Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals Prime member deal on Amazon Video: 50% off select Pixar movie rentals  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14

on March 30, 2017
D.M. Cain has another winner in The Shield of Soren (The Light and Shadow Chronicles Book 2). What will a young boy do when his mother is too busy running a country to pay attention to him, his father's so wrapped up in an unbearable grief, and his brothers are already grown and fighting to protect the land from the Brotherhood of Shadow? Chances are he's going to find some kind of mischief to get into, only this time, the safety of his entire family is at risk.

You'll love the good vs evil, angel vs demon theme that runs through this book. There are so many characters that you'll want to learn more about when you close the final page, that you'll be joining me in begging Cain for more on each of them. Even the evil leader of the Brotherhood of Shadow has to have a backstory that will both thrill and terrify us.

I'm delighted with the depth of the young Soren Nitaya and how he interacted with the various members of his family. His talents and intelligence would definitely put him at the top of his class, but those same assets will help him piece together the puzzle of the ancient prophecy. This is definitely a Coming of Age fantasy young and old alike will not be able to put down until they've read the last page. I definitely recommend this book.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on May 9, 2017
The Shield of Soren by D.M. Cain is an adventure tale in a fantasy world that could be real. Cain has once again set the stage with good versus evil in way that makes me want more. No spoilers. Read it yourself. You won't be sorry.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 23, 2017
Interesting, dark fantasy tale full of surprises and magic.
The war between Children of Light and Brotherhood of Shadow seems to never end. But now, Vincent has come across and ultimate, deadly weapon, satisfied that his and Reign's experiments finally prove worthy. After murdering Freya, Callista's daughter, the family fell into grief and grew distant to almost each other. Soren, now 10-year-old, copes with the hard situation as a teenager, causing trouble to get attention. When Jade dares him to go and explore an abandoned facility, he accepts without blink of an eye. Accompanied by his brother, he sets off on a journey that should be a child's game, but turns into more dangerous mission he could ever imagine.
The story was full of drama, danger and surprising twists, with vivid images and electrifying atmosphere. I longed so much to know more I wanted to push the fast forward button - only there was none, and in the middle passage, I started to skip sentences to get further in the story; the descriptions were simply too long for my taste, and I do not feel like I missed something important. On the other side, I very much appreciate the development of the characters, gradual uncovering of their motives and learning about the triggers of their acts and behavior. All of them were truly realistic, easily distinguishable and true to their natures, responding believably to all situations.
This piece brought fresh air to my library, and I am thankful for the opportunity to read the ARC. I voluntarily decided to post a review.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 4, 2017
The Shield of Soren (The Light and Shadow Chronicles Book 2) by D.M. Cain is getting the same 5 stars I gave its predecessor, A Chronicle of Chaos, but these are very different books. Although they take place in the same universe, and feature many of the same characters, The Shield of Soren features a much youn ger protaganist and the tale becomes more of a coming of age tale, rather than the epic tale of war that Chronicle of Chaos was. Shield of Soren feels quieter and more introspective as a result, and preseents a different side to characters we have had already made up our mind about.

Some things haven't changed between the two books, however. The writing is still as detailed and vivid as ever; it isn't dumbed down or less mature just because the protagonist is younger this time around. The world is still as fully defined, and the scale feels as grand as ever, with so many characters and families spread out over intersecting timelines. This world is epic on a Game of Thrones level, and it would be a shame to miss out on this integral chapter from these chronicles.

An advance reader's copy was provided to me by the author.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 18, 2017
I recieved an ARC copy and am voluntarily reviewing it. When i started reading this book,i had no idea what to expect but i was pleasantly suprised. The characters are superbly written. For a ten year old Soren was written exactly like a ten year ild. That was soo refreshing because most would make him seem older because of his capabilities. The minor character were developed and inrreresting inthier own way. This was Soren's book but it wasnt all about him. Then there's Vincent whose backstory i seriously need to read to under that Villian. I look forward to reading thecnext book. Angelis was a suprise. Its a shame she accidentally killed Kira. I liked Kira. I would have liked to see more of a fight scene with guardian. I hope thats not his end.The question is what is Deacon going to do now that he's a full blown vampire? I can't wait.....
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on May 1, 2017
The Shield of Soren is the second book in what is planned to be an epic series. We were introduced to some of the characters in the first one, A Chronicle of Chaos.

Chronologically, Soren takes place before Chaos, but as it’ll be possible to read the entire series in any order, it’s a seamless transition from one book to the next.

While supernatural and fantasy elements make their presence felt – particularly towards the end – this storyline focuses on a period in the Matriarch of The Children Of Light, Callista Nienna’s life when she is married to her fourth husband, Kham Nitaya. It tells of the family’s desperate race against time as they try to save ten-year-old Soren from a dreadful fate following an encounter with the Children Of Light’s sworn enemies The Brotherhood Of Shadow.

With well developed characters and a solid, exciting plot, D.M. Cain’s skilful writing takes us on a family journey of ties and relationships, grief, love and loss. Oh, and don’t forget the violence, blood and pain that characterise this author’s work in her previous novel in this series, and her brilliant stand-alone debut novel The Phoenix Project.

This is a must for fantasy lovers, and I hope the next book in the series isn’t too long coming.

I received this book for free and voluntarily reviewed.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 19, 2017
I received this book for a free and voluntarily review.

Do you believe everybody's path in life has been predetermined? That there are signs all around of what's to come if only you pay close enough attention? Soren Nitaya, son of Callista ruler of Children of Light, at the tender age of ten, is going to find out. Who can he trust, does good always triumph over evil and when drawn to something will he try to reach it no matter the price? Even if the Brotherhood of Shadows (his family's arch enemy) stands in his way? Will Soren meet his fate or die trying?

Hint: Heaven sent but hell bound - do you believe in angels?
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 26, 2017
This was a very well written book and the characters were well thought out and very in-depth, the writing was very descriptive and I had no problem seeing the world that was created before me. I did however find the plot a little slow going in places, but if you enjoy an in-depth story about the battle between good and bad then I am sure you will enjoy this book.

I received a free copy of this book and voluntarily decided to review.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 18, 2017
"I received this book for free and voluntarily reviewed it. Ithe is a great fast paced fantasy with very memorable characters. I'm now going to get the rest of the set because I want to know what came before and after.
I recommend this book to anyone who likes a great fantasy with lots of action.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on March 22, 2017
I received this book for free and honestly reviewed.

This book was slightly difficult to get into as a story, simply as a result of the completely foreign lands in addition to new terms we do not have so needed to develop. That said, after the initial learning process, each character was so well developed and had wonderful personalities of their own.

The plot was also well thought out and I enjoyed it a lot.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here