Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning ballerss3 ballerss3,
image-map-link=rect  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on May 4, 2017
This is my 2nd Uvi Poznansky book and like The Music of Us, it was awesome!. The author's writing style is genuine, thoughtful, provocative and in deep emotional pain. I see a real life person thinking, feeling, agonizing the way Ben, a fictional character, does.

Both of Uvi's books, The White Piano and The Music of Us, strike a cord of reality as my mother actually did succumb from Alzheimer's. Like Ben, I would have been over-the-top livid and unforgiving if what his father did fictionally was done to me. Fortunately I did not live such betrayal in real life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
As I stated in my review of “My Own Voice (Still Life with Memories Book 1),” Uvi Poznansky is a favorite author. It’s because she writes beautiful books. She moves us as we feel the shame, the guilt, the desperate needs of the characters with whom we are immersed. This story is one of passion, at times muted, and often confused but always there simmering between the lines. “The White Piano (Still Life with Memories Book 2),” by Uvi Poznansky, continues and Anita is caught on tape. So much is caught . . . Highest recommendation. Five stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2015
I am not going to rehash the story. Tell you guys what other reviewers have said already.
What I am going to tell you is that this book reminds of poetry in motion. Of music set to a tune the characters is humming in your ears. Of a tapestry seen through tinted glass.
As you read the story unfolds much like when you peel an onion. You might cry but you will also get to the part where the story turns sweetly bitter, deliciously aromatic - you will get to a point where you go - that is me!
This story is amazing. Don't take my word for it. Get your copy today and see for yourself.
And let yourself hum along.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another marvelous written book, by Uvi Poznansky.
And like her previous book I have read, (nearly all books now) I could not put it down.

What is there to say? she moves my heart as I feel with the story of passion, love, pain, regrets and sorrow.

I won't say more. You have to get the well written book by the excellent author.

Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2016
Pure artistry! This book blew me away. It is so powerful and emotional and extremely well-written. The author bio states that she paints with words, and that is a perfect description.

To be honest, I wasn’t crazy about Anita’s dialog, but I suppose it’s just the bad grammar that drives me nuts. However, that’s who she is, and it fits, but it makes me like her even less. With that said, the author draws the reader in to each character, and you can really understand where Ben and his father are coming from and why they each feel what they feel. Even their mistakes and at times, peculiar behavior, entice you to read on and find out what happens next. And what happens next is never what you expect.

In short, the book deals with very deep issues and is incredibly moving. Wow- just… wow!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Uvi Poznansky wears a coat of many colors. Originally from Israel where she studied Architecture and Town Planning then moving to the US where she studied Computer Science and became an expert in Software Engineering, Poznansky managed to combine the design elements of two studies into unique formats. And she has accomplished the same with the other side of her brain - making visual her ideas (she is an accomplished painter, drawer, and sculptor who has enjoyed exhibitions both in Israel and in California, her present base) and making words in poetry and in short stories and children's books. MY OWN VOICE was her first part of her novel APART FROM LOVE: Still Life with Memories and THE WHITE PIANO is the second part. Having read them together allows sharing the scope of what came before this book – and sharing that is important.

Uvi’s skill at both visual and written art is outstanding, but her history of diversity does not end there. The story of this elegantly designed novel is a dissection of a family life and the alterations that occur with the family framework both by intent and by happenstance. It weaves themes of disparate parents - an accomplished pianist Natasha married to the elderly Lenny who cares for Natasha as she descends into the darkness of Alzheimer's Disease and compensates by taking on a very young and uneducated, somewhat socially coarse redhead vixen named Anita - and the manner in which the couple's 27-year-old bright son Ben copes with the situation.

Poznansky's unique way of unraveling this complex story is by making the `chapters' vary as told by Ben, as told by Anita, and as told by Lenny. She understands fully how to bring Ben's confusion about both his past life with his parents and the current situation with his mother's decline and his father's reactive compensation by bonding with a beautiful young, if raw, companion. Few authors would be able to pull off the manner in which the apparent polar opposites of Ben and Anita begin to bond and how Lenny integrates into their apparent clandestine relationship, but Poznansky has the visual and verbal and architectural skills to create this maze and guide us through it.

She capitalizes on the use of the chapters being related in the voices of the characters: Ben relates the situation as he remembers and experiences it in eloquent finely honed grammar while Anita speaks to us with the slang that at first can be grating but morphs into communication that allows the reader to experience the change that develops in her relationship to Ben. In other's hands this could become cloying as a technique, but with Poznansky's skill she uses it as an interface between evolving personalities that makes her story ring true.

So much more could be said about the manner in which the author brings understanding to the hierarchies of relationships - parental, couple, aging, developing, and ones influenced by disease, but that would be robbing the reader of the joy of discoveries that Poznanasky accomplishes in this profound novel. The title is so well chosen: the phrase of the title is the key that unlocks much of the fragile mystery that hovers here. Highly recommended. Grady Harp, September 15
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
Beautifully written, touching, and emotional, The White Piano is a wonderful story of family struggles, of love, guilt, redemption and forgiveness. The switching perspectives between Ben and Anita give an already deep story a new depth and a new dimension. The story alone makes the book worth reading, but the writing style makes it a true gem.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2017
Sooooo good..loved everything about it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
I received this book at no charge from Amazon for my Kindle. It was an enjoyable read. Thank you to the author for providing the material free for Kindle readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here