the trial also.

What did Thomas “Big Joe” Mularkey (Glasgow) find out from Darren Walker?
What happens to Sir Aubrey Winstanley?
Officer James Thomas Delaney, & Ms. Brenda Curry were called to the witness stand.
Professor Sir Isaac Neuberger & Professor Nadia Suilleman presented their opinions also.

Madam Foreman, have you reached a verdict?

Mr (.)

I did not receive any type of compensation for reading & reviewing this book. While I receive free books from publishers & authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review. Only an honest one.

A very awesome book cover, great font & writing style. A very well written who-dun-it murder mystery book. It was very easy for me to read/follow from start/finish & never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a great set of unique characters to keep track of. This could also make another great who-dun-it murder mystery movie, or better yet a mini TV series. Jolly Old England. A very easy rating of 5 stars.

Thank you for the free author; Amazon Digital Services LLC; book
Tony Parsons MSW (Washburn)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
What a wonderful murder mystery! It's a bit difficult for me as an American to read since it uses a lot of British legal titles, but the plot and characters are so well developed that the story keeps the reader engaged. While it's a dark story, I was left feeling good about the experience I was so involved in. There is a dark tone as murder mysteries tend to have, but the strength and vulnerability of the protagonist coupled with the 'good guys' supporting him kept the hope things would work out alive through the story.
I totally recommend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2015
A very exceptional story & FIRST IN SERIES by this much welcomed Author. Well developed characters & refreshing intellect in the telling and detailing of storylines brought together in this engaging and suspenseful masterpiece! A dark murder conspiracy amongst the elders in the highest law of the land and its Parliament. Enter Brogan McLane, a courageous & successful Advocate (with a wee bit of a temper) who was not born into this ilk of money and power. A journey of treacherous manipulations; corruption, impunity, forbidden fetishes and hidden revenge. Brogan's childhood mates and unexpected allies, make answers happen in seeing him through his darkest of moments. A MUST READ as masterfully written and woven together. BEST WISHES TO MR. MAYER IN THE CONTINUANCE OF MANY SERIES INVOLVING ALL OF THE INTERESTING CHARACTERS BROUGHT FORTH HERE! CAN'T WAIT FOR NEXT!!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
Awesome character development. Probably the best part. That being said, there is plenty of action as well. Just the scenes in the pub are worth it. Also, enjoyed the descriptions of the Scottish judicial system. Brings down the notion of the stuffy history of judges, barristers, etc. who could do no wrong. Like the weakness in most of the characters. Makes them more lifelike. No "goody two shoes" in this novel as it should be. Violence is tastefully done. Yeh. Right! Who am I kidding? Loved it. Token sex which is fine with me. Not into romance novels. Only complaint was that the two prequels were offered gratis but they were way too short. Typical greedy reader who wants more. Especially by a good author. I think there's a compliment in there someplace and well deserved.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2016
I've always been into crime novels, but this is the first one I've read about my home country since moving to America. Very interesting to see the technicalities of the Scottish justice system explained in an entertaining manner, and to compare them to what I've read and experienced in the US system through Lescroart and Grisham. A great story, entertaining AND educational.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
Wow! What a fantastic crime-thriller novel! Full of suspense and extremely well written, this is the perfect book for anyone interested in a great, intense crime story. Each character has wonderful development and is very relatable, creating a great, flowing plot line and overall novel.
The trial is certainly a must read this year, I highly recommend this book and look forward to future stories from John Mayer!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Mr. Mayer is a great storyteller. He has done a superb job of combining the relationship between his characters and their personal and, at times, their conflicting interests in order to make the truth be known. I really enjoyed his inclusion of some of the Scottish dialect. It gives authenticity to the setting. I have read many Scottish authors and believe Mr. Mayer will rank among the best. I highly recommed this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
Well written intense narrative revealing some odd aspects of
the Scottish judicial system. Excellent story about judicial
prejudices and corruption with interesting characters.
Reading slowed down by scottish dialogue but looking forward
to next offering.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
Two blood brothers redeem and reclaim the scotish legal system . They return hope and fairness to a failed court judicial system.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse