Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 12, 2017
With the Civil War raging all around them, Carrie Bishop, her aunt, and brother move into a cave for safety and to prevent soldiers from taking all their goods while her father fights in the Confederate Army. She and her brother find a wounded Union soldier and try to help him. As his condition worsens, Carrie realizes she must get help, even if it means putting herself in danger.

This was a short, sweet story that would have been better if the characters and the romance had been better developed. I really didn’t feel the love between the two main characters. The only grammatical mistake I found was “who” used when “whom” was needed. I wondered at the army sending Adam home on a train because he was near death. If he was that sick, how did he make it home? Overall, however, I enjoyed the story and wished it were longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
A lovely story of how a young girl, her younger brother, and a sick aunt survive during the Civil War. All while her father fights for the Confederate and she helps a Union officer survive 2 bullets in his arm.
The story is fiction - but could have occurred.
Of course, as always, I wanted to read more about how they lived and survived during the war and after. But some stories must end.
Well Worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 27, 2016
I enjoyed this sweet, clean historical romance. The characters were well drawn, if a tad simple (as opposed to complex) and the historical descriptions rang true--although I had to suspend my disbelief when it came to the animals in the cave. Very well written, too. A good way to spend a couple hours.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I loved the way the author Sandra Merville Hart, describes the surroundings in such detail. With her descriptions of the cave, the battles, and the mountains, I felt as though I was taken back in time. She then gives you a romance story that will keep you flipping pages to find out the end.

Carrie speaks to me with her strength, her insecurities, her anger, and her protectiveness of her family. Everything you would go through if you were left in charge at a young age during the war.

A great read!

This books was given to me in exchange for my honest review.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 4, 2016
This is a intriguing Civil War story about a young woman who finds a badly injured Union soldier while her father is serving in the Confederate army. However she is unable to leave him to die and she and her brother risk their lives to try to help him. While hidden in the cave on her family property to keep him alive and tend his injuries, Carrie’s emotions become involved while taking care of Adam but dare she admit her feelings about an “enemy” soldier? I found this to be an interesting story, but many details were quite unbelievable to me. Such as keeping cows and chickens in the back of a cave to keep them hidden from Union soldier but they continued to get milk and eggs from them? Having an open fire for cooking inside a hidden cave, really?? But I enjoy stories set in Civil war era and this was a well written and clean romance, so I give it 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2016
An outstanding, well written story about 'The Battle Above the Clouds' on Lookout Mountain in Tennessee in 1863. Carrie a very strong character in the book kept the story flowing. Her small brother Jay, and her Aunt Lavinia are southern confederates living in a cave with the livestock to hide from the Union Soldiers during the Civil War. Carrie found a wounded Union soldier on her property and with an open heart she took care of him, as love begins.

A wonderful short story that reads like a full length novel. I recommend this book to everyone. The author did extensive historical research on the Civil War and created strong characters, a believable plot, and an excellent Civil War story. I enjoyed reading this novella.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2017
A sweet read about looking past opposing sides to find commonality and even love. It's obvious from the descriptive detail throughout that Hart did her research. I felt immersed in the setting and sympathetic with the various characters' plights. An overall satisfying and entertaining read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 2016
I appreciate the homework the author did on the history and setting of the story to make it realistic and historically accurate. The story is very sweet and the characters likeable. I think the characters could have had a bit more developing, but the book was very short, much shorter than I expected. Also, it seems that some things in the book were a bit too easy for someone living at that time. For example, going back to their house and finding things still there and intact, even though some things were missing. I would expect to find the place ransacked by hungry, desperate soldiers. But overall, the story was good and I had great sympathy for the protagonist who was burdened by such responsibility at a young age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2014
While hiding in a cave to keep from being found by the union soldiers a young girl, her brother and an lady try to live as normally as they can. The take the some farm animals and their dog with them. The find a union soldier that had been shot, take him into the came and nurse him, hoping he won't turn on them when he is well.

I gives the reader insight of how the south had to fight to survive during the civil war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2014
A story about a Civil War battle begins on Lookout Mountain in Tennessee. Private Andrew Hendricks, a Union soldier, is shot. He falls asleep as he huddles under a tree, waiting to be rescued. Carrie Bishop, owner of the land he is on, creeps out a cave where she had been hiding with her brother and she finds the soldier. She and her brother give him water, but when he tells her he is from the north she turns and beings to leave. He is, after all, a stranger from the north, an enemy, on her land. Will she go? Will she stay? The title may hint at the answer.
Easy to read. Suspenseful. This book will rest your mind from the preparations for Christmas and steer you smiling into the day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse