Industrial Deals Best Books of the Year So Far Our favorite denim: shop women's jeans nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. New Moto G6 64 GB | $299.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 4, 2018
This was easy to work on my android phone. However, windows 10 makes this literal hell. The newer updates cause issues with blue tooth pairing. It took me off and on two days following the instructions given. No dice. Decided to hold the button down, and saw the light combo 1,3 and then 2,4. If you see this, you're getting close. After about 45 secs of holding down the button, I saw input with a controller symbol pop up on my windows 10 search pairing. After clicking on that it still had issues pairing. As I was typing an email to steel series for help, I was still trying this for a third time. Before I hit sent I saw the input pop up again. I clicked on it and this time held the button down again. Now I don't know how long this took, because I just held it down for windows to do it's thing. Eventually it connected. And here we are. It still shows up even when I turn it off.

It works, buttons sometimes don't seem to work right? If I had known this was an issue I might have just gotten a wired controller and called it a day. I have small hands and this fits it comfortably. I imagine if you have large hands this might be an issue, idk.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
6 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on September 1, 2017
I have had this controller for a few days now. I liked it the first day once I fixed the joystick that kept sticking in one specific spot. (See photo) But it hasn't worked right since! I did the firmware update, setup the controller to my liking in the engine, and it STILL doesn't work right. I bought it to use on my windows pc, and after day 1 I have nothing but problems from it. At first the controller would just spin my character in circles nonstop like the joystick was electronically stuck. It would come and go. (This was after the firmware update) Then, it stopped connecting to my pc. It would show it was connected in the Bluetooth menu, but the controller would not stop trying to "find" the connection. So I unpaired the controller, then tried to repair it. Again, pc showed connected. But it would not connect. I tried the controller from another computer. Same exact problem. (Yes, I tried turning it off and on after pairing) I tried again the next day and it finally connected. I loaded up a game, and my character immediately started shooting like the RB was electronically stuck. I turned the controller off and on and it only fixed it for a second. It's been doing this ever since, no matter what game I play. I googled it, and found several other users have had the same issue with it.

My recommendation is do NOT buy this controller for gaming on a Windows pc unless you know how to fix it. (& if you do know how to fix it, please let me know)

I have not tested this with an android phone or a gear vr so I can't tell you how well it works for them.
review image
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 28, 2017
I really wanted to like this controller. I love, love, love the layout and feel of it. I love that it has mouse mode, one of the main reasons I decided to buy it. It looks great which is the only reason I am giving it two stars. Because it has one fatal flaw. It ghost touches buttons. There are times where I'm playing a game and the trigger buttons are active even when I'm nowhere near them. Sometimes shaking the controller helps and stops the issue, but most times it doesn't. I thought maybe it was just a rare defect so I got a replacement controller which seemed to work great for the first two hours... until it started having the same issue. I bought my brother this controller from Best Buy two months or so before I ordered it and his is now starting to have the same issue as well, but worse. While the two controllers I had from amazon only really had trigger buttons issues, his A, B, triggers, and more are malfunctioning. So it's definitely a controller issue. We both take great care of our equipment. I'm very disappointed because this controller had so much potential. Will be returning mine to Amazon (for the second time) and my brother's to Best Buy. Probably will purchase the ever reliable Xbox controllers.
review imagereview imagereview image
16 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on April 30, 2016
To put it simply, JUST BUY IT! If your in the market for a bluetooth controller look no further. Has a great feel in the hand a perfecr weight and width. The buttons are more tactile than my Xbox One controller. Connected immediatly to my phone to play on the Oculus headset. Joysticks dont stick and triggers feel good. 10/10 from me. Enjoy!
review image
74 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 2, 2016
It worked great with the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge ang Gear VR. I didn't have to update firmware. The first time I turned on the controller, it wasn't recognized by the phone. The second time I turned on the controller, it was recognized right away. So far the controls seem responsive. So far I have played dreadhalls and vr kart. Both seem to respond very well. When you go to the to the oculus homepage for gear vr this is the controller that is shown. I will update later with more information.
93 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on May 29, 2017
Well, I bought this as a birthday present for my husband in an attemp to replace his Logitech F710 controller, since that one broke after a 2yr usage. He wanted a newer type of controller with the same layout, so that part was good about this one.

However, seems like Bluetooth controllers with Windows 10 don't like each other. He mostly uses it to play FiFA or even Dirt Rally, but there seems to be incompatibility issues, since he has to restart his computer to make it work again (it seems it works for about 15-20 mins and the the controller stops responding). He looked onto the internet, and it doesn't seem to be the controller's fault, more like Windows 10 and Bluetooth controllers.

If Windows is trying to set up their OS to be more gamer friendly, this shouldn't be an issue in a future, but, for now, this one is not really useful since it's BT based.

Otherwise, in terms of durability, materials and such, it fits nicely, and lighter than my Steam controller, or Xbox controller. Buttons don't feel cheap (as I read in other reviews), and overall seems nice, but not very useful if you have to reset your computer every half an hour.
5 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on January 25, 2018
I bought the SteelSeries Stratus XL controller in hopes that it would be better than my Steam Controller while being used in my hands. I enjoy the fact that this controller has the XBOX inputs with the layout of the Playstation Controller. However, after a few test runs the SteelSeries Stratus XL stopped being compatible with Windows 10 and refuses to connect wirelessly. Apparently this is a very common issue with hardly any good solutions for Windows users. I have submitted a ticket with the manufacture, but the only Bluetooth compatibility that managed to work is through Android.

I do not recommend this product until SteelSeries is able to fix these issues or come up with a better solution than what they have already provided.
3 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 12, 2016
Met all expectations! Awesome product! Have had no issues with pairing to my S7 and works perfectly with my Gear VR.
review image
44 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on August 8, 2017
My review is for PC (Win 10) only - I can't speak to the functionality on other devices.

I really wanted to like this controller. It doesn't require a dongle like the Xbox One controllers do (This is primarily why I went with this controller). It feels very nice in your hands - weighty, good button placement, buttons feel good. However, the first controller I received did not function correctly! It seems that this is a common problem with the controller. It would connect via Bluetooth to my PC, but it would not work consistently (had trouble staying connected). When it did connect, the left trigger was stuck, and i'm not talking physically stuck. Some internal issue basically held down the trigger. The left joystick was also stuck to the left, even though physically it was untouched.

I returned said controller and got a new one in the mail. I updated the firmware with the required (ugh) SteelSeries software. Controller connected just fine, worked fine, was easily configurable, etc. After 2 weeks of light use (4 - 6 hours a week), I began to run into issues where the controller would lag / spaz out. This would last for a few seconds. The connection issue would occur every 20 - 30 minutes or so and caused many angry deaths in my new favorite game Dead Cells. I thought it was maybe because I was sitting away from the computer and got a bad connection so I literally had the controller over the laptop as I played. Nope, same issues popped up

Here we are a month later and I ended up caving and going to my Xbox One controller with the wireless receiver setup. Good ol' reliable Xbone controller.

I have faith that the next iteration of this controller will be bug free.
2 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 15, 2017
It's been a year and a day since I bought this controller. I bought it for Samsung VR games and for Windows 10 games. It's fine for VR games, but I do not recommend it for Windows 10 gaming. I'm writing this review now as I am finally buying a replacement.

Pros:
- Feels good in your hand. Weighted nicely.
- Good connectivity and range.
- Works well for Samsung VR games.

Cons:
- Imprecise and non-fluid joystick movement (don't consider buying this to use for FPS games on Windows 10).
- The left joystick gets internally stuck on occasion, causing your character to be stuck running in some direction.
- Clicking the joystick buttons is difficult (and also holding them down).
- No vibrations.

For Windows 10 gaming, I'd say go with an Xbox or Playstation controller and avoid this one.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse