Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



on May 23, 2017
Vanished by Christer Tholin

Recently divorced German attorney Martin travels to Sweden for a brief respite from his law practice in hopes the vacation will help him recover emotionally from the separation from his now ex-wife and child. Upon arrival in the general area of the vacation house he has rented, he becomes lost and stops to ask for directions, which immediately characterizes him as a male secure in his manhood. Martin meets an attractive women who, it turns out, is a close neighbor. After settling in, he drives to town for provisions and runs into the neighbor, Liv, again. They enjoy a conversation and, in the end, she invites him for coffee the following day. When he shows up the next day, Liv has disappeared. It appears from the premises that a struggle has taken place. After further examination of the house, Martin reports the disappearance to the police who seem little inclined to look into the matter. Thereafter begins an unexpected journey into a complicated scenario for Martin who takes on the search for the missing woman. His inability to speak Swedish causes Martin to have to resort to hiring an investigative firm, which assigns an investigator, Lars and a young assistant, Elin, who soon becomes Lars’ sidekick. Together, Martin, Lars, and Elin proceed to use their intellect, the Internet, and good old footwork to get to the bottom of the mystery which is full of complications the reader would not anticipate.

This first novel is well-plotted with twists and turns that keep the reader guessing. The main characters are well developed. Since I’ve been to Sweden, I enjoyed reading Tholin’s description of the setting, which, to my mind was accurate. Also, I learned a lot about what research is available on the Internet to assist in an investigation such as this. Christer Tholin is off to a good start with this detective series. I recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys Swedish mysteries. I look forward to reading the next one.

Susan P. Baker, author of UNAWARE, https://www.amazon.com/UNAWARE-Suspense-Susan-P-Baker-ebook/dp/B06XTV5PTP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2017
This is a story about a man named Martin who takes a holiday in Sweden and meet a beautiful woman named Liv. When he comes to see her the next day, he finds that she has mysteriously vanished with signs of a struggle in her house.

This was an excellent crime mystery that was a page turner. I really enjoyed reading it! I loved the descriptions of Sweden. The story really grabbed me and the ending was a big surprise. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a good mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Book sounded interesting and it was. Good story.it kept your interest worth the many twists and turns in the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2017
A vacation in Sweden seemed like a good idea to Martin, a get-away to recharge and evaluate his recent past. It was a long road trip from Berlin, but not unpleasant. Anticipation of a peaceful vacation, however, soon turned sinister.

Not more than a day or two and Martin becomes involved in a disappearance the police refuse to recognize. Martin knows better and the mystery begins. Liv has been kidnapped. But why and by whom? Can she escape? Will she be rescued?

Vanished is a mystery, suspense novel backed by raw moments of drama and action. Still, the mystery of why is at the heart of the story.

The reader is drawn-in; the characters are believable, and the lead characters are identifiable as persons we would like and understand. A bit more deep rooted feeling (anguish) expressed at the right times would be appropriate.

The novel is also a love story as is often the case. In this instance, more realistic than sometimes found. It adds dimension and depth. Reviewed by the author of The Children's Story, About Good and Evil.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2017
Martin, an attorney in Berlin, decides to take a holiday in Sweden to help him get over his recent divorce. What could be better than two weeks of solitude in a summer house well away from the beaten track. However, almost immediately after arriving, Martin meets, Liv, a Swedish lady, quite by accident and takes a liking to her. She invites him to join her for tea the following day, but when Martin arrives there is no sign of her. Finding her door unlocked, he checks inside the house, where he finds chairs have been overturned in what appears to have been a struggle. Though he informs the police, they don't appear to be interested and Martin is loathe to leave it there. What he decides to do next leads him into danger, yet he is determined find out the truth about what had happened to Liv. To say anymore here would spoil the plot for future readers,

This is a terrific story, which grabbed me from the start. The author has portrayed the characters well and included so many twists and turns that no matter how hard I tried I couldn't come up with 'whodunit'. There was a point when I thought the story was over, mystery solved, but it wasn't, there was more to come. If you are looking for a crime story to keep you guessing, then this is the one for you. Don't miss it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2017
I was drawn in straightaway by this fast paced action thriller.
Martin, a German lawyer, looking for a relaxing vacation in Sweden - somewhere to recharge his batteries due to the stresses of his home life in Germany, is thrust into a drama which involves explosions, kidnapping and extortion. After enlisting the help of Swedish private detective, Lars, they embark on an investigation to seek out who is behind a list of nefarious events which culminate in a disturbing revelation with links to organized crime.
The characters were believable and interacted well throughout the story. The setting descriptions captured a real sense of place and I enjoyed the international references throughout. I’ll be looking out for another tale involving these characters in future!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2017
For a first novel, I say well done Mr. Tholin. Many twists and turns keep the reader interested. I especially enjoyed the scene descriptions of Sweden which left me feeling as I was making this journey with the main character, Martin. Unique story line and good character development. Looking forward to reading more from this emerging author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2017
Mr. Tholin has written a fast-paced, suspenseful crime novel. There were lots of twists and turns and believable characters who evoked the empathy of the reader. In particular, the female characters were appealing and well-developed. The reader experiences a strong sense of the physical landscape as well, adding depth and colour to the overall descriptions. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
I really liked this book. The author did a great job of blending the characters in this story. It was hard for me to put it down, very interesting all the way. I will get another book from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 8, 2017
I'm not an avid reader of fiction, but this novel was recommended to me based on my liking German crime series, and having lived in Sweden for a while.
In terms of genre, I would place the book somewhere in line with cozy detective mystery novels. The author is successful in creating the right amount of thrill and suspense, while sparing the reader the gory scenes present in other crime novels.
Although the plot and characters are fictional, the author's description of Stockholm and its surrounding cities is exceptionally true to life, so much so that I could recommend the book even to those interested in learning about Stockholm and the life in the Swedish capital.
My only gripe with the book was the translator's, at times, odd choice of words, and his somewhat dry style. Nevertheless, the book was a joy to read, and I wish the writer great success in his future endeavors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse