Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 65 reviews
on March 26, 2016
First, I want to say that I'm not a fan of 'fairy tales' and when I started this book, I didn't know what to expect. Now? I want a fairy friend! "Wanna play?" YES!

I loved how the author brought the fairies to life, with each having their own personality. I loved their world, how everything was so different in Kythshire. I think I'm in love with the fairies. That's the only real way to put it. Another thing I found fascinating was how the magic was explained: what it did to the mages if they drew in it too much.

The beginning ceremony put me in a good mood for the book. I learned to know Azaeli, and it was fun to read. After that, it seemed to slow a bit. I'm thinking that I may have been too anxious to learn more, because as soon as Flit made her first apparition, it pulled me in. From there, I entered the charming and alluring world of fairies. The plot advanced at a steady pace and soon I discovered the lurking threat along with Azi, Rian, and Flit.

I'd recommend not only for fans of fairies and pure fantasy, but also for the world building.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
Right from the start, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The action and pacing was great, pulling me immediately into the head of the main character, which was both fun and frustrating. Azi is everything a strong female lead should be. She is headstrong, but not reckless, and has a solid head on her shoulders despite being a fighter. Although this is Azi's story, there are quite a few other characters, all of whom are well written and multidimensional. I had no issue with keeping the names and personalities straight, as can often be a problem with an ensemble cast, especially in fantasy settings. One particular character does try to steal the show. That would be Flit, the fairy who brings new meaning to the term colorful sidekick.

The story itself is an original take on the use and abuse of magic. For a light tale, it delves into some intriguing and dark issues. I rather enjoyed the fact that it handled the heavier subject matter without resorting as most fantasy does to the 'dark' or 'adult' realm, keeping the tone appropriate for a younger audience while still being interesting to an older crowd.

Also worth noting: the author is also an artist and has added illustrations to the book. While some say they don't add to the experience, I disagree. If anything, it brought me back to the chapter books of my childhood that often had a few illustrations interspersed. I'm glad to see that this tradition carries into the digital age and besides, the illustrations in this book are woks of art. Truly beautiful.

I can't wait to see what happens in the next book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
Azi, a new squire, is anxious to set off on her first quest for the King, but someone is plotting against her and things don't work out the way she hoped or planned. Luckily for her, she has Rian, her friend (and maybe more), and along the way she meets Flitt, a sassy, fun fairy. Where the author really shines is her characterization of the fairies. The way she describes them made them come alive in my imagination. Her voicing and vision for them is brilliant. In fact, my only complaint was having to wait a while before they make their appearance. They were worth the wait though. The author has also included quite a few whimsical illustrations that add to the overall experience. Can't wait for book 2!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
The Call of Kythshire contained admirable characters juxtaposed against some really malicious and power hungry characters. Some of the characters reminded me of the current politicians of this world! But Missy Sheldrake gave her readers some interesting and amusing little people to inspire us with a vision of how seriously silly we are to have our current viewpoints.

Innocence is not contrasted with experience so much as kindness and giving is contrasted with power hunger and abuse of resources. I look forward to reading the next episode of Mrs. Sheldrake's characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
This is a well-written story to be enjoyed by all ages. When I took a "Look Inside" this book, I saw beautiful drawings of maps and scenes. I purchased the e-book and was pleasantly surprised to find them included, along with many more. The world building is detailed and colorful. The story played out like a movie in my head. The characters have distinct personalities, including the fairies, which I think are very cute. There's one who likes sugar cubes and often touches Azi's face with her sticky hands. Azi and Rian are the best of friends, but also share something more. They are both courageous, honest, and protective of each other. I like that their families have always been close friends, like family to each other, and they work hard together. If I had read this as a child, I would have concentrated on Azi's bravery and her friendships with the fairies and the Princesses. Reading this as an adult, I also enjoyed reading about the love Azi and Rian have for each other. Though I am very happy with how this story ended, I look forward to reading the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
I enjoyed this book. Good and evil battle it out once again. Well written, with warmth and with good grammar. I will be sure to read book 2. I also liked the characters.

Included in this are illustrations the enhanced the story. Since I am not normally fond of cartoons, this surprised me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Oh, my goodness I loved this book! I stayed up till 4am to finish reading it. The story was great. The characters were great. It was full of action, suspense, clean romance, humor and everything that makes a good tale. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants excellent entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
I enjoyed this book, even though it is written simply enough for young readers, it is nice to have hope in a book, where villains can change and get reformed, the baddies are bad and the goodies are good, trueand dont get trodden on too much all inal aa true fairy story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
I enjoyed this read immensely. It is well thought out and executed with great insight. Your children can read this without you being concerned. You can read a light, fast paced book. I could hardly put it down. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
What an amazing, entertaining story. I enjoyed every word of it. It is so nice to read such a great well-planned story. I am getting ready to start book two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse