Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



What an adventure a simple boy, Garth, from Detroit had, when he was abducted by an Ice warrior and an owl-eyed G'mach, from a different world, from a different Galaxy.

Not believing, what they are telling him, the simple boy, he just refuses to go with them. But he had no joys in that matter. They simple eject him in their rescue pot. He has plenty of time to think. He, a Kind? What are they talking about. He is the ancient Promise for his planet, as it was foretold? He really has difficulty to believe.

Will he succeed? will he believe? Find out in that great story in a great new world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
Mr. Brown has sculpted a masterful story. Many other reviewers have commented on his eloquent prose, which I also find enjoyable. He has a very unique gift of story-telling, keeping us in suspense all the way. This book also introduces the reader to a myriad of fun and interesting characters--my favorite being the owl-eyed G'mach. I am looking forward to the next chapter of this fascinating and engaging story. This first book seems to end on the precipice of an epic battle. I think anyone who is a fan of Game of Thrones would appreciate this novel for its brilliance and escalating intensity, as well as its pre-positioned reveals along the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
I feel there was a ton of set up in this book, the story gained momentum as it went and look forward to the next round.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
I'm really torn between 3 and 4 stars. In some places, the book is excellent - the writing and characters interesting. In others, I could barely make myself keep reading. If I were younger, perhaps I would like it more. It seems aimed at the young adult audience - a sullen, defiant teenager is the protagonist. And that's one thing that really turned me off. When we're first introduced to David/Garth, he is apathetic about everything except girls, music and comic books. He is saved from a certain death by two heroes, and spends most of the book begging to be put back - even though that would mean not only his death or capture by evil, but the destruction of his father's planet. He manages to evade death several times in the book primarily by "fate." He's the guy that if you yell, "Don't look!" he does, if you tell him not to smile, he smiles. The second thing that annoyed me was the uneven pacing - there were some parts that seemed to drag on with very little addition to the plot. What saves the book is both the prose and the moments of action that drag you along for the ride. I stuck to it, and really enjoyed the final part of the book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2017
The book took a few chapters to capture my interest. I'm glad I gave it the time to do so. It's not a slam-dunk 5, but it certainly deserves to be placed above the many courtesy-4's that are out there. The writing is solid - as with any author, there are always spots I might have done differently. It borrows self-consciously from various other works, and that has helped it overcome a lot of the genre cliches by deliberately crossing a number of genres: part Star Wars, part teen lit, part dystopian., although the driving influence is clearly Star Wars. One of the major pluses is that the author is able to convey an alien world and alien species with minimal humanization of most of the characters. A disappointment is that some of the characters in the Detroit setting were quite well done but don't reappear. The love interest introduced here is no doubt available for a return in a later volume. And, as other reviewers have noted, despite any flaws that one can poke at an author's initial work, I'll be looking for the next volumes in this series.

Disclosure 1: I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a candid review.
Disclosure 2: I'm not related to the author in any way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Book Review: David : Savakerrva – Book 1
by L Brown
Reviewed by J Bryden Lloyd

Note: I was gifted a copy of this work for an honest read and review. The following review, as with all reviews, is my personal opinion of the submitted text.

Writing Style – 4.0/5.0 (Very Good)
For the most part, this is an exceptionally impressive work. The structure is excellent and the writing flows beautifully.

Although the dialogue has a few moments where it seems a little forced, the vast majority of dialogue is superbly built and works hand in hand with the narrative and descriptive elements of the writing.

The narrative itself, although generally superb, does have a tendency to “drown” the characters and the action. Don’t get me wrong, personally, I lapped this up. Loved it! (With the possible exception of some of the repetitive elements I will mention later). But as a reviewer, I have to see this from an everyday reader’s point of view… and I think a large number would lose interest in this within the first few chapters.

Character Development – 5.0/5.0 (Outstanding)
Whatever faults this may have from a reading perspective, the character development is truly a wonder to behold. As Garth progresses from his “moody teen” persona, and into a young man with the potential to realise much more, the transition is captured in stunning style.

Around him, the few ‘key’ characters work perfectly into the plot and develop along their own pre-determined lines. Meanwhile, tertiary and minor characters are precisely that, and they skirt the edges of the sub-plots with careful skill.

This is seriously good work.

Descriptive – 4.0/5.0 (Very Good)
Cards on the table; this is my sort of thing! My bias to this type of descriptive is widely known… unfortunately, even I felt that there were a few too many occasions where I was saying, “Enough already! I get it!”.

A casual reader will undoubtedly revel in the fact that this is, quite literally, begging to be shot down in flames; and they will review entirely in that context… Unreadable! Waffling Descriptive! Too Long! Too Awkward!...
They would be completely wrong to do so, but I would have to sympathise with their assessment.

Despite this, the descriptive is strong, accurate, nicely constructed, and a credit to a very hard-working author.

Language & Grammar – 4.5/5.0 (Excellent)
From previous comments, you may have expected a low mark for this, but to be fair, the use and knowledge of language is outstanding.

Even so, I find myself… partially… aligning myself with a long-standing American grammar complaint; comma usage is a little heavy.
Good ol’ “US Johnny and Jane Foreigner” like to get on their soapboxes about ‘run-on sentences’. In effect, they prefer a full stop to a comma.
This is all well and good in a nice everyday, easy-read novel.

Now, in this case… Yes, there are a lot of commas in the text and, yes, I probably agree there are a few too many for the majority of readers to be comfortable with.
Unfortunately, the writing style is equally complex, so I doubt this is something that can be easily edited out.

The author’s penchant for taking words out of sentences to convey meaning and the feeling of the character is not incorrect, but does tend to break the rhythm of the read.

Editing & Formatting – 4.0/5.0 (Very Good)
A few minor picky things.

Firstly, I don’t care what other reviews say; There ARE spelling errors, and a good number of them, too.
They are widely spread and are often a single letter missing from an obvious word. As there seem to be a greater number in the second half of the book than the first, this is probably something that should be addressed with a full and proper line-edit.

Secondly, there are a lot of tiny statements thrown onto the ends of a lot of narrative paragraphs. Those little cliff-hanger sentences you accompany with a subliminal “DAH-DAH-DAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!” of trumpets and violins.
For me, there are too many of these and they make the dramatic read a little too repetitive.

Plot – 4.5/5.0 (Excellent) – VERY MINOR SPOILERS
The young teenaged hero who isn’t a hero, but must learn to be one.
It’s not a new plot idea, but this version does well to push the boundaries a little and build a lot into the central plot.

If I were to criticise anything in the plot, it would have to be that it lags a little in pace and, by my own admission, I just don’t ‘get’ the ‘wraith-in-chains’ thing.
It feels as though it has been a conscious effort to ensure the story is big enough to create the series, and though this means the reader gets a powerful, multi-layered read, it does make several sections feel a little like a chore.

The sub-plot with the ‘worms’ and the girl is beautifully crafted, but it does feel a little disjointed here and there. The conclusion to the sub-plot left a potential opening, which was progressed toward the end of the read, much in line with my expectations.

The ending feels a little abrupt, as is the way with most series’, but does provide a climax of sorts. Yes, it could have been a little more ‘concluded’ but it just about passes muster.

General – 4.0/5.0 (Very Good)
Cover art is superb. Really gives a good impression of the mood of the read. Title font style and colour is okay, but a little invisible in thumbnail. Author font style and colour is terrible.
If you didn’t know there was meant to be a name somewhere, you could easily miss it.

All-in-all, this is a more-than-acceptable offering… No, it isn’t going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but you can’t really fault this remarkable effort by a clearly excellent writer.
The plot is clear and nicely drawn, the characters are engaging and very well rounded, and the whole thing flows from start to finish with good dialogue and a powerful narrative.

The “series” thing is a bit of an issue. This is not an easy book to get into, so a casual reader is not going to find much solace in the idea they may have to go through it all over again.
Added to that; this is a long book which does not really cover a huge proportion of the central plot. In effect, however you dress it up, all we have really gleaned from this is the cast list for the story to come.

Don’t get me wrong, I really liked this.
Although my criticisms seem many and varied, I genuinely think this is an excellent work. Every book could use that tiny batch of tweaks and a bit of TLC. This is no different.
But, be warned, if you are getting this expecting a leisurely read, or something you can speed-read in a day, think again.

This is easily capable of being an off-the-chart, five-star, top read.
A few too many issues, despite the quality of the piece.
Four very, very, very deserved stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
I received this book digitally as a gift from the author. I'm somewhat perplexed as to the number of stars to assign to my review. Mechanically -that is, the actual writing details are definitely 5 star; excellent grammar, no spelling errors, good punctuation, etc. Overall, a book with none of the editing errors so common in these days when no school teaches proper English. The plot of the story and the general story line are above average but somewhat predictable: a less-than-heroic main character is thrown into circumstances where he is expected to rise to heroic levels in order to save something, someone, or the whole world, and usually finds the courage, before the story ends, to complete the task. This "hero" is a less-than-likeable 14 year old orphaned high school student who manages to discover a bit about his past, and then is abducted by an other-worldly character with bad intentions, but then stolen from that character by two others and whisked off to another world. It is on this other world that he eventually is told of his destiny - but not before he finds himself in really dire circumstances. He has no interest in being the hero and reacts in fairly typical early-teen fashion: he throws fits, snivels a lot, denies everything, and begs to go home. This book held my interest throughout, but a lot of that is due to the writing style of the wordsmith author. I had to read carefully to get a mental image of the story as it unfolded, as any lapse in concentration caused me to lose track. I tired quickly of his anti-hero's actions, his "poor-ol'-me" attitude and his lack of a backbone, but presumably David will man-up and become the Savakerrva in subsequent books in this series. After all, in this book he's just 14 years old. Yes, I'll purchase and read book 2 in this series. The story itself is different from the usual space-opera warfare of which I am fond; different enough to warrant a second look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
Simply Superb. If you enjoy Sci-Fi novels, then you will love this book. The Author has done an exceptional job with this story, his attention to detail, and an intriguing storyline. I especially like the way the story began learning about Garth, and his progression through the novel. Ana Redhawk helped an injured stranger out who was quite sick, and it didn’t take her long to grow close to him. So close in fact that she had his child. It was only now that they wanted to take that son away from her, that she felt so utterly helpless. Garth grows up in the group house, and he constantly wonders what happened to his parents, and why they left him when he was just a baby. He’s also wondering where his life is heading, when he is suddenly confronted with beings from another planet. Dahkaa explains to Garth about what happened 15 year ago when they brought the very sick King Kel Vek from their planet, to Michigan for him to heal. Now they are back again to see if Gareth can come with them, and help them to save their world. He doesn’t have much keeping him in Detroit, but what he is about to experience is beyond belief. This is a very well written book, along with some great characters that I really enjoyed. I really look forward to more from this Author in the future. Do yourself a favour and read this book, you won’t be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
It took me a while to get into this book, but I am glad that I stuck with it. The writing is really good in a way that makes you take notice, but it isn't straightforward and quick to read. The sentences are long with many phrases strung together. Since I am often reading with distractions or while a bit sleepy, I really prefer books that take a little less attention and thought. Once I got into the story though, it was worth the effort.

While there is a (tame) love interest, the main character is a young teenager, and I think that this story would appeal to a teen audience. However, I worry that younger readers would find the writing of this book very challenging to read. In that way, I'm not entirely sure who the audience is meant to be. Given the writing style, I would have probably made the hero a bit older.

Keep in mind that this is the first in a series. Unlike some other series, however, this one doesn't have separate stories that string together. It really is one continuous story, and the ending of the first book seems a bit abrupt to me.

I do intend to continue with the next book and would be interested in seeing what else this author comes up with. This book fits well into my preferred science fiction genre and is a strong story although it probably won't stand out as extremely memorable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2017
This book is a fantasy that is wrapped in a mystery and has been surrounded by a dream.

The Young man has never felt quite right or at home anywhere and his curiosity about his past lead him to some interesting discoveries. The author has taken us not only to another life.. but to a world we could never have guessed at.

This is a great read and though it is more fantasy the sci fi , I enjoyed it greatly. I think that On some levels I could associate myself with the main player, who while not perfect and having had a rough life.... finds that it sort of works out.. in the end at least.

I look forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse