Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on November 18, 2015
When I write a book review, I don’t like to rehash the plot—that information is easily accessible in the book description. What I prefer is to share how the book made me feel, and what I valued between its covers.

Uvi Poznansky is a literary tour de force in a contemporary age when the quality of writing often takes a back seat to the quick thrill, or to be more precise, the quick buck. She writes as she paints, with careful, vibrant strokes of amazing clarity and color. Whether you are a reader or writer, teacher or student, you owe it to yourself read her work. You will be transported to a world where life is examined from a poet’s point of view, where you live in vignettes so real that you can’t help but love and care for the characters.

I have read all of Poznansky’s work, but this book resonated more deeply with me than all the previous titles, which I truly enjoyed. I suppose it is because I am an inveterate romantic. I ached for the young, “flashback” characters to come together. I shouted at them to wake up and smell the coffee when they missed opportunities to get together, and I reveled in the sweet endings when they finally connected.

The atmosphere of the 1940s is beautifully portrayed, and on a secondary level only to the (mostly) unrequited love story, it was my next treasured experience while reading this book. I loved the sounds and sights of the era, the music, the cars, and the lifestyles so well depicted. It was a fascinating dip into the life of those dynamic times.

If you are aching for a lyrical read, for something above and beyond the usual offerings in the field of fiction, I highly recommend you pick up a copy of Uvi Poznansky’s The Music of Us.

--Aaron Paul Lazar
11 comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
With Uvi Poznansky, one never expects an ordinary read. Don't believe me: look inside this book. One glance at the chapter titles in "The Music of Us" part of the longer epic "Still Life with Memories," will let you know you are in for a special treat. War Can Wait. Amazing Grace. Silence of the Muse. A Lowdown Groove. Uvi Poznansky takes you questing, every time she writes, into the closets and behind the curtains of your most private mind. This book must be experienced. It fits no genre (thank heavens). It offers no simple axioms that pass for learning. It's a family saga, a book about World War II, a book about music, about a shadow forever to be cast by the war that should have ended all wars -- and it's as much about tomorrow as yesterday. It's full of damage and redemption, pain and joy, brought to life by a narrator who wields words like a scalpel. In an age where books worth reading are rare, where individuality is eschewed for comfy tropes, where books are formulas easily deconstructed into their constituent parts and turned into video games or simpering dramatic serials, comes Uvi, her flaming sword raised high, ready to cut through to the quick or the truth, whichever the reader has brought to their encounter with a real writer.

So I'll call this review the quick and the truth, and hope you readers who actually read every word, and think about what you read, will find this book, this writer, this flickering light in the darkness -- and rejoice.

A story like this once was called a novel, and if there were more than one, connected but with each virtually complete, a cycle. So here's Uvi's cycle. Start anywhere. Start here, with "The Music of Us."
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
Where do I start with this wonderful book, The Music of Us. I guess by saying how elegant Uvi’s writing is. Some of the best I’ve read in a very long time. This story hit close to home. My mother suffers with Alzheimer's disease and I’ve seen what it can do. I loved so many things in this book, the humor, the emotions, the characters. Uvi takes you on a journey down memory lane back to the beginning to when Lenny and Natashia first meet. Her musical career was just taking off and I do believe it was love at first sight. Yet, this book is not in the box that some Romance novels are. It’s a touching account of two people that were meant to be together and how fate guided them to meet up again. There is no way you won’t fall in love with Lenny’s dedication to find Natashia again, and to do anything he can to guide them together.

In some ways this book broke my heart and in other ways it tells of how life is such a precious gift. To treasure every day you have with the people you love. I’ve read a lot of stories about Alzheimer’s and I have to say, for me personally, this was the very best. Uvi did a beautiful dance of balance and grace with this story. Maybe it was a little wake up call to say, hey, look at what you have with someone and not what you’ve lost.
I highly recommend this book. Not just for people who have family members with Alzheimer’s disease, but for those who might need a little refresher course on family, friends, and the ties that bind. Loyality, honesty and strength that you find with Lenny, is what we should all strive for.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
The Music of Life could have been a true story as it deeply profiles Lenny's detailed and romantic journey to find Natasha, clearly a woman worth finding! He suffers through his dad's death, unable to arrive in time due to his service in WWII. They find each other many times over due to his persistence and despite Natasha's old school, Russian, matriarch and interfering mother!

But the real story is the foundation of love and commitment Lenny has for his wife years later when, at a young age, she starts to exhibit clear signs of Early Onset Alzheimer's! Alzheimer's is a brutal, despicable disease for anyone at any age, but as a woman in the middle of life, it's especially tragic!

While reading The Music of Us I could help but think about the real life Pat Summit, Tennessee's winning women's basketball coach, who succumb to EOA at age 64. Although the stories and time frames are very different, the underlying tragedy is the same.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon July 9, 2017
Words can be melodic, and author Uvi Poznansky’s book at times reads like a symphony. This is the music of love, elegantly written with an essence of bittersweet romance. It is a celebration of the wonderful feelings people experience during the early days of getting to know each other, written in the heartbreak and shadows of later years.

The book does end abruptly, with the specter of uncertainty hovering above Lenny and Natasha as they deal with the possibility of her illness (this is revealed in the beginning of the story). I am not a fan of continued stories, but I must add that the author’s focus was on the story of the pair’s romance before marriage. As Ms. Poznansky successfully described that period in full, this book should be regarded as complete.

As a warning to those who read this book and wish to read the next offering, stop reading when you reach the words “Continued with Dancing With Air, Volume IV of Still Life With Memories.” If you read further, you will find spoilers that will reveal information about the previous as well as the upcoming books.

Though this is not a genre I usually read, I was captivated by the excellence of the prose and the presentation of the story. While a romance novel, there is no in-your-face sex or objectionable language to get in the way of what is a wonderful story relating the growth of love between two people. Five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Oh what gorgeous writing. This is a deeply moving story of love, of World War II and rationing and the music of that era, but mostly it's a story of the heartbreak of Alzheimer's. Len is a soldier who falls in love with an exquisite young concert pianist. He isn't sophisticated, but becomes enthralled with Natasha's musical passion. She's a fragile girl, however, prone to mood swings. The two love each other and marry, but as the years and decades pass they continue to be very different people.

Cruelly, Alzheimer's hits when Natasha is only forty-five. One's heart breaks to hear Lenny ask, "What is it, dear?" Natasha, who he's just described as treating him like a stranger, answers, "I just sat down at my piano and tried to buckle my seat belt."

This is harrowing. You feel Lenny's sense of loss and emotional devastation. The author's own passion draws you in, makes you feel every wrench of what the characters feel. This powerful, poignant story is absolutely mesmerizing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A powerful and poignant novel that will grip at your heart strings ... a love story that invites the reader into a romance between Lenny and Natasha. Starting in 1970 for a brief period it goes back to the days when these two met in the 1940's. Lenny had joined the US Marines and Natasha was a 16 year old concert pianist. Natasha's family name of Horowitz evokes memories of a long line of musicians.

Powerful for me in that the subject of Alzheimer's Disease is handled with great aplomb. Is this disease passed genetically or not? 'Memory is a liar' as Natasha so aptly said. Reading this on Veteran's Day was poignant especially when the casket of Charlie was brought home and 'Amazing Grace' was played.

Lots in this from WW II including some of the songs that were hits and also the topic of rationing items was covered. For some this will be a trip down memory lane. Life, love and the courage to comfort one another and to bridge the differences through the years is incredible.

Most highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
A love story between a United States Marine and a young concert pianist from the time they met during WWII in the 1940's until the 1970's. Alzheimer's disease makes for thought-provoking experiences. Description is vivid and makes you feel like you're going through everything with the characters. A beautifully told, well written WWII romance with real-life complications during that period in time. The author is a wonderful written who brings the reader into the story world and doesn't let him, or in this case her, go. If you enjoy WWII romances, you won't want to miss this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
When I learned of Book Three of the family saga, Still Life with Memories by Uvi Poznansky I couldn’t wait to delve into, The Music of Us.

The author always delivers rich, multidimensional characters. Book 3 gives readers a fascinating prequel to a time when Lenny and Natasha first met, he a young Marine and she a virtuoso pianist.

Lenny met Natasha while she performed on base and fell head over heels for her.

The author takes us into the lives of these principal characters Lenny and Natasha. It drew me into the lives of both. Most of the story took place during WWII, a time my parents met and began their life together. The author did an excellent job researching events and history of the period.

Early in the story one of Lenny’s friends receives orders to Hawaii. Not long after that the Japanese bomb Pearl Harbor. The narrative weaves a tight interchange of scenes. I found myself wanting them to come together. Each has likable traits with obstacles to overcome. Uvi Poznansky writes with poetic artistry.

That generation has been called the Greatest Generation for the sacrifices they made and their amazing accomplishments in later years. If you enjoy historical fiction with a touch of romance. If you enjoy believable, complex characters, this is a book for you.

The Music of Us (Still Life with Memories Book 3)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
The Music of Us is a poetic journey through the life of a young pianist, Natasha, and her love for music and a man, Leonard. This story takes place during WWII and transports the reader through what life was like in these difficult times.

The author writes in a lyrical prose that captivates the reader as she takes you through the story and enfuses color and a vibrancy that stills your soul. This reader felt as if a part of this romantic tale looking in on all the angst and joy the characters felt. Natasha is slowly losing herself and her husband, Leonard, doesn't know how to help her find her way back. It is a heart wrenching tale that will bring you to tears.

A beautiful story that continues in the next books. I look forward to reading more of this talented author's work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here