Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 36 reviews
on May 5, 2016
The BDM4350UC has outstanding resolution, clarity, colors, brightness & blacks, and sound. I just received it, so I'm still learning features. The SmartImage OSD setting help switch monitor for different environments and uses, e.g. office, photo, movie, game, etc. Only simple color calibration options available. The 5x multiple input ports are 2x HDMI-MHL, 2x DisplayPort, 1x DB15, plus one USB 3.0 upstream (for SmartControl software from PC), audio in and audio out. There are an additional 4x USB 3.0 downstream ports on the back of the monitor, the third one is fast charge. The SmartControl software on my PC has a few key/important features, but many detailed options were not available for me.

PROS:
Easy to use, looks great. Love the IPS LED brightness, contrast, color. No light bleed, no bad pixels, good blacks. Strong 7w speakers a plus. The 200mm VESA mount will allow me to mount and tilt slightly down. Matt finish keeps reflections down. PIP/PBP is extremely cool but I wish there was a remote method instead of control via the OSD button on the back.

Much more practical to use as 4K HD display than a smart TV. Because it works similar to a KVM supporting multiple PCs, multimedia, FireTV, gaming devices, etc. The BDM4350UC is less expensive than smart TV and PIP/PBP features are unique - no heavy OS like a smart TV.

CONS:
I use audio from HDMI-2 and it is lost when switching between PIP/PBP, and requires an extra step to reset audio source. The Audio Source automatically switches to the main display, but I wish the Audio Source would stick as set when switching between PIP/PBP.

LESSONS LEARNED:
1) SmartControl software is on website (no CDROM) and available for Windows 7, 8, 10. Did not see Mac/Linux software versions? You must connect the USB 3.0 cable between your PC and the monitor to use SmartControl software.
2) Initially OSD button *only* turned on/off monitor, but *no* OSD menu! Fixed using SmartControl, Setup, *Reset*. Now OSD button works great.
3) Windows 10 default BDM4350UC drivers worked great, did not need drivers from website.
4) Windows 10 default display settings wrong. "Change the size of text, apps, and other items" to 100% (scale down from 200% or higher).
5) Windows 10 Advanced display settings, select extended display, display adapter properties, list all modes - fine tune resolution & refresh rate.
6) OSD button has a learning curve. From front push right (big menu), left (SmartImage), up (multiview), down (audio source).

Many more items to explore. My laptop HDMI output is 1.4 only (guess?) but the BDM4350UC connection works at 4K (3840x2160) using HDMI 1.4 or 2.0. Need to test my Mac Mini (2011) Thunderbolt to display port after I get a new cable. Need to receive and test a new HDMI switch.

I will update this review as I learn more.
----------
UPDATE:
----------
I have added many items (all on Amazon):
1) Cable Matters Gold Plated Mini DisplayPort (Thunderbolt Port Compatible) to DisplayPort Cable, Black, 6 Feet (101007) for $10 USD
2) Monoprice Female to Male VGA Coupler - 90 Degree ,Gold Plated (108730) for $6 USD
3) DIZA100 HDMI 90 Degree Male to Female Right Angle Adapters 4Pcs for $7 USD (extras for laptop connection)
4) Mounting Dream MD2268-LK Tilting Mount for 42-Inch to 70-Inch Samsung, Sony, Vizio, LG, Sharp TVs with VESA 600x400mm, Black for $20 USD
5) Kinivo K300 Premium 3-Port High Speed 4K HDMI Switch with IR Wireless Remote and AC Power Adapter - Supports Resolutions up to 4K UltraHD & 3D for $30 USD

They all work great. I think there is *no* working 90 or 270 degree Displayport adapter available anywhere. Therefore, mounting this display on the wall requires some offset. The Tilting Mount has two sets of hardware, one flush set and one set with spacers *needed* to allow room for the cables to connect. The Tilting Mount above works great, but only after I mounted the bracket as low as possible on the back of the display. I used the third hole from the top of the bracket. Only my Displayport cable is a tight fit but it does work, and better if I tilt the monitor down slightly.
----------
UPDATE: 24 June 2016
Where are website materials? SmartControl software, manuals, Windows drivers, etc.
"[...]"
See[...] and search for BDM4350UC.
3232 comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
First off, don't complain that it is too big. Yes it is massive, but if you don't want that, buy something smaller. The monitor arrived in about a week and a half even though Amazon quoted 1 to 3 months. Since it was just released, I was amazed it didn't take long to ship.

I will update this review after I have had a chance to profile the monitor and tweak the performance. My initial reaction is as follows:

1) I am using a MacBook Pro (2015 version) and DisplayPort. The monitor defaulted to DisplayPort 1.1 and that wouldn't sync with the Mac. Since I already was prepared to switch the monitor to DP 1.2 to enable the 60hz sync, it was easy enough to get the Mac talking to the monitor.

2) My PC's video card is not powerful enough to display UDH and it only has HDMI 1.4. I was prepared for this so for the time being I am using the PC at 1920x1080 60hz. It looks fine with no scaling issues. Eventually I will upgrade my PC so I can take advantage of the resolution.

3) The screen is pretty glossy. This doesn't really bother me as I keep my office light controlled.

4) The stand doesn't adjust. Again, I knew this going in so it wasn't a surprise. I have a 3/4 inch piece of wood under the back legs so that the monitor tilts down slightly.

5) My eyes are about 37" away from the monitor. At that distance, it is pretty immersive although I do have to movie my point of focus to hit the corners.

6) Using a single app window at full size is a little much with Excel, Word, Chrome, etc. Having two windows each taking half the screen is wonderful. I need multiple apps open for my work and the added real estate will help immensely. Photoshop is an exception. It is wonderful at full resolution.

7) No dead pixels that I noticed. I will test later when it gets dark.

8) Light bleed seems well controlled. Again I will test after dark to confirm.

9) I am not a gamer, so I can't comment on the suitability of this monitor for gaming. I am not getting any noticeable lag on my keyboard or mouse.

10) It is bright. I had to turn down the brightness to 60 (it shipped at 100) so I didn't have to wear sunglasses. When I profile the monitor I will set the brightness more accurately. I usually simulate GRACoL in Creative Suite so my monitor settings probably are not good for you. With just the defaults, the color seems most agreeable. The monitor defaults to sRGB. I would have liked better coverage of AdobeRGB, but I know I can't get that at this price point. I am interested to see how much of the sRGB color space it can display.

At $799, I think this monitor is well priced. It is on the edge of being too big for a desktop. As a size comparison in the picture, there is a 22" monitor and my 15" MacBook on either side.
review image
44 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
The monitor is big and the picture looks great, but the burn in is inexplicably bad. I get it after just a few minutes of a window being in place. The monitor hilariously warns you not to keep anything in place for 30 minutes, which sounds like they were thinking that they were talking about a TV instead of a monitor... You unavoidably have things in place for 8 or even 48 hours on a monitor all the time. Some uses that people have for monitors, like say a conference room display, might show the same image in the same place for months on end. Screen burn in used to be a problem for monitors like 20 years ago, but to produce a monitor where screen burn in is a problem in 2016 seems pretty absurd.

So far, the burn in hasn't been permanent. It fades after a few minutes. Maybe faster if I move another window around over the burn in spot. But it does make me nervous that it could become permanent if I leave something on the screen for too long.

Case in point, just in the time I've been writing this review, when I moved my browser window just now, I see an after image of the browser there on the desktop. I can make out the Amazon navigation bar, see where the search box is, etc. A bug this glaring should not have made it through quality control and Philips should figure out a way to make it right for folks.
22 comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2016
After living with this monitor for several months, here are my thoughts:
The bad: If you use multiple inputs and frequently reboot your computer or let it go into power savings mode, consider other options. This monitor will change inputs every time it loses signal. I have no idea why Philips thought this was a good idea or why they did not provide an option to disable automatic switching, but it is extremely annoying. The input control on the back is also a pain to work with. A simple front-facing toggle to change inputs would have made this less bothersome.
The good: I've been using it with a few Macs, PCs, and an Amazon Fire TV. I have had no issues with burn-in and think the picture is very good.
The so-so: PIP works well, but suffers from the same input changing "feature" on loss of signal.Trying to use PBP mode with multiple inputs means adjusting resolutions so you can actually see what is going on. I thought this would be a nice feature, but three to four small windows have not been as useful as the single PIP.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2016
This should not be advertised as a "monitor". Burn-in after 30 minutes is completely unacceptable as a monitor since most of the screen is static for hours a day. My particular order had temporary burn-in after only a couple minutes. You could clearly see the ghosts of windows past. This is a TV and *not* a monitor.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
I bought this monitor to replace an outstanding 49" 4k LG tv that I was using as a monitor. That TV was one of the first to have HDMI 2 and full chroma support. I even bought an nvidia GTX 970 in order to have the HDMI 2 support. There were a couple problems with that TV. First, it was a TV and therefore didn't have the support to turn on automatically when the computer turned on. Second, being a TV it didn't have display ports, which meant I had no way to connect my macbook pro at 4k resolution.

When this Philips was release I was super excited and snapped it up once it made it to the US market. It was supposed to fix all the problems of the previous Philips 40" UHD monitor. It worked like a charm at 4k with my windows machine. It also works natively at 4k from my late 2013 macbook pro with a thunderbolt to display port cable.

So how could it possibly be 1*?

All the burn-in problems you've heard about are true. I've been waiting to review this monitor until I could see if it happened to me. Sure enough, I got home from work today and one of my children had left the computer on. I now have a nice ghost of the windows task bar at the bottom of the monitor. I was super happy about that on my 3 month old $800 monitor.

Philips had to know that they were selling this a MONITOR! Monitors will have static images on them MUCH more than a TV will. Sadly, I've already moved the 49" LG TV into the main family room (and everyone is loving it of course). There's a reason this monitor was only on the market for a few months. Sadly, I was one of the suckers that bought it early on.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2016
Crystal clear monitor with an amazing response time! I cannot go back to using anything less than this display. I have been using it frequently for about 5 months.

If your desk sits lower, I would recommend getting a desk stand or riser for it -- this drastically improves the viewing angle (particularly near the bottom edges of the monitor). I purchased a higher-end arm stand mount (Loctek D7H Swivel Gas Spring Single LCD Arm Stand monitor Mount, supports monitors weighting from 19.8 lbs to 44 lbs) along with a Monoprice 200X200mm Bracket Universal Adapter. The arm technically only supports up to 34", but this 43" Philips monitor weighs in at approximately 20 lbs, so the arm worked for me -- keep the size / weight restrictions in mind!

I am a software developer so I use it for work, and I have not tried gaming on it. I am very happy I invested in this monitor!
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2016
So far I can only say excellent about this monitor. I use it with my Lockheed Martin flight simulator set up. Forty three inches of aircraft instrument panel in front of you at 3840 x 2160 resoulution and the view outside is incredible. As for some thinking that it might be too large a monitor to sit close up at a computer desk, I never notice any discomfort. When using the internet I resize the window I'm in down to a smaller size that I like. I also use the monitor with photography. I must admit that I did have my reservations even after I put the order in for it, about size, would it be clear, etc. As for gaming, the 5MS response time works fine with flight simulator. I really don't notice any lag, although I don't play any other games on it, only flight simulator. I don't think you can beat the price for such a large monitor.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Beautiful monitor. If you are willing to spend the extra $250, Pearless makes an excellent tabletop monitor stand that swivels and tilts. Since I use this monitor for video editing (and I am at my desk for long periods of time), the extra cost was worth it. The text in native 4K resolution is very readable. I am also going to purchase a visor/hood for it to reduce ambient reflection.
review image
77 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
I love this monitor. Lots of real estate and it looks good too. If is was also touch-screen, it would be perfect.
I don't remember the price I paid but it was a lot less than advertised. I ordered it and said I could wait several months for delivery for which I got a much lower price. They still sent it to me in about a week after ordering though. Great deal. Could not be much happier with it.

My primary focus is office productivity software (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), web surfing, programming, and games. For me, this works great. Cannot really comment about how good it is for those that need exceptional graphics quality or speed. Seems fine to me but I am not an artist or crazy ass gamer. Just a guy and his monitor. Getting along fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse