Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 131 reviews
on July 27, 2016
While much of this story is about a young girl with a crush on her older brothers friend, it becomes a heartbreaking story about loss. Valerie is in love with Flynn but he is older and she is only 15. He leaves her and returned to the life of a rock star while she goes through her first real relationship with a kind teen.
Unfortunately much of this story is as horrible and painful as loss can be. One fun day turns into death and grief for too many people and emotions are ragged. Flynn steps up to help even though he is in emotional pain too.
I think the line about what doesn't kill you makes you strong pertains. Valerie takes her immense grief and creates a professional career for herself as a photographer. But Flynn is there when she needs him.
Great story even through the tears....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
OMG wish there was a 10 star rating for this book cause would've given it a 10 star for sure!!!!! I just couldn't put it down!!!!! It's sooooo good!!! It's heartbreaking and loving and full of emotions. You will fall in love with all of the characters in this book cause it's written so well that you can feel a connection with each and every one of them.
Aaawww I absolutely LOVE Flynn he is just amazing and a man with a heart of gold. I loved Valerie even though she was only 15 when this book started she was a strong girl who could stand up for herself and who would do anything for those who she loved. Get loads and loads of tissues cause it's one hell of a ride you are gonna take with them!!! Damn this was definitely one of my FAVOURITE books by KL Shandwick!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2016
Wow! Completely Amazing! Loved this story.

Something about this story resonated so deep within me - that I could literally hear it's heart beating in time with mine.

What can I say, I adored all the characters that made up this story. Valerie, Flynn, Martin, Adam, Kayden, Ziggy - (oh I adore a boy/man that speaks from his heart and has no filter), Aunt Joan, Mom & Dad - and all the others too!

All the angst - melted together in a big pot of yummy - and please may I have some more! I went from laughing, to crying, to laughing again.

The attraction and tension between Valerie and Flynn was electrifying from the start and each encounter ratcheted it up another notch - till you could almost feel that taunt cord of desire begin to sing.

I will have to admit at first I didn't really like Flynn and his character and how he seemed to treat Valerie - but as the story went on and the pages revealed more of his motive and reasoning - I got it and I got all wrapped up in his amazing, caring, gooey center.

Not sure I can really explain in words how much I like this one and all things it made me feel. But if you like stories that grow over time, main characters that go thorough Hell & Back and more and actually grown and mature from it, and an undeniable attraction and chemistry - then this story may be for you. I will say there is a bit of OW drama - just wanted to let you know in-case this is a deal breaker for you. (I totally got why this happened and moved past it but I know some won't)

I already qued up the next installment on my reader - can't wait to see what happens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
An absolute MUST read. I thoroughly enjoyed how the author told this story from the beginning, allowing the reader to live through the first moments of this incredible love story. Usually, we get a chapter recounting what happened or flashbacks. KL Shandwick allows you to live and become completely absorbed in the lives of Flynn and Valerie since the moment they met.
You will laugh, cry and swoon. But, what you won't do is put the book down. Your next book boyfriend's name is Flynn and you will be so excited to hear that you will get to spend more time with him when the second book is released later in May!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
I know Ms. Shandwick wasn’t writing for me, but there are a lot of things about Valerie, the heroine in this book, which I can relate to. At a young age, she meets a man who steals her heart. After meeting him, she is basically ruined for any others, but everyone around her (including Flynn, the man himself) believes she is too young for him. I met the man who would become my husband at the tender age of 14, so I know exactly where she’s coming from. Additionally, Valerie grows into a strong, independent young woman well before others of her age—another trait she and I share. Naturally, my similarities with this young lady endeared her to me, and I found myself wrapped up in her world—a world, incidentally, full of emotional ups, downs, and one heart-wrenching tragedy.

And, hello, can we talk about Flynn Docherty? I loved Alfie and Gibson, two of Ms. Shandwick’s previous characters from other books, but Flynn? Dang, he’s hot as sin! Perhaps what makes him so appealing to Valerie (and to me) is that he could have any woman on the planet, but he wants her. I love his propensity to remain devoted to her despite the forces that keep them apart.

I really enjoyed this book, and I certainly recommend reading it. I do, however, have one spoiler-free warning—keep a box of tissues handy. Ms. Shandwick isn’t afraid to hit you hard with plot twists that will turn your stomach upside down. If you’re looking for an emotional read and a book which will affect you, this is the one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
KL Shandwick is a new to me author. I had seen the advertisements for Ready for Flynn multiple times so I was excited to have the chance to read and review the story.

Needless to say I was not disappointed! I absolutely loved the depth of characters and how real KL made them and the story. Flynn being Martin’s best friend made having feelings and an attraction towards Valerie that much tougher. Valerie has been hurt but has always been able to count on Flynn through all her troubles. I honestly felt every possible emotion while reading this story and that to mean is grounds for 5 stars. I love books that can make you think and make you feel. I cannot wait to jump in to book 2 and find out what happens next.

This is a must read for all. Amazing job KL! I am officially a fan for life!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Brilliant read that keeps you on the edge of your chair from start to finish. It was well written with great characters.

Flynn and Valerie's story was like a bumpy rollercoaster ride, instant attraction, age problems, family disasters, rockstar dilemmas. Will they have the strength of character to pull through??

This is a must read for all rockstar romances, I assure you you will not be dissappointed. Can't wait for book 2 to find out where this story takes us.

Congratulations K L Shandwick a great 5**** read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2016
What a GREAT story! I do enjoy a good rock star romance; and this one was FANTASTIC!! I was captivated by the flirtatious, Flynn. He was ready and knew what he wanted, however the object of his affection wasn't ready for him. True love may exist, but love at first sight; it's too good to believe. These characters and the "situations/conditions" that face them will have your heart torn in two. Love, desire, sorrow, focus, determination, and trust are all focal points in Flynn and Val's story. "....words are easy. Living up to those words would take strength and commitment." Will Flynn and Val stand behind their words? I know I'm Ready For Flynn...part 2...here I come!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
When I started Ready for Flynn, it was without knowing much beyond it's a rock star romance. Figuring it would be an easy story, I settled in for the night and dove in. When will ever learn? After a few chapters, KL Shandwick ripped my heart out and ran away laughing. This book was full of love, heartbreak, angst and strength. I laughed, teared up, wanted to throw my kindle. I think did everything but put down my kindle and sleep!

KL built up characters that were honest, loving and funny. Valerie's crush on her brothers friend is endearing and yet you can't help the gasp of pain when you think of what is to come. Martin is what every big brother should be, tender and over bearing. Flynn, the friend without a family. He can see the woman Valerie will become, but knows that his best friend will kill him and Valerie just isn't ready. Ziggy. (sigh) Ziggy is what every girl on the cusp of womanhood needs. He is such a truly *good* guy, a bit fumbling, a bit unsure. As life continues, everyone finds out who they can trust, depend on, call at a moments notice with a problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
I cannot believe I have not read this book before, now, it was an amazing read, and who doesn't love a book about a rock star.

Valerie and Flynn have sparks and chemistry from the moment that they meet, but Valerie is the young age of 15, and Flynn is almost 21, the timing is not right for them. But shortly there after when tragedy strikes Valerie's family, who is there to help her pick up the pieces? Flynn, but when Valerie makes advances on Flynn, he starts running for the hills as he thinks she is still not in the right place to be with him.

Years later, when Valerie has made something of herself and grown into a fine young women with some sass, she again needs Flynn and he comes running to help her at the drop of a hat. Will this time finally be the right time for Flynn and Valerie?

This was such an emotional roller coaster for me, but loved every up and down that there was, perfect story.

Loved this book and I have already one clicked book two, cant wait to see where it takes us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse