Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno


on July 23, 2017
The story of Prentis and Avery so touched my heart that I could not put the book down.

In spite of the fact that Avery had vowed never to marry, Prentis wins her heart with his quiet, wise, and loving mannerisms, setting an inspiring example of Christian standards in courting.

The many intelligent and nontraditional ways that Avery handles challenging situations as she teaches in a one-room rural school kept me laughing.

I also found it very interesting also to read about life in the farmland of Northern Oklahoma right before World War I, not an easy life!

I loved this book! I recommend it highly!

A Grandma from Oklahoma
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
No Longer Alone, a fascinating historical novel that grabs your heart and your mind. Avery is a strong attractive young woman whose gentle and patient love is just what Prentis desires and needs. Prentis is a gentle and quiet man who had to grow up overnight when his father died, and his strength of character and insights are just what Avery needs. Learn what it is like to get a Model A Ford when most people are still usng horses and buggies and what courtship in a buggy is like. Enter a one-room school house where Avery is a strong, intelligent and capable teacher able to handle big boys in their teens nearly twice her size. See what it is like to be a farmer making decisions regarding the planting and harvesting of wheat to the selection and breeding of livestock and how the weather can affect one's plans for marriage. World War I is on the horizon, and the uncertainty of the times affect a young bride's emotions. Inman handles the intimate moments with modesty but deep emotion. Prentis has been alone so long, on several levels, having been raised in a home where his parents separate religious beliefs left him very wary of any attachment to a church, yet he has known God as a loving Father as he worked the fields alone. Find out about the miracle that happens to this young couple. Certainly did not want to put this novel down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
Just by starting this book sounds like a great adventure waiting just for me!!
Can you just imagine riding in a car from yesterday compared to today's? Wow!! How slow!! I have always and still do want to ride in the rumble seat of an old car. I love old cars!! They're a part of history and times ever changing in our wonderful country!!
I love how the author mentions the land run of Oklahoma territory!!
I just recently read a book by Vicki McDonough about this particular subject.
Talking about changing with time?
How about a big difference with a person or people?
Take Prentice for example. 7 years can make you grow up pretty fast!!! Especially when you have to!!
Avery is my type of person. She's patient, gentle and kind. I like how she can get a message across to someone without be forceful. I also like her because she loves adventure and always loves to have fun!!
I think it was terrible in how the Indians were treated or any race.
It's because of all different nationalities that make this country up!
How rich to know your family history!!!
This book will make you want to keep turning the pages and make you think long after the pages have been turned.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
It was a pleasure to read this book from start to finish. Readers who come from a background of the homestead era and prairie farming traditions will recognize this story as an authentic portrayal of the dreams and struggles of a young couple as they forge a life together. The author’s descriptions of everyday life on a farm in the early 20th century are rich in detail. It is as if we were there, witnessing daily occurrences. The conversations in the story come across as genuine and underscore the importance of constant communication in any relationship. One section that was particularly delightful involved the young couple discovering things about each other they didn’t know before they married. So true to life!

The incorporation of historical events lends additional authenticity to the story. It demonstrates how people’s personal lives are affected by both positive and dire circumstances at home as well as on the other side of the world.

The faith element of the story is especially strong. There are many couples who enter into marriage hoping to meld their families’ different religious beliefs into a healthy whole. This is not an easy process, as we are influenced by our early experiences. Many families keep the peace on religion by not getting involved in any faith tradition. The author has used Avery and Prentis as models of not giving up on God and seeking a way to live together in faith for the benefit of their future family.

No Longer Alone is an outstanding example of family memories incorporated into an intriguing novel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2017
I enjoyed this book because it was set in my home state of Oklahoma. I didn't realize until I finished the book that it was based on a true story. It made me want to go back to those days and fall in love again. I don't think you will be disappointed. I anxiously await the sequel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
No Longer Alone is a charmingly crafted story of the gentle and thoughtful courtship, engagement and early marriage of Prentis and Avery Pinkerton. My heart was melted at the consideration Prentis had for Avery in how slowly and gently he courted her, always watching out for how her heart was affected by his actions and the care he put into making sure they were not tempted beyond what they could stand in their pre- marriage relationship and how they were careful to honor God always. It sets the bar for dating/courtship relationships high in a beautifully inspiring way and was an enjoyable and thought provoking read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
This is the story of Avery and Prentis and the struggles and challenges they encounter on the path of their lives. These characters are so vividly portrayed that it seems as if you actually know them as you laugh with them and cry with them. The story line keeps you guessing what will happen next. A key element in the story is the relationship between Prentis and God. I was touched by the depth of character portrayal in both Avery and Prentis. This book is definitely a 5 star story. Thank you Melinda Inman for sharing your story-telling talent with the rest of us. I hope there is a sequel coming.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
No Longer Alone is a heart-felt story by Melinda Inman based on the true-life romance and early marriage of her great-grandparents. The characters are strong – in their faith and in their personal character – and face many realistic hardships of life on the Oklahoma plains in the years leading up to the beginnings of World War I. The challenges they face are presented with realism and no easy fixes just for the sake of any fictional elements. The subject matter makes for a fairly slow-moving pace to the story but with a high enough interest level to keep the reader engaged to the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
I absolutely loved this story and strong characters! Manhood arrived prematurely. when at the age of fifteen, Prentis lost both his father and his confidence that God loved him. Growing up fast after that day, he abandoned his education to take on the responsibility and hardship of supporting his mother and siblings. In his twenties, Avery, aSunday School teacher with a passion for learning and theology, renters his life. She is intelligent with a captivating spirit, and Prentis finds her irresistible. He’s determined to win her heart, but male competition, gossip, Avery’s unspoken fears, and the ruin of his livelihood hinder his efforts. How can Prentis win her, and how will they overcome their differences, the hard life on the plains, and a world at war?

I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
A very enjoyable historical love story that has a great timeline and an excellent location in the Midwest. The story is well developed and has excellent characters in PJ and Avery. Life, relationships, and religion are well blended into the plot. An excellent story that was very hard to put down. I would definitely recommend this book to family and friends. Hopefully there will be a second book to find out the future for PJ and Avery.
I received a copy of this book from the author and have not been compensated for this honest review.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here