Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery March Birthstone Shop Popular Services movienight movienight movienight  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 50 reviews
on November 18, 2015
When I write a book review, I don’t like to rehash the plot—that information is easily accessible in the book description. What I prefer is to share how the book made me feel, and what I valued between its covers.

Uvi Poznansky is a literary tour de force in a contemporary age when the quality of writing often takes a back seat to the quick thrill, or to be more precise, the quick buck. She writes as she paints, with careful, vibrant strokes of amazing clarity and color. Whether you are a reader or writer, teacher or student, you owe it to yourself read her work. You will be transported to a world where life is examined from a poet’s point of view, where you live in vignettes so real that you can’t help but love and care for the characters.

I have read all of Poznansky’s work, but this book resonated more deeply with me than all the previous titles, which I truly enjoyed. I suppose it is because I am an inveterate romantic. I ached for the young, “flashback” characters to come together. I shouted at them to wake up and smell the coffee when they missed opportunities to get together, and I reveled in the sweet endings when they finally connected.

The atmosphere of the 1940s is beautifully portrayed, and on a secondary level only to the (mostly) unrequited love story, it was my next treasured experience while reading this book. I loved the sounds and sights of the era, the music, the cars, and the lifestyles so well depicted. It was a fascinating dip into the life of those dynamic times.

If you are aching for a lyrical read, for something above and beyond the usual offerings in the field of fiction, I highly recommend you pick up a copy of Uvi Poznansky’s The Music of Us.

--Aaron Paul Lazar
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
With Uvi Poznansky, one never expects an ordinary read. Don't believe me: look inside this book. One glance at the chapter titles in "The Music of Us" part of the longer epic "Still Life with Memories," will let you know you are in for a special treat. War Can Wait. Amazing Grace. Silence of the Muse. A Lowdown Groove. Uvi Poznansky takes you questing, every time she writes, into the closets and behind the curtains of your most private mind. This book must be experienced. It fits no genre (thank heavens). It offers no simple axioms that pass for learning. It's a family saga, a book about World War II, a book about music, about a shadow forever to be cast by the war that should have ended all wars -- and it's as much about tomorrow as yesterday. It's full of damage and redemption, pain and joy, brought to life by a narrator who wields words like a scalpel. In an age where books worth reading are rare, where individuality is eschewed for comfy tropes, where books are formulas easily deconstructed into their constituent parts and turned into video games or simpering dramatic serials, comes Uvi, her flaming sword raised high, ready to cut through to the quick or the truth, whichever the reader has brought to their encounter with a real writer.

So I'll call this review the quick and the truth, and hope you readers who actually read every word, and think about what you read, will find this book, this writer, this flickering light in the darkness -- and rejoice.

A story like this once was called a novel, and if there were more than one, connected but with each virtually complete, a cycle. So here's Uvi's cycle. Start anywhere. Start here, with "The Music of Us."
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
Where do I start with this wonderful book, The Music of Us. I guess by saying how elegant Uvi’s writing is. Some of the best I’ve read in a very long time. This story hit close to home. My mother suffers with Alzheimer's disease and I’ve seen what it can do. I loved so many things in this book, the humor, the emotions, the characters. Uvi takes you on a journey down memory lane back to the beginning to when Lenny and Natashia first meet. Her musical career was just taking off and I do believe it was love at first sight. Yet, this book is not in the box that some Romance novels are. It’s a touching account of two people that were meant to be together and how fate guided them to meet up again. There is no way you won’t fall in love with Lenny’s dedication to find Natashia again, and to do anything he can to guide them together.

In some ways this book broke my heart and in other ways it tells of how life is such a precious gift. To treasure every day you have with the people you love. I’ve read a lot of stories about Alzheimer’s and I have to say, for me personally, this was the very best. Uvi did a beautiful dance of balance and grace with this story. Maybe it was a little wake up call to say, hey, look at what you have with someone and not what you’ve lost.
I highly recommend this book. Not just for people who have family members with Alzheimer’s disease, but for those who might need a little refresher course on family, friends, and the ties that bind. Loyality, honesty and strength that you find with Lenny, is what we should all strive for.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Oh what gorgeous writing. This is a deeply moving story of love, of World War II and rationing and the music of that era, but mostly it's a story of the heartbreak of Alzheimer's. Len is a soldier who falls in love with an exquisite young concert pianist. He isn't sophisticated, but becomes enthralled with Natasha's musical passion. She's a fragile girl, however, prone to mood swings. The two love each other and marry, but as the years and decades pass they continue to be very different people.

Cruelly, Alzheimer's hits when Natasha is only forty-five. One's heart breaks to hear Lenny ask, "What is it, dear?" Natasha, who he's just described as treating him like a stranger, answers, "I just sat down at my piano and tried to buckle my seat belt."

This is harrowing. You feel Lenny's sense of loss and emotional devastation. The author's own passion draws you in, makes you feel every wrench of what the characters feel. This powerful, poignant story is absolutely mesmerizing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
When I learned of Book Three of the family saga, Still Life with Memories by Uvi Poznansky I couldn’t wait to delve into, The Music of Us.

The author always delivers rich, multidimensional characters. Book 3 gives readers a fascinating prequel to a time when Lenny and Natasha first met, he a young Marine and she a virtuoso pianist.

Lenny met Natasha while she performed on base and fell head over heels for her.

The author takes us into the lives of these principal characters Lenny and Natasha. It drew me into the lives of both. Most of the story took place during WWII, a time my parents met and began their life together. The author did an excellent job researching events and history of the period.

Early in the story one of Lenny’s friends receives orders to Hawaii. Not long after that the Japanese bomb Pearl Harbor. The narrative weaves a tight interchange of scenes. I found myself wanting them to come together. Each has likable traits with obstacles to overcome. Uvi Poznansky writes with poetic artistry.

That generation has been called the Greatest Generation for the sacrifices they made and their amazing accomplishments in later years. If you enjoy historical fiction with a touch of romance. If you enjoy believable, complex characters, this is a book for you.

The Music of Us (Still Life with Memories Book 3)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
The Music of Us is a poetic journey through the life of a young pianist, Natasha, and her love for music and a man, Leonard. This story takes place during WWII and transports the reader through what life was like in these difficult times.

The author writes in a lyrical prose that captivates the reader as she takes you through the story and enfuses color and a vibrancy that stills your soul. This reader felt as if a part of this romantic tale looking in on all the angst and joy the characters felt. Natasha is slowly losing herself and her husband, Leonard, doesn't know how to help her find her way back. It is a heart wrenching tale that will bring you to tears.

A beautiful story that continues in the next books. I look forward to reading more of this talented author's work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 15, 2016
Uvi Poznasky’s The Music Of Us is a beautifully lyrical story of love and loss, covering the years from the Second World War to Vietnam and the 1970s. The novel builds a great sense of time and place from smooth, well-chosen details. Never intrusive, but always totally convincing, the threads of real events weave between the dance steps of love and the music of a wonderful soundtrack that frames the tale. The Music of Us is a sweet, sometimes crazy romance, with heart-warming longing, hilarious accident, and wonderful scenes that stick in the mind afterward. It’s also a beautiful walk into memory, haunted with those questions of loss that hide behind music and love.

The Music Of Us is the third in a sequence of novels, and a wonderful crown to the tale. Readers certainly don’t need to have read Apart From Love beforehand, and Music is hauntingly complete in its own right. It deepens the story of the earlier novel by adding time’s perspective, setting up the scene from which Apart begins. But it tells so story all its own, achingly lovely and sad.

Lyrical, musical, and hauntingly genuine, told in a voice that ages convincingly and loves completely, The Music Of Us lingers beautifully in the mind, long after the story’s told, and is a truly great read.

Disclosure: I thought I was just getting more of the original story, but this is so much more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
A touching romance. The author brings readers a tale that shifts between England and the US. Although a series it can be read as a stand alone novel. Natasha, Lenny and their son Ben are great characters readers will love. I have read this authors short stories in anthologies and her books and found all heart touching compelling reads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2016
I’ve grown to love Uvi Poznansky’s writing style, which is why I wanted to read this book. Most of the story takes place in World War Two. Now, before you say anything, I’m not a huge fan of historical stories but occasionally there is a gem among them. A story so good that even a sworn paranormal romance lover like me gets swept away with it. This was it.

The words flowed like the sweetest poem on the paper and made the love story between Lenny and Natasha live. Even with the difficult topic, the story was written so heartbreakingly warmly that it simply melted my heart. The author clearly is not afraid to handle difficult issues. Quite the opposite! She skillfully guided me to the world that was new to me, handed me Altzheimer, asked me to suck it up and see behind the illness, and wrapped me around her finger by drowning me with a bunch of emotions that made me cry like a baby. Well done! Well done indeed.

This is not an ordinary read but a journey through time, a peek to our past and a reminder that the best things in life are not bound by any rules, time or age. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A powerful and poignant novel that will grip at your heart strings ... a love story that invites the reader into a romance between Lenny and Natasha. Starting in 1970 for a brief period it goes back to the days when these two met in the 1940's. Lenny had joined the US Marines and Natasha was a 16 year old concert pianist. Natasha's family name of Horowitz evokes memories of a long line of musicians.

Powerful for me in that the subject of Alzheimer's Disease is handled with great aplomb. Is this disease passed genetically or not? 'Memory is a liar' as Natasha so aptly said. Reading this on Veteran's Day was poignant especially when the casket of Charlie was brought home and 'Amazing Grace' was played.

Lots in this from WW II including some of the songs that were hits and also the topic of rationing items was covered. For some this will be a trip down memory lane. Life, love and the courage to comfort one another and to bridge the differences through the years is incredible.

Most highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse