Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13


on December 10, 2017
The reader is launched straight into an intense inner landscape of the main character with all of her messiness, tensions, paradoxes, and questions while simultaneously cracking open another dimension of reality. This is a timely story in a day and age where the evolution of consciousness, collective consciousness, and other dimensions of reality are increasingly gaining prominence. It is very likely that this work of fiction is providing a portal for us to see into the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2017
I love paranormal books. This was fantastic. I would do a little housework or a little laundry & my mind was constantly on this story & what was going to happen next. I can't wait to start another one by this same author!
Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2016
This is the third paranormal novel I’ve read and reviewed in the last month or so and I must say that when I entered the other world and saw the confusion suffered by the spirits and bodies and the spirit-body hopping that was going on, I did get an eerie sensation and pretty apprehensive about that other world. The novel worked on my imagination. I would be very reluctant to enter that world voluntarily. It should be taken for granted, too, that the spirits are confused and do not have a grasp on reality, whatever the reader wishes to call reality. So congratulations to Joyce Kostakis, the author of “Walk-In Investigations : A Paranormal Detective Mystery”. Another reason for congratulating the author is the good, very good idea, of solving cold cases by clairvoiyance and by using people gifted with supernatural resources. I also appreciated her approach to suicide and the way in which near-death and death-experiences were handled.
Now for a little moan : It seems that we independent authors are not very ready to proof-read, proof-read well, and it is my cherished opinion that we should attempt to erase as many typos as possible. The book was spoilt by pointless typos and my ebook had at the top of each and every page : “Walk-In Investigation : A Paranormal Detective Mystery” whereas the title on the title-page is “Walk-In Investigations : A Paranormal Detective Mystery”. I felt like phoning Joyce Kostakis and like a good friend chewing her ear and saying : “What’s it to be – investigation or investigations?” There may be a very good explanation for this inconsistency and I wait to hear it. As for the typos, they really should be got rid of if Joyce Kostakis decides to write a sequel or to reprint.
To reiterate as a conclusion : The spirit-world described was for me a chill thrill and I found myself thinking of that great sage Buddha, the interlinking of lives and deaths, and indeed the great divide which became no-divide in the novel. Frightening visions of a world where good and evil have their big say, where the past, the present and the future are to be taken very seriously, and where our actions really are there to haunt us and to be accounted for dominate “Walk-In Investigations” and make the reader reluctant to belittle the spirit-world!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2017
I like paranormal stories and this one was really well done. The female Detective is about to walk down the aisle when her Uncle asks, "is he really your Soulmate?" In that moment she realizes the Groom isn't her Soulmate and she runs. The Groom had chosen the wedding date he said because it would give her happy memories instead of remembering her twin brother's death and exactly two year's later her Mother's suicide. Now she has one more "dread" on this date, she attempts suicide. She is resuscitated but when she finally wakes up she is seeing things and hearing voices, including her Mom's and Brother's but not as ghosts. This isn't a cliffhanger, it's a complete story but there just has to be at least one more story if not a whole series.
Keep them coming Joyce!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2017
I really enjoyed this book; what a novel approach to the murder mystery world! Something definitely different in the often over-worked detective mystery genre. The characters were engaging, and likable - with quirky, amusing personalities. My husband is an ex-criminal attorney, and he once represented a man accused of murder. There were 14 witnesses to the crime - and there were 14 wildly varying accounts of what happened. Not what we see on TV, with neatly tied up storylines! The author takes it to a new level within the spirit world - and how their witness accounts, and personal feelings, play into the facts of the case. Who and how did the crime really happen? If I were to offer constructive criticism of the book, I wish the book had been fleshed out a bit more so I could have enjoyed longer! It was a great first work by a new author, and I look forward to further installments. It would also make a great TV series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2017
Wonderful cast of characters and cohesive blend of police work and paranormal spin! I hope this is the beginning of a series and if not, it should be. I think that all the characters in the newly formed detective agency would make great fodder for a series, coupled with the cold cases they solve. Also, give us more details on P-Kate and her life and definitely give us more on a possible budding romance for Kate and her Commander. I recommend this to anyone interested in mysteries and the paranormal; they won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2016
Loved this book. Am not finished yet with the book, but once I started the first page, I didn't want to put it down. It is a steady read and makes you wanna keep reading to find out what is going to happen next. Am enjoying each of the characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 4, 2016
Perfect book for the month of October. It's somewhat scary but very interesting to read. I voluntarily reviewed the book. The opinions in this review are my own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2016
Such a fun read!!! I couldn't put it down once I started it and as such finished it in one afternoon while sitting outside. I found the concept very thought provoking. I highly recommend this book and look forward to seeing more from this author...perhaps even a continuation of the characters adventures!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 15, 2016
Really exciting and interesting story. So many twists I couldn't put it down. Loved it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse