Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on January 7, 2017
I am so thrilled I came upon this gem. The characters are so compelling and the settings so lush and detailed, there was no way I could put it down. Sword fights and sheikhs, adventure and love and battles at sea. This book has it all. I can't wait until the book 2 is released!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2017
A friend recommended this book to me, and I'm glad he did. It has action and suspense, some romance and mystery, pirates and ancient egypt. I didn't know it was possible to tie all those together, but Elliott was able. I haven't been able to put it down since purchasing. The characters are well written, and you feel like you know them after just a few pages. The scenes are detailed, and I could picture them in my head with great detail. I can't wait for the second book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
T​he Sun God's Heir is a t​otally unique​ story with f​ascinating characters that ​I found myself pull​ing​ for, or root​ing​ against, ​as they fight in a war between ​good and evil​ that spans and transcends the ages. The storyline is ​unpredictable and ​exciting​ with an underlying spiritual sub-plot that ​delightfully ​emerges and crescendos as the story intensifies.​ This story not only shines a light on the centuries-old battle of good versus evil and the stakes thereof, but also exemplifies the insight of Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn's observation that "the line between good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being" as we watch the characters choose to make their stand on virtuous or foul ground, according to and in keeping with their destiny. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it well worth my time and attention, and was very gratified when I put it down. Brilliant writing from Mr. Elliott Baker. Can't wait for the next in his series!

Bart Stamper
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
As a “non-reader” I was pleasantly surprised with Elliott Baker’s book, The Sun God’s Heir. I have rarely made time to read over the years, but found myself lost in this story. The character and plot development allowed me to step away from reality and live in the story for a bit. I found myself wanting to read more. I encourage all “non-readers” to pick up this book, get lost in the story, and relax reading!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
Mr. Bakers literary efforts and ability were unbearable in this novel. I became so engrossed with his style and masterful handling of the novel, I truly couldn't put it down. The detail description of the characters and their lives in the story were unbelievable. His explanation of the main character Rene (the swordmaster) and review of his early life and training was unparalleled in the details of the overall quality of the novel. The ability and review of all the characters was fantastic. I can't wait to read the sequels and further developments in all the characters. YOU DO NOT WANT TO PASS THIS UP !!
Sincerely and Respectfully,
John H. Kuhl, CPCM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
Loved it! This novel has it all. A caveat: this is not my usual genre, but I love to read new award winning debut novels from authors, and this book was well worth me braving a new genre. The author skillfully crafted an engaging cast of characters, Rene, a young swashbuckling sword master is the protagonist, and is supported by a rich ensemble of characters, including bright competent woman, as well as a dark and worthy adversary. I especially loved Rene's flashbacks of lessons, steeped with meaning, from his sword master teacher, reminiscent of the best Kung Fu tales. Another treat was the author's careful attention to historical detail, which drew me into a fascinating time and place, which I knew little about, and now crave to know more of. And there's an even bigger story. A story that has been playing out for hundreds, perhaps thousands, of years. A story where Rene must discover his destiny, his role in history, and quickly, if he's to survive and protect the ones he loves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
The great thing about historical fiction is that if it's well-written, with a strong storyline, readers can learn as well as be entertained. The Sun God's Heir is such a book. High adventure, believable and colorful dialog and descriptions, wonderful characters, and some extremely vicious villains. Definitely a fun and engrossing read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
Baker displays a detailed author's eye for character development and engrossing historical detail. The Sun God's Heir was a suspenseful and fun read, one that I would gladly recommend!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2017
The Sun God's Heir has all the elements of a great novel: a gripping account of strong friendships, a rock-solid story, insightful guidance for the young protagonist by as master swordsman, swashbuckling sword fights on land and sea, and the intriguing development of a beautiful love story. Appropriately, the historical context is 16th Century France. This is a gripping debut novel from a gifted writer. Let the adventure continue in books 2 and 3. Can't wait.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Mr Baker is the kind of person who paints word pictures for you and me...his reader s. I swear it is like watching a movie in your mind .The characters are amazing friends to us before the third chapter is even finished. A bit of an otherworldly twist enough to keep us guessing.I certainly will read the Second Book in the series, and await , anxious ly, the Third !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse